Universität Wien FIND

Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, changes to courses and exams may be necessary at short notice. Inform yourself about the current status on u:find and check your e-mails regularly.

Please read the information on https://studieren.univie.ac.at/en/info.

270083 UE Practical course on food toxicology (2021S)

5.00 ECTS (5.00 SWS), SPL 27 - Chemie
Continuous assessment of course work
MIXED

Registration/Deregistration

Note: The time of your registration within the registration period has no effect on the allocation of places (no first come, first served).

Details

max. 12 participants
Language: German

Lecturers

Classes

Preliminary meeting on February 26th from 10 to 12 o'clock (online)
The practical course will take place partly online, partly on site. On site, the students will be divided into two groups. The "red" group will be in the lab during the week of 8-12 March, the "green" group will be in the lab during the week of 15-19 March. Lab times in each case from 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.


Information

Aims, contents and method of the course

Aim: In a 2-week "research project", students should learn to use different methods to clarify a problem/issue. They can apply the methods learned in different areas of food chemistry, toxicology, biological chemistry, etc.
Students acquire the ability to critically assess their results and to discuss them based on the literature provided. The greatest possible benefit of this course (LV) will be gained by students in advanced master studies or at the end of their studies, as theoretical knowledge of food chemistry and toxicology is required. The course is therefore recommended for this group of students.

Course contents: In this course the following topics are presented or worked on together: Investigation of the bioactivity/toxicity of food ingredients with modern biochemical/cellular/molecular biological methods such as cell culture, microscopy, western blot, comet assay, enzyme assays, quantitative real-time PCR etc. The LV takes place in the institute's own research laboratories.

The course is divided into a preliminary discussion with laboratory safety instruction and introduction to the topic. Backgrounds and interaction of the problem are discussed. The necessary theoretical knowledge is to be acquired by self-study (of the provided literature). Through the course, students acquire practical skills that deepen their theoretical knowledge.

Methods: The contents of the course will be acquired through practical exercises, discussions, an oral final colloquium, etc.

Assessment and permitted materials

- Practical laboratory work
- Timely delivery of the final report of max. 25 pages
- final oral test on the subject area

In order to ensure good scientific practice, the course director may invite students to a notation-relevant interview after submission of the final report, which must be passed.

permitted aids:
No aids may be used in the oral final colloquium.

Minimum requirements and assessment criteria

Attendance at the preliminary discussion of the course is compulsory and is already the first part of the course. Attendance at the preliminary discussion, but an unexcused absence from the practical part will result in a negative assessment.
Unexcused absence during the course is not allowed and leads to exclusion from the course. The attendance must be fulfilled to 75%, which corresponds to 2.5 excused absences. Before beginning the practical part of the course, an exam for the respective method must be passed with 50% of the maximum score. Failure to pass the exam results in the corresponding method not being carried out. The test will be graded 5 (practical work, final report). The answers themselves are not included in the grading.
Each piece of work must be completed at the end of the course.

The various sub-parts are graded and are included in the assessment as follows:
- Practical work: 30%.
- Protocol (1st delivery): 30
- Final colloquium (oral): 40 %
The course is passed with an overall grade of 4.

Examination topics

The content of the taught parts, the final report, as well as the script and the provided literature are required to complete the partial performances.

Reading list

Relevant literature is continuously made available on Moodle during the course.

Association in the course directory

LC-3, LCH II-3, LMC-C1, LMC C1

Last modified: We 21.04.2021 11:27

Universität Wien FIND

Bedingt durch die COVID-19-Pandemie können kurzfristige Änderungen bei Lehrveranstaltungen und Prüfungen (z.B. Absage von Vor-Ort-Lehre und Umstellung auf Online-Prüfungen) erforderlich sein. Melden Sie sich für Lehrveranstaltungen/Prüfungen über u:space an, informieren Sie sich über den aktuellen Stand auf u:find und auf der Lernplattform moodle. ACHTUNG: Lehrveranstaltungen, bei denen zumindest eine Einheit vor Ort stattfindet, werden in u:find momentan mit "vor Ort" gekennzeichnet.

Regelungen zum Lehrbetrieb vor Ort inkl. Eintrittstests finden Sie unter https://studieren.univie.ac.at/info.

Achtung! Das Lehrangebot ist noch nicht vollständig und wird bis Semesterbeginn laufend ergänzt.

270083 UE Lebensmitteltoxikologisches Praktikum (2021S)

5.00 ECTS (5.00 SWS), SPL 27 - Chemie
Prüfungsimmanente Lehrveranstaltung
GEMISCHT

An/Abmeldung

Hinweis: Ihr Anmeldezeitpunkt innerhalb der Frist hat keine Auswirkungen auf die Platzvergabe (kein "first come, first serve").

