Universität Wien FIND

Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, changes to courses and exams may be necessary at short notice (e.g. cancellation of on-site teaching and conversion to online exams). Register for courses/exams via u:space, find out about the current status on u:find and on the moodle learning platform.

Further information about on-site teaching can be found at https://studieren.univie.ac.at/en/info.

Warning! The directory is not yet complete and will be amended until the beginning of the term.

260043 PR Laboratory Computational Quantum Mechanics (2008S)

Part II

5.00 ECTS (3.00 SWS), SPL 26 - Physik
Continuous assessment of course work

25.-28.3.2008 9:00-18:00, HS 2, Strudlhofgasse 4, EG, 1090 Wien.

Details

max. 18 participants
Language: German

Lecturers

Classes

Currently no class schedule is known.

Information

Aims, contents and method of the course

Introduction to the simulation of quantum mechanical many electron systems, focusing on solid state physics and materials science. Fundamental materials properties, such as the electronic band structure, effective forces between ions and atoms, vibrational frequencies, mechanical properties, thermodynamic properties, as well as magnetic properties are predicted using simulations. The used program, VASP, was developed in Vienna and is used world wide. In the second part, selected publications focusing on materials science problems will be distributed, and the students are supposed to reproduce these results with little support of the supervisor.

Assessment and permitted materials

Minimum requirements and assessment criteria

Use of quantum mechanical simulation programs such as VASP (Vienna ab initio simulation package). Application to complex questions in materials science. Introduction to the operating system Linux, scripting in Linux, and graphical tools for the visualization of data.

Examination topics

Computeroriented. Processes in solids and materials science are simulated.The complexity of the examples increases gradually. In the second part, selected publications are supposed to be reproduced by the students.

Reading list

VASP online Manual, Diverse Publikationen

Association in the course directory

PD217(teilweise),311(teilweise) (Teil 2 eines 6-stündigen PR)

Last modified: Fr 31.08.2018 08:55

Universität Wien FIND

260043 PR Praktikum Computational Quantum Mechanics (2008S)

Teil II

5.00 ECTS (3.00 SWS), SPL 26 - Physik
Prüfungsimmanente Lehrveranstaltung

25.-28.3.2008 9:00-18:00, HS 2, Strudlhofgasse 4, EG, 1090 Wien.

Details

max. 18 Teilnehmer*innen
Sprache: Deutsch

Lehrende

Termine

Zur Zeit sind keine Termine bekannt.

Information

Ziele, Inhalte und Methode der Lehrveranstaltung

Einführung in die Simulation von quantenmechanischen Vielelektronen Systemen mit dem Schwerpunkt Festkörperphysik und Materialphysik. Fundamentale Materialeigenschaften wie die elektronische Bandstruktur, effektive Kräfte zwischen den Teilchen, Schwingungseigenschaften, mechanische Eigenschaften, thermodynamische Eigenschaften und magnetische Eigenschaften werden mit Computersimulationen berechnet. Die eingesetzte Software, VASP, wurde zum Großteil in Wien entwickelt und findet international Verwendung. Im zweiten Teil werden ausgewählte Publikationen aus dem Gebiet der Computational Materials Science vorgelegt, und die Studenten sollen großteils selbständig die Ergebnisse der vorgelegten Publikationen reproduzieren.

Art der Leistungskontrolle: Evaluierung der Praktikumsbeispiele und vorgelegten Protokolle

Art der Leistungskontrolle und erlaubte Hilfsmittel

Mindestanforderungen und Beurteilungsmaßstab

Benutzung quantenmechanischer Simulationsprogramme wie VASP (Vienna ab initio simulation package). Anwendung auf komplexe Fragestellungen in der Materialphysik. Übersicht über das Betriebssystem Linux, Skriptsprachen und Grafikprogramme zur Visualisierung der erhaltenen Daten.

Prüfungsstoff

Computerorientiert. Vorgänge in der Festkörperphysik sollen selbständig erarbeitet und simuliert werden. Der Schwierigkeitsgrad der behandelten Beispiele wächst graduell an. Im zweiten Teil werden ausgesuchte Publikationen "nachgerechnet".

Literatur

VASP online Manual, Diverse Publikationen

Zuordnung im Vorlesungsverzeichnis

PD217(teilweise),311(teilweise) (Teil 2 eines 6-stündigen PR)

Letzte Änderung: Fr 31.08.2018 08:55