Universität Wien FIND

Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, changes to courses and exams may be necessary at short notice. Inform yourself about the current status on u:find and check your e-mails regularly.

Please read the information on https://studieren.univie.ac.at/en/info.

Warning! The directory is not yet complete and will be amended until the beginning of the term.

480131 SE Historical Sociolinguistics and West Slavic Languages (2019S)

Seminar on Linguistics

6.00 ECTS (2.00 SWS), SPL 48 - Slawistik
Continuous assessment of course work

Registration/Deregistration

Note: The time of your registration within the registration period has no effect on the allocation of places (no first come, first served).

Details

max. 25 participants
Language: German

Lecturers

Classes (iCal) - next class is marked with N

The working language according to the curriculum is German.

Tuesday 05.03. 08:00 - 09:30 Seminarraum 8 Slawistik UniCampus Hof 3 2R-Z1-35
Tuesday 19.03. 08:00 - 09:30 Seminarraum 8 Slawistik UniCampus Hof 3 2R-Z1-35
Tuesday 26.03. 08:00 - 09:30 Seminarraum 8 Slawistik UniCampus Hof 3 2R-Z1-35
Tuesday 02.04. 08:00 - 09:30 Seminarraum 8 Slawistik UniCampus Hof 3 2R-Z1-35
Tuesday 09.04. 08:00 - 09:30 Seminarraum 8 Slawistik UniCampus Hof 3 2R-Z1-35
Tuesday 30.04. 08:00 - 09:30 Seminarraum 8 Slawistik UniCampus Hof 3 2R-Z1-35
Tuesday 07.05. 08:00 - 09:30 Seminarraum 8 Slawistik UniCampus Hof 3 2R-Z1-35
Tuesday 14.05. 08:00 - 09:30 Seminarraum 8 Slawistik UniCampus Hof 3 2R-Z1-35
Tuesday 21.05. 08:00 - 09:30 Seminarraum 8 Slawistik UniCampus Hof 3 2R-Z1-35
Tuesday 28.05. 08:00 - 09:30 Seminarraum 8 Slawistik UniCampus Hof 3 2R-Z1-35
Tuesday 04.06. 08:00 - 09:30 Seminarraum 8 Slawistik UniCampus Hof 3 2R-Z1-35
Tuesday 18.06. 08:00 - 09:30 Seminarraum 8 Slawistik UniCampus Hof 3 2R-Z1-35
Tuesday 25.06. 08:00 - 09:30 Seminarraum 8 Slawistik UniCampus Hof 3 2R-Z1-35

Information

Aims, contents and method of the course

In this seminar, linguistic issues in the West Slavic languages will be analyzed with the repertoire of methods from historical sociolinguistics. Among other things, language contact phenomena between the individual West Slavic languages or with West Slavic languages can be worked out, including German and Hungarian.
Seminars have the character of conversation courses with continuous assessment. In addition, they enable a thorough discussion of exemplary topics and individual scientific work. The aim is to deepen the previously acquired knowledge of Slavic linguistics, including questions of the current scientific discourse, as well as the professional presentation of research results, both verbally and in writing.

Assessment and permitted materials

In courses with continuous assessment students have to complete several oral and/or written requirements.This involves active personal contributions (discussion, content-relevant participation, compulsory attendance, homework), the professional presentation of a scientific topic (in about 30 minutes) as well as the composition of an individual seminar paper (approx. 25 pages whereby 1 standard page = 1800 characters including spaces). In order to ensure good scientific practice, the course lecturer can provide for an oral reflection of the seminar paper submitted, which is relevant for the final assessment. The paper itself must be completed by June 30th, 2019, but must be handed in by September 30th, 2019 at the latest.

Minimum requirements and assessment criteria

For passing the class, students are required to contribute actively to the course (discussion, content-relevant participation, homework, compulsory attendance), to present a paper (in about 30 minutes; in the case of her or his being prevented, the student must submit the presentation in written form and introduce it in one of the following classes) and to write a seminar paper (approx. 25 pages whereby 1 standard page = 1800 characters including spaces). For the seminar paper (incl. oral reflection, if necessary) 50 points are awarded, for the presentation 30 points. In addition, 20 points are awarded for the individual active contribution to the course. For passing the class, at least more than half of the total amount of possible points must be achieved. The other half can be divided into four quarters, from each of which the final grade is calculated.

