Universität Wien FIND

Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, changes to courses and exams may be necessary at short notice (e.g. cancellation of on-site teaching and conversion to online exams). Register for courses/exams via u:space, find out about the current status on u:find and on the moodle learning platform.

Further information about on-site teaching can be found at https://studieren.univie.ac.at/en/info.

180229 SE Seeing and Knowing (2019W)

5.00 ECTS (2.00 SWS), SPL 18 - Philosophie
Continuous assessment of course work

Registration/Deregistration

Details

max. 30 participants
Language: German

Lecturers

Classes (iCal) - next class is marked with N

Wednesday 09.10. 18:30 - 20:00 Hörsaal 3F NIG 3.Stock
Wednesday 16.10. 18:30 - 20:00 Hörsaal 3F NIG 3.Stock
Wednesday 23.10. 18:30 - 20:00 Hörsaal 3F NIG 3.Stock
Wednesday 30.10. 18:30 - 20:00 Hörsaal 3F NIG 3.Stock
Wednesday 06.11. 18:30 - 20:00 Hörsaal 3F NIG 3.Stock
Wednesday 13.11. 18:30 - 20:00 Hörsaal 3F NIG 3.Stock
Wednesday 20.11. 18:30 - 20:00 Hörsaal 3F NIG 3.Stock
Wednesday 27.11. 18:30 - 20:00 Hörsaal 3F NIG 3.Stock
Wednesday 04.12. 18:30 - 20:00 Hörsaal 3F NIG 3.Stock
Wednesday 11.12. 18:30 - 20:00 Hörsaal 3F NIG 3.Stock
Wednesday 08.01. 18:30 - 20:00 Hörsaal 3F NIG 3.Stock
Wednesday 15.01. 18:30 - 20:00 Hörsaal 3F NIG 3.Stock
Wednesday 22.01. 18:30 - 20:00 Hörsaal 3F NIG 3.Stock
Wednesday 29.01. 18:30 - 20:00 Hörsaal 3F NIG 3.Stock

Information

Aims, contents and method of the course

This seminar will explore what it means to know something. Does "knowing" mean having a belief that is not just true, but also justified? Or is knowledge subject to different standards depending on the situation ? How does knowledge differ from beliefs, opinions or convictions? What does it mean to be certain? How is such certainty compatible with fallibility? What role do our senses and what role does our mind play? How does "knowing that X" relate to " knowing of or about X" and "knowing X"? Is knowledge even possible or can we always be mistaken or deceived?

As we look for answers to these questions, we will take guidance from a new book that is currently changing the game in the debate: Michael Ayers's 'Knowing and Seeing' (OUP 2019). We shall start by looking at a notorious paper by Gettier and some immediate reactions to it, which attempted to define knowledge as justified, true belief, with various patches. These attempts to analyze or reduce the concept of knowledge to " belief " plus some additions were rejected by opponents of the venture for a variety of reasons. Ayers and Antognazza begin with a historical introduction to the concept of knowledge. We will follow them in looking to some of the historical foundations in Plato and Aristotle as well as Aquinas, Descartes, Locke, Leibniz and Hume. These will also help us to understand today's debates.

In the next step we will deal with the so-called "KK principle", the principle that we know that we know something. This principle, which plays an important role among the opponents of "Gettierology", is advocated by many internalists, but rejected by many externalists. By way of example, we will pick out the views of Goldman, Nozick and Williamson. Then we will look at Ayers's empiricist answer from perception and his distinction between primary and secondary knowledge.

There are other approaches that also explain knowledge with reference to perception. The debate between McDowell and Travis is especially prominent here, and we will also look at Ginsborg's and Miguens's contributions to it. Ayers discusses both McDowell's original and his modified view and presents an alternative.

Ayers's theory of knowledge also has direct impact on his position on language. We will compare his object-centered view with the mainstream representation of that-clauses as embedded propositions.

The last part of the seminar will be dedicated to skepticism, its different forms and reactions to it (fallibilism, contextualism and reliabilism). Ayers's distinction between primary and secondary knowledge and between being certain and being infallible offers another possibility for dealing with sceptical arguments.

Texts from the literature will be prepared for each unit. They will be allocated to the participants who will then briefly summarize these texts in writing or in oral presentations in the seminar. As a seminar paper, the participants will write a review of Ayers’s book.

Assessment and permitted materials

Short written or oral contributions, seminar paper, participation in class.

Minimum requirements and assessment criteria

StEOP; M-02 attendance required;
Short written or oral contributions: 30%, seminar paper 60%, participation in class 10%.

Examination topics

Reading list

Ayers, Michael, Knowing and Seeing, OUP 2019
Further reading will be announced in the seminar.

Association in the course directory

Last modified: Mo 07.09.2020 15:21

Universität Wien FIND
Achtung! Das Lehrangebot ist noch nicht vollständig und wird bis Semesterbeginn laufend ergänzt.

