Universität Wien FIND

Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, changes to courses and exams may be necessary at short notice. Inform yourself about the current status on u:find and check your e-mails regularly.

Please read the information on https://studieren.univie.ac.at/en/info.

053037 VU Academic Research and Writing - Fake-News Detection Approaches and Its Societal Conjunctions (2021W)

Continuous assessment of course work
REMOTE

Registration/Deregistration

Note: The time of your registration within the registration period has no effect on the allocation of places (no first come, first served).

Details

max. 20 participants
Language: English

Lecturers

Classes

Digital, in block structure during the time interval of October-November or Mid December 2021.


Information

Aims, contents and method of the course

Aim:
Providing scientific skills in an applied manner through a workshop structure in contemporary ICTs-based global issues with a specific focus on selected research areas.

Content
The course focuses on introducing students selected contemporary ICT-related study areas. While students receive input regarding the specified research areas in questions, they acquire applied knowledge through the process of the simulation of a scientific conference during the class time interval with their applications for the "Call for papers" provided by the course instructor. After accepting students to the simulated conference based on their abstracts, the students receive guided instructions throughout the course, during which they deliver a conference paper based on their accepted abstracts, and present it at the simulated conference session at the end of the course.
Main topics are:
a) state-of-art fake news detection approaches and its societal conjunctions,
b) the aspect of user safety online through the discussion of approaches in cyberbullying and/or -stalking prevention

Method
Assignments directing the simulated conference paper construction: drafting the elements of a scientific paper (i.e., Introduction, Theoretical background, Methods, Results, Conclusion and/or Discussion); introduction and simulation of the peer review process in which students become hypothetical journal editors handling the submissions of each other.
Workshop exercises start with peer group formulation based on the session at which students handed in their abstracts to beforehand.
They consist of relevant scientific writing skill enhancements, such as outlining techniques, methods formulation practice, drafting figures and tables, peer evaluation of each constructed paper segment, title giving practices, response techniques for reviewers, and evaluation techniques of previously unknown scientific journals.

Assessment and permitted materials

course paper written for the simulated scientific conference 40%
workshop exercises: 30%
paper presentation: 20%
workshop participation: 10%

Minimum requirements and assessment criteria

To pass the course, a minimum of 50% is required.

Grading:
1: >= 87.5 %
2: >= 75.0 %
3: >= 62.5 %
4: >= 50 %

Examination topics

- Fake news detection technologies
User safety issues online with the focus at cyberbullying and/or -stalking

Reading list

Heard, S. B. (2016).The scientist's guide to writing: how to write more easily and effectively throughout your scientific career. Princeton University Press.
Salvi, C., Iannello, P., McClay, M., Rago, S., Dunsmoor, J. E., & Antonietti, A. (2021). Going viral: How fear, socio-cognitive polarization and problem-solving influence fake news detection and proliferation during COVID-19 pandemic.Frontiers in Communication,5, 127.
Sitaula, N., Mohan, C. K., Grygiel, J., Zhou, X., & Zafarani, R. (2020). Credibility-based fake news detection. InDisinformation, Misinformation, and Fake News in Social Media(pp. 163-182). Springer, Cham.
Van Duijn, Max, Preuss, Mike, Spaiser, Viktoria, Takes, Frank, & Verberne, Suzan. (2020).Disinformation in Open Online Media(Vol. 12259, Lecture Notes in Computer Science). Cham: Springer International Publishing AG.
Calvo-Morata, A., Alonso-Fernández, C., Freire, M., Martínez-Ortiz, I., & Fernández-Manjón, B. (2020). Serious games to prevent and detect bullying and cyberbullying: A systematic serious games and literature review. Computers & Education, 157, 103958.
Ansary, N. S. (2020). Cyberbullying: Concepts, theories, and correlates informing evidence-based best practices for prevention.Aggression and violent behavior,50, 101343.
Kaur, P., Dhir, A., Tandon, A., Alzeiby, E. A., & Abohassan, A. A. (2020). A systematic literature review on cyberstalking. An analysis of past achievements and future promises.Technological Forecasting and Social Change, 120426.

Association in the course directory

Last modified: Mo 13.09.2021 08:48

Universität Wien FIND

Auf Grund der COVID-19 Pandemie kann es bei Lehrveranstaltungen und Prüfungen auch kurzfristig zu Änderungen kommen. Informieren Sie sich laufend in u:find und checken Sie regelmäßig Ihre E-Mails.

Lesen Sie bitte die Informationen auf https://studieren.univie.ac.at/info.

Achtung! Das Lehrangebot ist noch nicht vollständig und wird bis Semesterbeginn laufend ergänzt.

053037 VU Wissenschaftliches Arbeiten - Fake-News Detection Approaches and Its Societal Conjunctions (2021W)

Prüfungsimmanente Lehrveranstaltung
DIGITAL

An/Abmeldung

Hinweis: Ihr Anmeldezeitpunkt innerhalb der Frist hat keine Auswirkungen auf die Platzvergabe (kein "first come, first served").

Details

max. 20 Teilnehmer*innen
Sprache: Englisch

Lehrende

Termine

Digital, in Blockstruktur während des Zeitraums Oktober-November oder Mitte Dezember 2021.


