Universität Wien FIND

Get vaccinated to work and study safely together in autumn.

To enable a smooth and safe start into the semester for all members of the University of Vienna, you can get vaccinated without prior appointment on the Campus of the University of Vienna from Saturday, 18 September, until Monday, 20 September. More information: https://www.univie.ac.at/en/about-us/further-information/coronavirus/.

Warning! The directory is not yet complete and will be amended until the beginning of the term.

030325 KU Hate crime in Austrian and international contexts (2020S)

2.00 ECTS (1.00 SWS), SPL 3 - Rechtswissenschaften
Continuous assessment of course work

Registration/Deregistration

Note: The time of your registration within the registration period has no effect on the allocation of places (no first come, first served).

Details

max. 30 participants
Language: German, English

Lecturers

Classes (iCal) - next class is marked with N

Wednesday 11.03. 12:00 - 13:00 Seminarraum SEM61 Schottenbastei 10-16, Juridicum 6.OG (Kickoff Class)
Wednesday 06.05. 12:00 - 14:00 Seminarraum SEM62 Schottenbastei 10-16, Juridicum 6.OG
Wednesday 13.05. 12:00 - 14:00 Seminarraum SEM62 Schottenbastei 10-16, Juridicum 6.OG
Wednesday 20.05. 12:00 - 14:00 Seminarraum SEM62 Schottenbastei 10-16, Juridicum 6.OG
Wednesday 27.05. 12:00 - 14:00 Seminarraum SEM64 Schottenbastei 10-16, Juridicum 6.OG
Thursday 28.05. 12:00 - 14:00 Seminarraum SEM64 Schottenbastei 10-16, Juridicum 6.OG

Information

Aims, contents and method of the course

UPDATE: The lectures will be provided as power point presentations with audio files on Moodle. The assessment method for this course has been changed from oral to written contributions in the form of short written essays. Five online meetings will be held for discussion, exchange and questions. Detailed information has been provided to registered students on Moodle. Due to changes of the assessment method there is an extraordinary option to deregister from the course until 7 May 2020 via e-mail to isabel.haider@univie.ac.at.

This course is designed to provide you with an overview of the area of hate crime from a legal and criminological perspective. In doing so, we will examine not only Austrian law in this area but also standards and measures on the European and international level. In addition, we will discuss the systems of other countries in a comparative approach. In terms of the recording and prosecution of hate crime we will look at both the available official statistics and various reports regularly issued by NGOs in this field. Additionally, we will discuss selected international research on the topic such as a number of victimization surveys.

It is expected that all students complete the reading in advance of the respective seminar. While a narrow topic, proper preparation is needed to ensure that the time during seminars is used productively. All students are also encouraged to discuss and participate actively. A detailed program including reading lists will be provided in the kickoff class.

The language of the course depends on the composition of the group. If we have non-German speakers the course will be held in English exclusively . This will be discussed in the kickoff class.

Assessment and permitted materials

Assessment in this course is based on the students' contributions and discussions in the seminars.

Minimum requirements and assessment criteria

The minimum requirement for students to obtain a positive grade is their oral contribution in the discussions in at least two of the seminars. A good grade is not automatically and solely linked to the frequency of the contributions but primarily to their quality. Furthermore, please be aware that attendance in the seminars is mandatory. More than one unexcused absence will result in a negative grade.

UPDATE: The assessment method for this course has been changed from oral to written contributions in the form of short written essays. Detailed information has been provided to registered students on Moodle.

Examination topics

Reading list

Reading lists will be provided in the kickoff class.

Association in the course directory

Last modified: Mo 07.09.2020 15:19

Universität Wien FIND

Auf Grund der COVID-19 Pandemie kann es bei Lehrveranstaltungen und Prüfungen auch kurzfristig zu Änderungen kommen. Informieren Sie sich laufend in u:find und checken Sie regelmäßig Ihre E-Mails. Bei Lehrveranstaltungen und Prüfungen gilt Anmeldepflicht, vor Ort gelten FFP2-Pflicht und 2,5G.

Lesen Sie bitte die Informationen auf studieren.univie.ac.at/info.

030325 KU Hasskriminalität im österreichischen und internationalen Kontext (2020S)

2.00 ECTS (1.00 SWS), SPL 3 - Rechtswissenschaften
Prüfungsimmanente Lehrveranstaltung

An/Abmeldung

Hinweis: Ihr Anmeldezeitpunkt innerhalb der Frist hat keine Auswirkungen auf die Platzvergabe (kein "first come, first served").

