Universität Wien FIND

Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, changes to courses and exams may be necessary at short notice (e.g. cancellation of on-site teaching and conversion to online exams). Register for courses/exams via u:space, find out about the current status on u:find and on the moodle learning platform.

Further information about on-site teaching can be found at https://studieren.univie.ac.at/en/info.

142396 PS Art and Culture of the Himalayas (2020S)

Continuous assessment of course work

Registration/Deregistration

Details

max. 22 participants
Language: German

Lecturers

Classes (iCal) - next class is marked with N

Thursday 05.03. 16:30 - 18:00 Seminarraum 6 ISTB UniCampus Hof 4 2C-O1-37
Thursday 19.03. 16:30 - 18:00 Seminarraum 6 ISTB UniCampus Hof 4 2C-O1-37
Thursday 26.03. 16:30 - 18:00 Seminarraum 6 ISTB UniCampus Hof 4 2C-O1-37
Thursday 02.04. 16:30 - 18:00 Seminarraum 6 ISTB UniCampus Hof 4 2C-O1-37
Thursday 23.04. 16:30 - 18:00 Seminarraum 6 ISTB UniCampus Hof 4 2C-O1-37
Thursday 30.04. 16:30 - 18:00 Seminarraum 6 ISTB UniCampus Hof 4 2C-O1-37
Thursday 07.05. 16:30 - 18:00 Seminarraum 6 ISTB UniCampus Hof 4 2C-O1-37
Thursday 14.05. 16:30 - 18:00 Seminarraum 6 ISTB UniCampus Hof 4 2C-O1-37
Thursday 28.05. 16:30 - 18:00 Seminarraum 6 ISTB UniCampus Hof 4 2C-O1-37
Thursday 04.06. 16:30 - 18:00 Seminarraum 6 ISTB UniCampus Hof 4 2C-O1-37
Thursday 18.06. 16:30 - 18:00 Seminarraum 6 ISTB UniCampus Hof 4 2C-O1-37
Thursday 25.06. 16:30 - 18:00 Seminarraum 6 ISTB UniCampus Hof 4 2C-O1-37

Information

Aims, contents and method of the course

The aim of the course is an introduction to scientific work through the independent processing and presentation of an art historical and cultural topic, as well as through the critical analysis of the relevant literature. Connected thinking and digital skills in dealing with scientific information on the Internet are also to be promoted.

Content: The proseminar is intended to provide a profound overview of the art and culture of the Tibetan highlands and the Indian Himalayan region.
The spectrum of topics that we will discuss and work on together ranges from the beginnings of Buddhism and the establishment of important monastery complexes in Central Tibet, to the second wave of Buddhism in Western Tibet, and to the artistic activities in Nepal and the eastern Himalayas.

Method: Artistic developments, special features, and idiosyncrasies are discussed by using selected examples of painting, sculpture, architecture, and ritual. At the same time, a digital teaching platform will be made available, which serves the exchange of information and offers the opportunity to work on and comment on the selected topics. The teaching platform is open and freely accessible - the participants are encouraged to contribute entries and critical comments.

Assessment and permitted materials

Duty of attendance and active participation, regular entries and processing / comments from / to entries and image material on the open teaching platform accompanying the course, 20-minute oral presentation, handout, concept for the written work, written case study (15000 - 20000 characters) on the Teaching platform to be published.

Minimum requirements and assessment criteria

The regular attendance in the proseminar (no more than 2 missed units) is a basic requirement for a positive completion of the course, as is the provision of all of the above-mentioned partial services. Written achievements flow into the assessment of the course to 60%, the oral presentation 25%, participation 15%.

Examination topics

Reading list


Association in the course directory

BA14

Last modified: Mo 07.09.2020 15:20

Universität Wien FIND

Bedingt durch die COVID-19-Pandemie können kurzfristige Änderungen bei Lehrveranstaltungen und Prüfungen (z.B. Absage von Vor-Ort-Lehre und Umstellung auf Online-Prüfungen) erforderlich sein. Melden Sie sich für Lehrveranstaltungen/Prüfungen über u:space an, informieren Sie sich über den aktuellen Stand auf u:find und auf der Lernplattform moodle.

Weitere Informationen zum Lehrbetrieb vor Ort finden Sie unter https://studieren.univie.ac.at/info.