Details

max. 12 Teilnehmer*innen
Sprache: Deutsch

Lehrende

Termine

Vorbesprechung am 26. Februar von 10-12 Uhr (online)
Das Praktikum findet teilweise online, teilweise vor Ort statt. Vor Ort werden die Studierenden in zwei Gruppen geteilt. Die "rote" Gruppe ist in der Woche vom 8. bis 12. März im Labor, die "grüne" Gruppe ist in der Woche vom 15.-19. März im Labor. Laborzeiten jeweils von 9 bis 18 Uhr.


Information

Ziele, Inhalte und Methode der Lehrveranstaltung

Ziel: In einem 2-wöchigen „Forschungsprojekt“ sollen die Studierenden lernen unterschiedliche Methoden zur Klärung einer Problem-/ Fragestellung einzusetzen. Sie können die erlernten Methoden in verschiedenen Bereichen der Lebensmittelchemie, Toxikologie, Biologischen Chemie etc. anwenden.
Die Studierenden erwerben die Fähigkeit ihre Ergebnisse kritisch zu beurteilen und basierend auf der zur Verfügung gestellten Literatur zu diskutieren. Den größtmöglichen Nutzen von dieser Lehrveranstaltung (LV) haben Studierende im fortgeschrittenen Masterstudium bzw. am Ende des Studiums, da theoretische Kenntnisse der Lebensmittelchemie und Toxikologie vorausgesetzt werden. Die LV ist daher eher dieser Gruppe von Studierenden zu empfehlen.

Inhalte: In dieser LV werden folgende Themen(gebiete) vorgestellt bzw. gemeinsam erarbeitet: Untersuchungen zur Bioaktivität/ Toxizität von Lebensmittelinhaltsstoffen mit modernen biochemischen/ zell-/ molekularbiologischen Methoden wie Zellkultur, Mikroskopie, Western Blot, Comet Assay, Enzym Assays, quantitative Echtzeit-PCR etc. Die LV findet in den institutseigenen Forschungslabors statt.

Die Lehrveranstaltung gliedert sich in eine Vorbesprechung mit Labor-Sicherheitsbelehrung und Einführung in das Thema. Dabei werden Hintergründe und Zusammenhänge der Problemstellung erörtert. Die erforderlichen theoretischen Kenntnisse sollen u.a. auch durch Selbststudium (der zur Verfügung gestellten Literatur) erworben werden. Durch die LV erwerben die Studierenden praktische Fertigkeiten die ihre theoretischen Kenntnisse vertiefen.

Methode: Die Inhalte der LV werden durch praktische Übungen, Diskussionen, ein mündliches Abschluss Kolloquium, etc. erarbeitet.

Art der Leistungskontrolle und erlaubte Hilfsmittel

• Praktische Laborarbeit
• fristgerechte Abgabe des max. 25-seitigen Abschlussprotokolls
• mündlicher Abschlusstest zum Themengebiet

Zur Sicherung der guten wissenschaftlichen Praxis kann die Lehrveranstaltungsleitung Studierende zu einem notenrelevanten Gespräch nach Abgabe des Abschlussprotokolls einladen, welches positiv zu absolvieren ist.

erlaubte Hilfsmittel:
Beim mündlichen Abschluss-Kolloquium dürfen keine Hilfsmittel verwendet werden.

Mindestanforderungen und Beurteilungsmaßstab

Die Anwesenheit bei der Vorbesprechung der Lehrveranstaltung ist verpflichtend und ist bereits der erste Teil der Lehrveranstaltung. Eine Teilnahme an der Vorbesprechung, aber ein unentschuldigstes Fernbleiben im Praktikum führt zu einer negativen Beurteilung.
Unentschuldigte Abwesenheit während der LV ist nicht erlaubt und führt zum Ausschluss vom Praktikum. Die Anwesenheit muss zu 75% erfüllt sein, was 2,5 entschuldigten Fehleinheiten entspricht. Vor Beginn des praktischen Teils der LV muss ein Antestat für die jeweilige Methode mit 50% der maximalen Punktzahl bestanden werden. Bei Nichtbestehen des Antestats darf der entsprechende Versuch nicht durchgeführt werden. Der Versuch geht mit Note 5 (praktische Arbeit, Abschlussprotokoll) in die Bewertung ein. Die Antestate selbst gehen nicht in die Benotung ein.
Jede Teilleistung muss zum Abschluss der Lehrveranstaltung erbracht werden.

Die unterschiedlichen Teilleistungen werden benotet und gehen wie folgt in die Bewertung ein:
• Praktische Arbeit: 30 %
• Protokoll (1. Abgabe): 30 %
• mündliches Abschluss-Kolloquium: 40 %
Das Praktikum ist mit der Gesamtnote 4 noch bestanden.

Prüfungsstoff

Der Inhalt der Einheiten, das Abschlussprotokoll, sowie das Skriptum und die zur Verfügung gestellte Literatur sind erforderlich, um die Teilleistungen abzuschließen.

Literatur

Relevante Literatur wird laufend im Zuge der Lehrveranstaltung auf Moodle gestellt.

Zuordnung im Vorlesungsverzeichnis

LC-3, LCH II-3, LMC-C1, LMC C1

Letzte Änderung: Mi 21.04.2021 11:27