Details

max. 30 Teilnehmer*innen
Sprache: Deutsch, Englisch

Lehrende

Termine (iCal) - nächster Termin ist mit N markiert

Mittwoch 11.03. 12:00 - 13:00 Seminarraum SEM61 Schottenbastei 10-16, Juridicum 6.OG (Vorbesprechung)
Mittwoch 06.05. 12:00 - 14:00 Seminarraum SEM62 Schottenbastei 10-16, Juridicum 6.OG
Mittwoch 13.05. 12:00 - 14:00 Seminarraum SEM62 Schottenbastei 10-16, Juridicum 6.OG
Mittwoch 20.05. 12:00 - 14:00 Seminarraum SEM62 Schottenbastei 10-16, Juridicum 6.OG
Mittwoch 27.05. 12:00 - 14:00 Seminarraum SEM64 Schottenbastei 10-16, Juridicum 6.OG
Donnerstag 28.05. 12:00 - 14:00 Seminarraum SEM64 Schottenbastei 10-16, Juridicum 6.OG

Information

Ziele, Inhalte und Methode der Lehrveranstaltung

UPDATE: Die Vorträge zu den einzelnen Modulen werden als Power Point Präsentationen mit Audiofiles auf Moodle bereitgestellt. Die Beurteilungsmethode dieses Kurses wurde von mündlicher Mitarbeit auf die Abgabe kurzer schriftlicher Essays umgestellt. Statt der Präsenzeinheiten werden fünf Onlinemeetings für Diskussion, Austausch und Verständnisfragen angeboten. Nähere Informationen wurden den registrierten Studierenden auf Moodle bereitgestellt. Aufgrund der Änderung des Beurteilungsmodus wird eine außerordentliche Abmeldemöglichkeit bis spätestens 7.5.2020 eingeräumt. Abmeldungen bitte per E-Mail an isabel.haider@univie.ac.at.

In diesem Kurs soll der Bereich der Hasskriminalität aus rechtlicher und kriminologischer Sicht erforscht werden. Neben der österreichischen Rechtslage werden auch die Vorgaben und Arbeiten auf europäischer und internationaler Ebene behandelt und Rechtsvergleiche mit anderen Ländern besprochen. Hinsichtlich der Erfassung und Verfolgung von Hasskriminalität werden wir einen Blick sowohl auf die verfügbaren Hellfeldstatistiken als auch diverse Berichte von NGOs in diesem Bereich werfen. Des Weiteren werden wir ausgewählte internationale Forschung im Bereich der Hasskriminalität besprechen, wie insbesondere verschiedene Viktimisierungserhebungen.

Es wird erwartet, dass sich die Teilnehmer durch Selbststudium der aufgegebenen Literatur auf die jeweiligen Einheiten vorbereiten und durch Diskussionsbeiträge aktiv an der Lehrveranstaltung teilnehmen. Das genaue Programm der Lehrveranstaltung samt Literaturliste wird in der Vorbesprechung bekannt gegeben.

Die Sprache, in welcher die Lehrveranstaltung abgehalten wird, hängt von der Zusammensetzung der Gruppe ab. Für den Fall, dass nicht deutschsprachige Studierende am Kurs teilnehmen, wird der Kurs ausschließlich auf Englisch gehalten. Die Literaturliste wird sich aus deutsch- und englischsprachigem Material zusammensetzen. Nähere Informationen dazu in der Vorbesprechung.

Art der Leistungskontrolle und erlaubte Hilfsmittel

Die Leistungskontrolle erfolgt auf Basis der mündlichen Diskussionsbeiträge in den Präsenzeinheiten.

Mindestanforderungen und Beurteilungsmaßstab

Mindestanforderung für die positive Beurteilung ist die Diskussionsteilnahme in mindestens zwei Einheiten. Für das Erreichen einer guten Note ist aber nicht automatisch die Häufigkeit, sondern vor allem auch die Qualität der Wortmeldungen ausschlaggebend. Es besteht im Übrigen Anwesenheitspflicht, einmaliges unentschuldigtes Fehlen ist gestattet. Mehr als ein unentschuldigtes Fernbleiben resultiert in einer negativen Note.

UPDATE: Die Beurteilungsmethode dieses Kurses wurde von mündlicher Mitarbeit auf die Abgabe kurzer schriftlicher Essays umgestellt. Nähere Informationen wurden den registrierten Studierenden auf Moodle bereitgestellt.

Prüfungsstoff

Literatur

Die Literaturliste wird in der Vorbesprechung bekannt gegeben.

Zuordnung im Vorlesungsverzeichnis

Letzte Änderung: Mo 07.09.2020 15:19