142396 PS Kunst und Kultur im Himalaya (2020S)

Prüfungsimmanente Lehrveranstaltung

An/Abmeldung

Details

max. 22 Teilnehmer*innen
Sprache: Deutsch

Lehrende

Termine (iCal) - nächster Termin ist mit N markiert

Donnerstag 05.03. 16:30 - 18:00 Seminarraum 6 ISTB UniCampus Hof 4 2C-O1-37
Donnerstag 19.03. 16:30 - 18:00 Seminarraum 6 ISTB UniCampus Hof 4 2C-O1-37
Donnerstag 26.03. 16:30 - 18:00 Seminarraum 6 ISTB UniCampus Hof 4 2C-O1-37
Donnerstag 02.04. 16:30 - 18:00 Seminarraum 6 ISTB UniCampus Hof 4 2C-O1-37
Donnerstag 23.04. 16:30 - 18:00 Seminarraum 6 ISTB UniCampus Hof 4 2C-O1-37
Donnerstag 30.04. 16:30 - 18:00 Seminarraum 6 ISTB UniCampus Hof 4 2C-O1-37
Donnerstag 07.05. 16:30 - 18:00 Seminarraum 6 ISTB UniCampus Hof 4 2C-O1-37
Donnerstag 14.05. 16:30 - 18:00 Seminarraum 6 ISTB UniCampus Hof 4 2C-O1-37
Donnerstag 28.05. 16:30 - 18:00 Seminarraum 6 ISTB UniCampus Hof 4 2C-O1-37
Donnerstag 04.06. 16:30 - 18:00 Seminarraum 6 ISTB UniCampus Hof 4 2C-O1-37
Donnerstag 18.06. 16:30 - 18:00 Seminarraum 6 ISTB UniCampus Hof 4 2C-O1-37
Donnerstag 25.06. 16:30 - 18:00 Seminarraum 6 ISTB UniCampus Hof 4 2C-O1-37

Information

Ziele, Inhalte und Methode der Lehrveranstaltung

Ziel: Ziel der Lehrveranstaltung ist eine Einführung in das wissenschaftliche Arbeit durch die eigenständige Bearbeitung und Präsentation eines kunst- und kulturhistorischen Themas, sowie durch die kritische Analyse der relevanten Literatur. Gefördert werden soll weiters vernetztes Denken sowie digitale Kompetenzen im Umgang mit wissenschaftlichen Information im Internet.

Inhalt: Das Proseminar soll einen profunden Überblick in die Kunst und Kultur des tibetischen Hochlands und des indischen Himalayagebiets bieten.
Das Spektrum der Themen, die wir gemeinsam diskutieren und bearbeiten werden, reicht von den Anfängen des Buddhismus und der Errichtung bedeutender Klosteranlagen in Zentraltibet, über die zweite Verbreitungswelle des Buddhismus in Westtibet, bis zu den künstlerischen Aktivitäten in Nepal und im östlichen Himalaya.

Methode: Anhand ausgewählter Beispiele zu Malerei, Skulptur, Architektur und Ritualen werden künstlerische Entwicklungen, Besonder- und Eigenheiten diskutiert. Begleitend wird eine digitale Lehrplattform zur Verfügung gestellt, die dem Austausch von Information dient und die Möglichkeit bietet die ausgewählten Themen zu bearbeiten und zu kommentieren. Die Lehrplattform wird offen und frei zugänglich geführt - die Teilnehmer*innen sind angehalten, Einträge und Diskussionbeiträge beizusteuern.

Sprache: deutsch; gute Englischkenntnisse sind aber für das Studium der Fachliteratur empfehlenswert.

Art der Leistungskontrolle und erlaubte Hilfsmittel

Anwesenheitspflicht und aktive Mitarbeit, regelmäßige Einträge und Bearbeitung/Kommentare von/zu Einträgen und Bildmaterial auf der die LV begleitenden offenen Lehrplattform, 20-minütiges mündliches Referat, Handout, Konzept zur schriftlichen Arbeit, schriftliche Fallstudie (15000 - 20000 Zeichen), die auf der Lehrplattform veröffentlich werden soll.

Mindestanforderungen und Beurteilungsmaßstab

Die regelmäßige Anwesenheit im Proseminar (nicht mehr als 2 Fehlstunden) sind Grundvoraussetzung für einen positiven Abschluss der Lehrveranstaltung, ebenso wie die Erbringung aller oben genannten Teilleistungen. Die schriftliche Leistungen fließen zu 60%, das Referat zu 25%, Mitarbeit zu 15% in die Beurteilung der Lehrveranstaltung ein.

Prüfungsstoff

Literatur


Zuordnung im Vorlesungsverzeichnis

BA14

Letzte Änderung: Mo 07.09.2020 15:20