Universität Wien FIND

Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, changes to courses and exams may be necessary at short notice (e.g. cancellation of on-site teaching and conversion to online exams). Register for courses/exams via u:space, find out about the current status on u:find and on the moodle learning platform.

Further information about on-site teaching can be found at https://studieren.univie.ac.at/en/info.

300176 UE Diversity and functional attributes of biological communities (2020S)

along enviromental gradients

10.00 ECTS (6.00 SWS), SPL 30 - Biologie
Continuous assessment of course work

Registration/Deregistration

Details

max. 14 participants
Language: German, English

Lecturers

Classes (iCal) - next class is marked with N

Field work will be conducted in the Western Alps (06/07 - 19/07/2020). Costs of c 600 € cover transport and accommodation in tents. C. 25% of the costs will probably be refunded from by the University.

Thursday 05.03. 13:00 - 14:00 Seminarraum (Fakultätszentrum für Biodiversität) Rennweg EG

Information

Aims, contents and method of the course

The course will demonstrate the basics of designing and conducting a field study on biodiversity-related questions – developing a testable hypothesis, study design, field work, data analysis, oral and written presentation of the study. Work will be conducted in teams of two persons. Each team will work on a specific question. Questions will focus on the relationship between climate, land use and different aspects of biodiversity in the western part of the European Alps (Italy, France). Vascular plants and grasshoppers will serve as major model groups.
COSTS: Field work will be conducted in the Western Alps (06/07 - 19/07/2020). Costs of c 600 € cover transport and accommodation in tents. C. 25% of the costs will probably be refunded from by the University.

Assessment and permitted materials

Active participation, oral presentation, written report (c. 5 – 10 pages)

Minimum requirements and assessment criteria

Course work shall be done in groups of two participants. The course requires active participation in field work, as well as an oral presentation and writing of a final report by each group. Following guidelines of the Studienkonferenz Biologie the final paper will contribute 60% to the grade, and active participation and oral presentation 40%.

Examination topics

Reading list

to be announced during the course

Association in the course directory

BOE 12, BBO 9, BZO 12, MBO 7, MEC-9

Last modified: Mo 07.09.2020 15:21

Universität Wien FIND

Bedingt durch die COVID-19-Pandemie können kurzfristige Änderungen bei Lehrveranstaltungen und Prüfungen (z.B. Absage von Vor-Ort-Lehre und Umstellung auf Online-Prüfungen) erforderlich sein. Melden Sie sich für Lehrveranstaltungen/Prüfungen über u:space an, informieren Sie sich über den aktuellen Stand auf u:find und auf der Lernplattform moodle.

Weitere Informationen zum Lehrbetrieb vor Ort finden Sie unter https://studieren.univie.ac.at/info.

300176 UE Diversität und funktionelle Eigenschaften von Lebensgemeinschaften (2020S)

entlang von Umweltgradienten

10.00 ECTS (6.00 SWS), SPL 30 - Biologie
Prüfungsimmanente Lehrveranstaltung

An/Abmeldung

Details

max. 14 Teilnehmer*innen
Sprache: Deutsch, Englisch

Lehrende

Termine (iCal) - nächster Termin ist mit N markiert

Der Freiland-Teil des Kurses findet in den Westalpen statt (06/07 - 19/07/2020). Die Gesamtkosten von ca. 600 € decken als Transporte sowie Unterkunft (in Zelten). Ca. 25% der Kosten können vermutlich aus Subventionen der Universität rückerstattet werden.

Donnerstag 05.03. 13:00 - 14:00 Seminarraum (Fakultätszentrum für Biodiversität) Rennweg EG

Information

Ziele, Inhalte und Methode der Lehrveranstaltung

Die UE vermittelt Grundzüge von Feldstudien zum Thema Biodiversität - Ausarbeitung einer testbaren Hypothese, Untersuchungsdesign, Durchführung der Freilandarbeit, Auswertung der Daten, mündliche Präsentation und textliche Darstellung der Arbeit. Die Arbeit wird in Zweierteams stattfinden. Jedes Team wird eine eigene Fragestellung bearbeiten. Die Fragen werden sich Zusammenhänge zwischen Klima, Landnutzung und verschiedenen Aspekten von Biodiversität in den Westalpen (Italien, Frankreich) beschäftigen. Modellgruppen werden vor allem Pflanzen und Heuschrecken sein
KOSTEN: Der Freiland-Teil des Kurses findet in den Westalpen statt (06/07 - 19/07/2020). Die Gesamtkosten von ca. 600 € decken als Transporte sowie Unterkunft (in Zelten). Ca. 25% der Kosten können vermutlich aus Subventionen der Universität rückerstattet werden.

Art der Leistungskontrolle und erlaubte Hilfsmittel

Mitarbeit, mündliche Präsentation, schriftlicher Bericht (ca. 5-10 Seiten)

Mindestanforderungen und Beurteilungsmaßstab

Die Arbeit soll in Gruppen von je zwei Teilnehmern erfolgen. Erfolgreiche Teilnahme setzt aktive Beteiligung am Kurs sowie eine mündliche Präsentation und das Verfassen eines Papers durch jede Zweiergruppe voraus. Entsprechend den allgemeinen Richtlinien der Studienkonferenz Biologie werden die schriftliche Leistung (Paper) mit 60% und die Mitarbeit und die mündlichen Leistungsteile mit 40% in die Beurteilung eingehen.

Prüfungsstoff

Literatur

wird in der Vorbesprechung bekannt gegeben

Zuordnung im Vorlesungsverzeichnis

BOE 12, BBO 9, BZO 12, MBO 7, MEC-9

Letzte Änderung: Mo 07.09.2020 15:21