Universität Wien FIND

Univ.-Prof. Dipl.-Pol. Univ. Dr. Michaela Pfadenhauer

Business Card: vCard
Publications: u:cris
Office Hours: nach Vereinbarung per email

LILI - Life-worlds meet Life Science in Public Health and Social Measures – Seed Funding

Science has taken on a prominent role in tackling the challenges posed by the covid-19 pandemic. Analogous to other global challenges, e.g. climate change, the measures have been facing skepticism by considerable fractions of society which has produced a high potential for societal conflict. Assuming that the protests are rooted in science skepticism and distrust towards the public communication of science, the project focuses on the lifeworlds of people rejecting the covid-19 vaccination to explain patterns of interpretation of scientific knowledge and public health and social measures (PHSM).

The expert knowledge informing political strategies to combat challenges like the pandemic or climate change requires multiple circles of interpretation and translation to reach the population. Taking mathematic modelling as case study, the project conceptualizes these translations as a multi-step process involving scientists, politics, the media, public health; and citizens interpreting their communication according to the structures of their lifeworld(s). The project, thus, aims to understand and reconstruct patterns of interpretation of science/institutions scepticism. Furthermore, the study aims to explore sceptics’ perspectives on scientific results and PHSM in solution-oriented focus groups regarding the transformation of scepticism to compliance.

The project is based on interpretative methods and funded by a start-up grant from the University of Vienna as well as the Vienna University of Economics and Business. In addition to the development of a full proposal, initial field work is carried out, results are elaborated and prepared for publication.

Project Team University of Vienna:
Michaela Pfadenhauer | Arthur Buckenleib

Partners:
Vienna University of Economics and Business | Institute of Mathematics, University of Vienna | LMU Munich

Assignments

Affiliations

Teaching (iCal)

Teaching prior to 2021W...

Last modified: Tu 05.07.2022 11:47

Universität Wien FIND

Univ.-Prof. Dipl.-Pol. Univ. Dr. Michaela Pfadenhauer

Visitenkarte: vCard
Veröffentlichungen: u:cris
Sprechstunde: nach Vereinbarung per email

AKTUELLES PROJEKT

Impfskepsis // Wissenschaftsskepsis – Anschubfinanzierung

Die covid-19 Pandemie stellt eine Krise dar, in deren Bekämpfung die Wissenschaft eine unerwartet prominente Rolle spielt. Dabei lässt sich, ähnlich zum Klimawandel, ein hohes Konfliktpotenzial durch die Bildung skeptischer Gruppen beobachten. Annehmend, dass die Kritik bzw. Ablehnung der Maßnahmen gegen die Pandemie in Verbindung mit Wissenschaftsskeptizismus bzw. fehlendem Vertrauen in Wissenschaftskommunikation steht, macht das Projekt Lebenswelt(en) von Menschen, die der covid-19 Impfung skeptisch gegenüberstehen, zum Gegenstand. Hiervon ausgehend sollen Interpretationsmuster wissenschaftlicher Erkenntnisse und darauf basierender Public Health Maßnahmen (PHSM) rekonstruiert werden.

Das Expertenwissen, auf dem politische Strategien zur Bekämpfung globaler Krisen wie der Pandemie oder dem Klimawandel aufbauen, durchläuft bis zum Erreichen der Zielgruppe mehrere Übersetzungs- und Interpretationszirkel. Am Beispiel mathematischer Modellierungen konzeptionalisiert LILI diese als mehrstufigen Prozess zwischen Wissenschaftler:innen, Politiker:innen, Public Health Professionals, Medien sowie Bürger:innen, die deren Kommunikation in den Strukturen ihrer Lebenswelt(en) interpretieren. Ziel des Projekts ist die Rekonstruktion der Interpretationsmuster wissenschaftsskeptischer Lebenswelten. Zudem zielt das Projekt in zielorientierten Fokusgruppen auf eine Vermittlung zwischen Expert:innen und Skeptiker:innen.

Das Projekt arbeitet mit interpretativen Methoden der Sozialforschung und ist durch eine Anschubfinanzierung der Universität Wien sowie der Wirtschaftsuniversität Wien gefördert. Mit dieser wird erste Feldarbeit geleistet, deren Ergebnisse zur Publikation aufbereitet werden.

Projektteam:
Michaela Pfadenhauer | Arthur Buckenleib

Partner:
WU Wien | Mathematik, Uni Wien | LMU München

Funktionen

Zuordnungen

Lehre (iCal)

Lehre vor 2021W...

Letzte Änderung: Mi 29.06.2022 16:47