Universität Wien FIND

Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, changes to courses and exams may be necessary at short notice. Inform yourself about the current status on u:find and check your e-mails regularly.

Please read the information on https://studieren.univie.ac.at/en/info.

Master Urban Studies (Joint Curriculum) (664 [1] - Version 2008) - discontinued

The Joint Master Programme in Urban Studies at the University of Vienna aims at imparting knowledge, skills and competences from those fields of social, economic and cultural urban studies which the students will need in their further professional careers (urban planning, social planning, project management, policy advice, journalism, et al.), knowledge and skills that prepare for further PhD studies. The workload for this Master programme is 120 ECTS, corresponding to a course duration of 4 terms of study.

Admission to this programme requires completion of an appropriate bachelor programme at a university or high school, or of equivalent studies at another tertiary educational institution, from within Austria or beyond. University of Vienna bachelors in geography, sociology, social and cultural anthropology, and political science are to be considered. The language of instruction is English. Proof of adequate language skills has to be provided by approved language tests (e.g. TOEFL, TOEIC, IELTS, CPE, CAE).

The Joint Master Programme in Urban Studies is provided by the following 6 universities, in 4 European cities: Université Libre de Bruxelles (Institut de Sociologie / CRU - Centre de Recherche Urbaine and Institut de Géographie / IGEAT - Institut de Gestion de L'Environnement et d'Aménagement du Territoire); Vrije Universiteit Brussel (Departement Geografie / COSMOPOLIS - City, Culture & Society); Universität Wien (Institut für Geographie und Regionalforschung); Københavns Universitet (Institut for Kunst- og Kulturvidenskab / Institut for Geografi og Geologi); Universidad Autónoma de Madrid (Departamento de Geografía / Catedrático de Geografía Humana); Universidad Complutense de Madrid (Departamento de Sociología II). Within the framework of UNICA, these universities have signed memoranda of understanding committing themselves to organise the course.

Each university is responsible for specific modules. The universities in Brussels offer their modules each winter term, the university in Vienna in summer term, the university in Copenhagen in winter term, and both universities in Madrid at the beginning of summer term. It is obligatory to complete the modules in that sequence (winter term in Brussels, followed by summer term in Vienna, second winter term in Copenhagen, start of second summer term in Madrid). The curriculum is composed of modules, 16 modules in total, all of which are compulsory and have to be completed at the universities specified above.

Particulars about this course and detailed informations for applicants are available from Dr. Yvonne Franz (yvonne.franz@univie.ac.at) or via the inter-university homepage http://www.4cities.eu/ . ATTENTION: there are specific criteria of admission for this course, deviating from the general admission procedure at the University of Vienna. The programme can only be started in Brussels in winter term.

Last modified: Fr 25.06.2021 02:04