Examination topics

The exam content consists of the linguistic issues analyzed or presented by means of a repertoire of methods from historical sociolinguistics and, if applicable, of the covered linguistic phenomena in the individual West Slavic languages with the inclusion of German and Hungarian.

Reading list

For the course, appropriate documents are made available electronically via the Moodle platform. Literature for the preparation of the individual presentations and the composition of the papers is to be consulted on a topic-specific basis. Useful hints can be found in the provided documents or in the publications that will be mentioned in the respective course units.
Basic literature:
• The Handbook of Historical Sociolinguistics. Edited by J. M. Hernández-Campoy & J. C. Conde-Silvestre. Wiley Blackwell, Hoboken, New Jersey 2012. 704 pp. ISBN 978-1-405-19068-8
Useful resource site: Historical Sociolinguistics Network – https://hison.sbg.ac.at/ .

Association in the course directory

M.3.2.T, M.5.1.T, M.3.2.Q, M.5.1.Q, M.3.2.P, M.5.1.P, MT 212, MQ 212, MP 212

Last modified: Mo 07.09.2020 15:47

Universität Wien FIND

Jetzt impfen lassen für ein sicheres Miteinander im Herbst!

Um allen Angehörigen der Universität Wien einen guten und sicheren Semesterbeginn zu ermöglichen, gibt es von Samstag, 18. September, bis Montag, 20. September die Möglichkeit einer COVID-19-Impfung ohne Terminvereinbarung am Campus der Universität Wien. Details unter https://www.univie.ac.at/ueber-uns/weitere-informationen/coronavirus/.

Achtung! Das Lehrangebot ist noch nicht vollständig und wird bis Semesterbeginn laufend ergänzt.

480131 SE Historische Soziolinguistik am Beispiel von westslawischen Sprachen (2019S)

Sprachwissenschaftliches Seminar:

6.00 ECTS (2.00 SWS), SPL 48 - Slawistik
Prüfungsimmanente Lehrveranstaltung

An/Abmeldung

Hinweis: Ihr Anmeldezeitpunkt innerhalb der Frist hat keine Auswirkungen auf die Platzvergabe (kein "first come, first served").

Details

max. 25 Teilnehmer*innen
Sprache: Deutsch

Lehrende

Termine (iCal) - nächster Termin ist mit N markiert

Die Arbeitssprache laut Curriculum ist Deutsch.

Dienstag 05.03. 08:00 - 09:30 Seminarraum 8 Slawistik UniCampus Hof 3 2R-Z1-35
Dienstag 19.03. 08:00 - 09:30 Seminarraum 8 Slawistik UniCampus Hof 3 2R-Z1-35
Dienstag 26.03. 08:00 - 09:30 Seminarraum 8 Slawistik UniCampus Hof 3 2R-Z1-35
Dienstag 02.04. 08:00 - 09:30 Seminarraum 8 Slawistik UniCampus Hof 3 2R-Z1-35
Dienstag 09.04. 08:00 - 09:30 Seminarraum 8 Slawistik UniCampus Hof 3 2R-Z1-35
Dienstag 30.04. 08:00 - 09:30 Seminarraum 8 Slawistik UniCampus Hof 3 2R-Z1-35
Dienstag 07.05. 08:00 - 09:30 Seminarraum 8 Slawistik UniCampus Hof 3 2R-Z1-35
Dienstag 14.05. 08:00 - 09:30 Seminarraum 8 Slawistik UniCampus Hof 3 2R-Z1-35
Dienstag 21.05. 08:00 - 09:30 Seminarraum 8 Slawistik UniCampus Hof 3 2R-Z1-35
Dienstag 28.05. 08:00 - 09:30 Seminarraum 8 Slawistik UniCampus Hof 3 2R-Z1-35
Dienstag 04.06. 08:00 - 09:30 Seminarraum 8 Slawistik UniCampus Hof 3 2R-Z1-35
Dienstag 18.06. 08:00 - 09:30 Seminarraum 8 Slawistik UniCampus Hof 3 2R-Z1-35
Dienstag 25.06. 08:00 - 09:30 Seminarraum 8 Slawistik UniCampus Hof 3 2R-Z1-35

