Universität Wien FIND

Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, changes to courses and exams may be necessary at short notice (e.g. cancellation of on-site teaching and conversion to online exams). Register for courses/exams via u:space, find out about the current status on u:find and on the moodle learning platform.

Further information about on-site teaching can be found at https://studieren.univie.ac.at/en/info.

Warning! The directory is not yet complete and will be amended until the beginning of the term.

300641 UE Mass Spectrometry based Proteomics (2016W)

Genetics and biochemistry

5.00 ECTS (4.00 SWS), SPL 30 - Biologie
Continuous assessment of course work

Registration/Deregistration

Details

max. 12 participants
Language: German, English

Lecturers

Classes

Preparatory meeting: November 21 4 pm s.t., 2016, SR3 (MFPL 6th floor) - the participation is mandatory, please inform us in advance in case you cannot attend.
Course: Jan 30 - Feb 10, 2017
ÜR/BZB, Dr.Bohrgasse 9, 1030 Wien
Further information will be available on moodle.


Information

Aims, contents and method of the course

We offer a practical university course, which provides training in mass spectrometry (MS)-based proteomics. In this laboratory course (limited to 12 students) we will introduce general concepts of MS based proteomics and discuss criteria that are required to prepare protein samples of sufficient quality and purity for MS analysis. You will perform sample preparation techniques (including affinity purification of proteins, reduction and alkylation of cysteines, digestion with trypsin), followed by RP-HPLC (reversed phase high-pressure liquid chromatography) MS measurement - the operation of the mass spectrometer will be demonstrated. You will also be introduced to MS data analysis using freeware MS data analysis tools such as MaxQuant, SeeMS and Perseus. We will furthermore aim to describe qualitative and quantitative differences between samples by applying various analysis techniques and label free quantification methods.

Assessment and permitted materials

Compulsory attendance; the evaluation consists of different performances: active participation and results obtained, written report, theoretical knowledge including final exam (the percentage of the subgrades will be announced by the course leader); each of the subgrades must have a positive evaluation.

Minimum requirements and assessment criteria

Examination topics

Reading list


Association in the course directory

MMB I-3, MMB I-4, MMB II-3, MMB II-4, MMB W-2, MGE III-1, MMEI III, MMI III-1

Last modified: Mo 07.09.2020 15:44

Universität Wien FIND

Bedingt durch die COVID-19-Pandemie können kurzfristige Änderungen bei Lehrveranstaltungen und Prüfungen (z.B. Absage von Vor-Ort-Lehre und Umstellung auf Online-Prüfungen) erforderlich sein. Melden Sie sich für Lehrveranstaltungen/Prüfungen über u:space an, informieren Sie sich über den aktuellen Stand auf u:find und auf der Lernplattform moodle. ACHTUNG: Lehrveranstaltungen, bei denen zumindest eine Einheit vor Ort stattfindet, werden in u:find momentan mit "vor Ort" gekennzeichnet.

Regelungen zum Lehrbetrieb vor Ort inkl. Eintrittstests finden Sie unter https://studieren.univie.ac.at/info.

Achtung! Das Lehrangebot ist noch nicht vollständig und wird bis Semesterbeginn laufend ergänzt.

300641 UE Massenspektrometrie basierte Proteomik (2016W)

Genetics and biochemistry

5.00 ECTS (4.00 SWS), SPL 30 - Biologie
Prüfungsimmanente Lehrveranstaltung

An/Abmeldung

Hinweis: Ihr Anmeldezeitpunkt innerhalb der Frist hat keine Auswirkungen auf die Platzvergabe (kein "first come, first serve").

Details

max. 12 Teilnehmer*innen
Sprache: Deutsch, Englisch

Lehrende

Termine

Preparatory meeting: November 21 4 pm s.t., 2016, SR3 (MFPL 6th floor) - the participation is mandatory, please inform us in advance in case you cannot attend.
Course: Jan 30 - Feb 10, 2017
ÜR/BZB, Dr.Bohrgasse 9, 1030 Wien
Further information will be available on moodle.


Information

Ziele, Inhalte und Methode der Lehrveranstaltung

Wir bieten ein Studentenpraktikum (limitiert für 12 Teilnehmer) zum Thema Proteinanalyse mittels Massenspektrometrie (MS) an. In diesem Praktikum werden wir die Grundlagen der MS für Proteine vorstellen und die erforderlichen Kriterien diskutieren, um Protein-Proben von ausreichender Qualität und Reinheit für eine MS-Analyse vorzubereiten. Sie werden Techniken zur Sample Vorbereitung (wie Affinitätsreinigung, Reduktion und Alkylierung der Cysteine, Behandlung mit Trypsin) durchführen. Die von Ihnen vorbereiteten Proben werden mittels RP-HPLC (reversed phase high-pressure liquid chromatography) MS analysiert - die Bedienung des Massenspektrometers wird Ihnen dabei demonstriert werden. Sie werden weiters eine MS-Datenanalyse mit Freeware Datenanalyse-Tools wie MaxQuant, SeeMS und Perseus durchführen, wobei Unterschied zwischen den Proben qualitative und quantitativ (label-free) erfasst werden sollen.

Art der Leistungskontrolle und erlaubte Hilfsmittel

Verpflichtende Anwesenheit. Die Beurteilung basiert auf folgenden Teilleistungen: Aktive Teilnahme und Ergebnis der Versuche, schriftliches Protokoll, theoretisches Wissen und Abschlussprüfung (die prozentuelle Aufteilung der Teilleistungen wird vom Kursleiter bekanntgegeben). Jede der Teilleistungen muss positiv sein.

Mindestanforderungen und Beurteilungsmaßstab

Prüfungsstoff

Literatur


Zuordnung im Vorlesungsverzeichnis

MMB I-3, MMB I-4, MMB II-3, MMB II-4, MMB W-2, MGE III-1, MMEI III, MMI III-1

Letzte Änderung: Mo 07.09.2020 15:44