Information

Ziele, Inhalte und Methode der Lehrveranstaltung

Ziel:
Vermittlung wissenschaftlicher Fähigkeiten in angewandter Form durch eine Workshop-Struktur zu aktuellen IKT-basierten globalen Themen mit besonderem Schwerpunkt auf ausgewählten Forschungsbereichen.

Inhalt
Der Kurs konzentriert sich auf die Einführung der Studierenden in ausgewählte aktuelle IKT-bezogene Studienbereiche. Während die Studierenden einen Input zu den angegebenen Forschungsbereichen erhalten, erwerben sie angewandtes Wissen durch die Simulation einer wissenschaftlichen Konferenz während der Unterrichtszeit mit ihren Bewerbungen für den vom Kursleiter bereitgestellten "Call for papers". Nach der Zulassung zur simulierten Konferenz auf der Grundlage ihrer Abstracts erhalten die Studierenden während des gesamten Kurses angeleitete Anweisungen, während derer sie auf der Grundlage ihrer angenommenen Abstracts einen Konferenzbeitrag erstellen und diesen am Ende des Kurses auf der simulierten Konferenzsitzung präsentieren.
Die Hauptthemen sind:
a) der Stand der Technik bei der Erkennung von Fake News und deren gesellschaftliche Zusammenhänge,
b) der Aspekt der Online-Nutzersicherheit durch die Diskussion von Ansätzen zur Prävention von Cybermobbing und/oder -stalking.

Methode
Aufgaben, die die simulierte Erstellung eines Konferenzpapers anleiten: Entwurf der Elemente eines wissenschaftlichen Papers (d.h. Einleitung, theoretischer Hintergrund, Methoden, Ergebnisse, Schlussfolgerung und/oder Diskussion); Einführung und Simulation des Peer-Review-Prozesses, bei dem die Studierenden in die Rolle von hypothetischen Zeitschriftenredakteuren schlüpfen, die die Einreichungen der anderen bearbeiten.
Die Workshop-Übungen beginnen mit der Bildung von Peer-Gruppen auf der Grundlage der Sitzung, bei der die Studierenden ihre Abstracts zuvor eingereicht haben.
Sie umfassen relevante Verbesserungen der wissenschaftlichen Schreibfähigkeiten, wie z. B. Gliederungstechniken, Methodenformulierung, Entwurf von Abbildungen und Tabellen, Peer-Evaluierung jedes konstruierten Papersegments, Praktiken der Titelgebung, Antworttechniken für Gutachter und Evaluierungstechniken von bisher unbekannten wissenschaftlichen Zeitschriften.

Art der Leistungskontrolle und erlaubte Hilfsmittel

Kursarbeit, die für die simulierte wissenschaftliche Konferenz geschrieben wird: 40%
Workshop-Übungen: 30%
Präsentation des Papers: 20%
Teilnahme am Workshop: 10%

Mindestanforderungen und Beurteilungsmaßstab

Zum Bestehen des Kurses ist eine Mindestpunktzahl von 50 % erforderlich.

Benotung:
1: >= 87.5 %
2: >= 75.0 %
3: >= 62.5 %
4: >= 50 %

Prüfungsstoff

- Technologien zur Erkennung von Fake News
- Fragen der Online-Nutzersicherheit mit Schwerpunkt auf Cybermobbing und/oder -stalking

Literatur

Heard, S. B. (2016).The scientist's guide to writing: how to write more easily and effectively throughout your scientific career. Princeton University Press.Salvi, C., Iannello, P., McClay, M., Rago, S., Dunsmoor, J. E., & Antonietti, A. (2021). Going viral: How fear, socio-cognitive polarization and problem-solving influence fake news detection and proliferation during COVID-19 pandemic.Frontiers in Communication,5, 127.Sitaula, N., Mohan, C. K., Grygiel, J., Zhou, X., & Zafarani, R. (2020). Credibility-based fake news detection. InDisinformation, Misinformation, and Fake News in Social Media(pp. 163-182). Springer, Cham.Van Duijn, Max, Preuss, Mike, Spaiser, Viktoria, Takes, Frank, & Verberne, Suzan. (2020).Disinformation in Open Online Media(Vol. 12259, Lecture Notes in Computer Science). Cham: Springer International Publishing AG.Calvo-Morata, A., Alonso-Fernández, C., Freire, M., Martínez-Ortiz, I., & Fernández-Manjón, B. (2020). Serious games to prevent and detect bullying and cyberbullying: A systematic serious games and literature review. Computers & Education, 157, 103958.Ansary, N. S. (2020). Cyberbullying: Concepts, theories, and correlates informing evidence-based best practices for prevention.Aggression and violent behavior,50, 101343.Kaur, P., Dhir, A., Tandon, A., Alzeiby, E. A., & Abohassan, A. A. (2020). A systematic literature review on cyberstalking. An analysis of past achievements and future promises.Technological Forecasting and Social Change, 120426.

Zuordnung im Vorlesungsverzeichnis

Letzte Änderung: Mo 13.09.2021 08:48