180229 SE Sehen, Erkennen und Wissen (2019W)

5.00 ECTS (2.00 SWS), SPL 18 - Philosophie
Prüfungsimmanente Lehrveranstaltung

Moodle; Mi 22.01. 18:30-20:00 Hörsaal 3F NIG 3.Stock

An/Abmeldung

Details

max. 30 Teilnehmer*innen
Sprache: Deutsch

Lehrende

Termine (iCal) - nächster Termin ist mit N markiert

Mittwoch 09.10. 18:30 - 20:00 Hörsaal 3F NIG 3.Stock
Mittwoch 16.10. 18:30 - 20:00 Hörsaal 3F NIG 3.Stock
Mittwoch 23.10. 18:30 - 20:00 Hörsaal 3F NIG 3.Stock
Mittwoch 30.10. 18:30 - 20:00 Hörsaal 3F NIG 3.Stock
Mittwoch 06.11. 18:30 - 20:00 Hörsaal 3F NIG 3.Stock
Mittwoch 13.11. 18:30 - 20:00 Hörsaal 3F NIG 3.Stock
Mittwoch 20.11. 18:30 - 20:00 Hörsaal 3F NIG 3.Stock
Mittwoch 27.11. 18:30 - 20:00 Hörsaal 3F NIG 3.Stock
Mittwoch 04.12. 18:30 - 20:00 Hörsaal 3F NIG 3.Stock
Mittwoch 11.12. 18:30 - 20:00 Hörsaal 3F NIG 3.Stock
Mittwoch 08.01. 18:30 - 20:00 Hörsaal 3F NIG 3.Stock
Mittwoch 15.01. 18:30 - 20:00 Hörsaal 3F NIG 3.Stock
Mittwoch 29.01. 18:30 - 20:00 Hörsaal 3F NIG 3.Stock

Information

Ziele, Inhalte und Methode der Lehrveranstaltung

Dieses Seminar geht der Frage nach, was es bedeutet, etwas zu wissen. Heißt „wissen“, eine Überzeugung zu besitzen, die nicht nur wahr, sondern auch gut fundiert ist? Oder ist Wissen je nach Situation unterschiedlichen Maßstäben unterworfen? Wie unterscheidet sich Wissen von Glauben, Meinungen oder Überzeugungen? Was bedeutet es, sich etwas sicher zu sein? Wie verträgt sich diese Sicherheit mit der Möglichkeit des Irrtums? Welche Rolle spielen unsere Sinne, welche unser Verstand? Wie verhält sich „wissen, dass X“ zu „Wissen von bzw. über X“ und „X wissen“? Gibt es Wissen überhaupt oder können wir uns immer täuschen oder getäuscht werden?

Wir lassen uns auf der Suche nach Antworten von einem neuen Buch leiten, das die Debatte gerade neu aufmischt: Michael Ayers‘ Knowing and Seeing (OUP 2019). Zum Einstieg sehen wir uns ein berühmt-berüchtigtes Paper von Gettier und einige unmittelbare Reaktionen darauf an, in denen versucht wurde, Wissen als gerechtfertigte, wahre Meinung mit unterschiedlichen Ergänzungen zu definieren. Diese Versuche einer Analyse bzw. Reduktion des Wissensbegriffs auf „Glauben“ plus einige Zusätze wurden von Gegnern des Unterfangens aus unterschiedlichen Gründen abgelehnt. Ayers und Antognazza beginnen mit einer historischen Klarstellung. Wir folgen ihnen und sehen uns einige historische Grundlagen z.B. bei Platon und Aristoteles bzw. Thomas von Aquin, Descartes, Locke, Leibniz und Hume an. Diese werden uns auch helfen, die heutigen Debatten zu verstehen.

In einem nächsten Schritt beschäftigen wir uns mit dem sogenannten „KK principle“, dem Prinzip, dass wir wissen, dass wir etwas wissen. Dieses Prinzip, das bei den Gegnern der „Gettierologie“ eine wichtige Rolle spielt, wird von vielen Internalisten vertreten, von vielen Externalisten jedoch abgelehnt. Wir greifen paradigmatisch die Standpunkte von Goldman, Nozick und Williamson heraus. Dann sehen wir uns Ayers‘ empiristische Antwort über die Wahrnehmung und seine Unterscheidung zwischen primärem und sekundärem Wissen dazu an.

Auch andere Ansätze erklären Wissen in Zusammenhang mit Wahrnehmung. Besonders prominent ist hier die Debatte zwischen McDowell und Travis, zu der wir uns auch die Standpunkte von Ginsborg und Miguens ansehen werden. Ayers‘ diskutiert sowohl McDowells ursprünglichen als auch seinen modifizierten Standpunkt und legt eine Alternative zu den anderen Sichtweisen vor.

Ayers‘ Wissenstheorie hat auch unmittelbare Auswirkungen auf seine Sicht der Sprache. Wir werden seinen Objekt-zentrierten Standpunkt mit der Mainstream-Darstellung von dass-Sätzen als eingebettete Propositionen vergleichen.

Im letzten Teil des Seminars widmen wir uns dem Skeptizismus, seinen unterschiedlichen Ausformungen und den Reaktionen darauf (Fallibilismus, Kontextualismus sowie Reliabilismus). Ayers‘ Unterscheidung zwischen primärem und sekundärem Wissen und zwischen sicher sein und unfehlbar sein öffnet hier eine weitere Möglichkeit des Umgangs mit skeptischen Einwänden.

Für die einzelnen Einheiten sind Texte vorzubereiten, die unter den TeilnehmerInnen aufgeteilt werden. Diese fassen die jeweiligen Texte schriftlich zusammen bzw. präsentieren den Inhalt kurz mündlich im Seminar. Als Seminararbeit verfassen die TeilnehmerInnen eine Rezension des Buches.

Art der Leistungskontrolle und erlaubte Hilfsmittel

Mündliche und schriftliche Kurzbeiträge, Seminararbeit, Mitarbeit

Mindestanforderungen und Beurteilungsmaßstab

StEOP; M-02 Anwesenheit erforderlich;
Kurzbeiträge schriftlich bzw. mündlich: 30%, Seminararbeit 60%, Mitarbeit 10%.

Prüfungsstoff

Literatur

Ayers, Michael, Knowing and Seeing, OUP 2019
Weitere Angaben erfolgen in der LV

Zuordnung im Vorlesungsverzeichnis

Letzte Änderung: Mi 09.10.2019 00:06