Information

Ziele, Inhalte und Methode der Lehrveranstaltung

Im Rahmen dieses Seminars sind linguistische Fragestellungen in den westslawischen Sprachen mit dem Methodenrepertoire der historischen Soziolinguistik zu analysieren. Dabei können unter anderem auch Sprachkontakterscheinungen zwischen den einzelnen westslawischen Sprachen bzw. mit westslawischen Sprachen unter Einbeziehung des Deutschen und Ungarischen erarbeitet werden.
Seminare haben den Charakter von Konversatorien. Sie dienen darüber hinaus der gründlichen Auseinandersetzung mit exemplarischen Themenbereichen und selbständigem wissenschaftlichen Arbeiten. Ziel ist die Vertiefung der bisher erworbenen Kenntnisse aus slawistischer Sprachwissenschaft unter Einbeziehung von Fragestellungen des aktuellen wissenschaftlichen Diskurses sowie um die professionelle Präsentation von Forschungsergebnissen, und zwar mündlich und schriftlich.

Art der Leistungskontrolle und erlaubte Hilfsmittel

In prüfungsimmanenten Lehrveranstaltungen müssen die Studierenden mehrere mündliche und/oder schriftliche Teilleistungen erbringen. Dabei geht es um den aktiven Eigenbeitrag (Diskussion, Mitarbeit, Anwesenheitspflicht, Hausübung), die professionelle Präsentation eines wissenschaftlichen Themas (in rund 30 Minuten) sowie die Erstellung einer eigenständigen Seminararbeit (ca. 25 Seiten bei 1 Normseite = 1800 Zeichen inkl. Leerzeichen). Zur Sicherung der guten wissenschaftlichen Praxis kann der Leiter der Lehrveranstaltung eine mündliche Reflexion der abgegebenen Seminararbeit vorsehen, die notenrelevant ist. Die Arbeit selbst ist bis 30. 6. 2019 zu erstellen, spätestens jedoch bis 30. 9. 2019 abzugeben.

Mindestanforderungen und Beurteilungsmaßstab

Als Mindestanforderung für die positive Beurteilung sind von den Studierenden über den aktiven Eigenbeitrag (Diskussion, Mitarbeit, Hausaufgaben, Anwesenheitspflicht) hinaus ein Thema zu präsentieren (Referat von rund 30 Minuten; im Verhinderungsfall, ist das Referat schriftlich abzugeben und in einer der Folgestunden zu präsentieren) sowie eine Seminararbeit (ca. 25 Seiten bei 1 Normseite = 1800 Zeichen inkl. Leerzeichen) zu erstellen. Für die Seminararbeit (inkl. allfälliger Reflexion) werden 50 Punkte, für das Referat 30 Punkte vergeben. Der aktive Eigenbeitrag fließt darüber hinaus mit 20 Punkten in die Beurteilung ein. Für die positive Absolvierung ist zumindest mehr als die Hälfe der Gesamtsumme an möglichen Punkten zu erreichen. Die andere Hälfte kann in vier Viertel geteilt werden, aus denen sich jeweils nach der Punkteanzahl die Gesamtnote ergibt.

Prüfungsstoff

Den Prüfungsstoff bilden die mit dem Methodenrepertoire der historischen Soziolinguistik analysierten bzw. präsentierten linguistischen Fragestellungen sowie ggf. die behandelten sprachlichen Erscheinungen in den einzelnen westslawischen Sprachen unter Einbeziehung des Deutschen und Ungarischen.

Literatur

Zur Lehrveranstaltung werden elektronisch über die Plattform Moodle entsprechende Unterlagen zur Verfügung gestellt. Literatur zur Vorbereitung der Präsentation und zum Abfassen der Arbeit ist themenspezifisch heranzuziehen. Nützliche Hinweise dazu enthalten die zur Verfügung gestellten Unterlagen bzw. die in den jeweiligen LV-Einheiten genannten Publikationen.
Allgemeine Literatur:
• The Handbook of Historical Sociolinguistics. Edited by J. M. Hernández-Campoy & J. C. Conde-Silvestre. Wiley Blackwell, Hoboken, New Jersey 2012. 704 p. ISBN 978-1-405-19068-8
Weitere nützliche Hinweise und Mailingliste zum Thema im Historical Sociolinguistics Network: https://hison.sbg.ac.at/ .

Zuordnung im Vorlesungsverzeichnis

M.3.2.T, M.5.1.T, M.3.2.Q, M.5.1.Q, M.3.2.P, M.5.1.P, MT 212, MQ 212, MP 212

Letzte Änderung: Mo 07.09.2020 15:47