Universität Wien FIND

030393 SE SE Constitutional History (2021S)

for diploma and doctoral students

4.00 ECTS (2.00 SWS), SPL 3 - Rechtswissenschaften
Continuous assessment of course work
REMOTE

Registration/Deregistration

Note: The time of your registration within the registration period has no effect on the allocation of places (no first come, first served).

Details

max. 20 participants
Language: German

Lecturers

Classes (iCal) - next class is marked with N

Further date: Thu 10.06.2021

Thursday 18.03. 10:00 - 11:30 Digital (Kickoff Class)
Thursday 22.04. 10:00 - 12:00 Digital
Tuesday 18.05. 10:00 - 12:00 Digital

Information

Aims, contents and method of the course

Juridification through Supreme Courts
The containment of political power in constitutional history

Courts control political power, integrate legal constitutions into social reality and make basic and human rights effective. According to today's understanding, they are an eminent part of every constitutional order. How has judicial control of political power developed throughout history?

In this seminar, we will try to understand the conditions of this development from a comparative historical perspective. To this end, we will look at selected case studies from different countries. Besides legal practice, the history of ideas of the constitutional order and of the highest jurisdiction will be taken into account.

Assessment and permitted materials

You will be graded based upon a seminar paper (25–30 pages, 50,000 characters, including footnotes and spaces), your oral participation and presentation of a topic during the block seminar. During this session, the results of your own work should be presented and put up for discussion with a thesis paper (approx. 7 pages) and, if necessary, an excerpt from the source. The final version of your seminar paper must be submitted digitally on Moodle and in paper at the secretariat of the Institute for Legal and Constitutional History.

Minimum requirements and assessment criteria

ATTENTION: You also have to register via email. Besides your registration through u: space, we kindly ask you to send a short motivation letter in which you explain why you would like to participate in the seminar and what your expectations are. Please submit your motivation letter to stefan.auer@univie.ac.at until March 5th.

Examination topics

Reading list

Will be announced at the preliminary meeting.

Association in the course directory

Last modified: Tu 25.05.2021 12:27

Universität Wien FIND
Achtung! Das Lehrangebot ist noch nicht vollständig und wird bis Semesterbeginn laufend ergänzt.

030393 SE Seminar aus Verfassungsgeschichte - Verrechtlichung durch Höchstgerichte (2021S)

für Diplomand*innen und Dissertant*innen

4.00 ECTS (2.00 SWS), SPL 3 - Rechtswissenschaften
Prüfungsimmanente Lehrveranstaltung
DIGITAL

An/Abmeldung

Hinweis: Ihr Anmeldezeitpunkt innerhalb der Frist hat keine Auswirkungen auf die Platzvergabe (kein "first come, first served").

Details

max. 20 Teilnehmer*innen
Sprache: Deutsch

Lehrende

Termine (iCal) - nächster Termin ist mit N markiert

Weiterer Termin: Do 10.06.2021

Donnerstag 18.03. 10:00 - 11:30 Digital (Vorbesprechung)
Donnerstag 22.04. 10:00 - 12:00 Digital
Dienstag 18.05. 10:00 - 12:00 Digital

Information

Ziele, Inhalte und Methode der Lehrveranstaltung

Verrechtlichung durch Höchstgerichte
Die Einhegung politischer Macht in der Verfassungsgeschichte

Gerichte kontrollieren politische Macht, integrieren die rechtliche Verfassung in die gesellschaftliche Wirklichkeit und verleihen Grund- und Menschenrechten Wirksamkeit. Sie sind nach heutigem Verständnis eminenter Teil jedes Rechtsstaats. Wie hat sich diese richterliche Kontrolle politischer Macht im Verlauf der Geschichte entwickelt?

Das Seminar „Verrechtlichung durch Höchstgerichte“ möchte in historisch-vergleichender Perspektive verstehen, welche Faktoren hierbei gewirkt haben. Dazu sollen ausgewählte Entwicklungen in verschiedenen Staaten beobachtet werden. Berücksichtigt werden sowohl Rechtspraxis als auch die Ideengeschichte des Rechtsstaats und der Höchstgerichtsbarkeit.

Art der Leistungskontrolle und erlaubte Hilfsmittel

Die benotete Leistung besteht aus einer Seminararbeit (25–30 Seiten, 50 000 Zeichen nur Text, inklusive Fußnoten und Leerzeichen), der mündlichen Teilnahme und Präsentation eines Themas während des Blockseminars. In dieser Sitzung soll mit einem Thesenpapier (ca. 7 S.) und ggf. einem Quellenauszug das Ergebnis der eigenen Arbeit präsentiert und zur Diskussion gestellt werden. Abzugeben ist die endgültige Fassung Ihrer Seminararbeit digital auf der Lernplattform Moodle und in zweifacher Ausführung im Sekretariat des Inistituts für Rechts- und Verfassungsgeschichte.

Mindestanforderungen und Beurteilungsmaßstab

ACHTUNG: Die Anmeldung erfolgt zusätzlich per E-Mail. Wir bitten Sie gemeinsam mit Ihrer Anmeldung in u:space ein kurzes Motivationsschreiben zu übermitteln, in dem Sie ausführen, was Ihre inhaltlichen Beweggründe für die Teilnahme und Ihre Erwartungen an das Seminar sind. Bitte schreiben Sie bis 05. März an stefan.auer@univie.ac.at

Prüfungsstoff

Literatur

Wird in der Vorbesprechung bekanntgegeben.

Zuordnung im Vorlesungsverzeichnis

Letzte Änderung: Di 25.05.2021 12:27