Universität Wien FIND

Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, changes to courses and exams may be necessary at short notice (e.g. cancellation of on-site teaching and conversion to online exams). Register for courses/exams via u:space, find out about the current status on u:find and on the moodle learning platform.

Further information about on-site teaching and access tests can be found at https://studieren.univie.ac.at/en/info.

Warning! The directory is not yet complete and will be amended until the beginning of the term.

040264 SE Conversatorium for Master Candidates (2021W)

2.00 ECTS (1.00 SWS), SPL 4 - Wirtschaftswissenschaften
Continuous assessment of course work
REMOTE
Mo 11.10. 09:00-13:00 Digital

Registration/Deregistration

Note: The time of your registration within the registration period has no effect on the allocation of places (no first come, first served).

Details

max. 24 participants
Language: German

Lecturers

Classes (iCal) - next class is marked with N

Monday 29.11. 09:00 - 13:00 Digital
Monday 13.12. 09:00 - 13:00 Digital
Monday 24.01. 09:00 - 13:00 Digital

Information

Aims, contents and method of the course

In this course, scientific work is learned and practised.

Participants are supported in the preparation of their respective master’s theses. Literature search, formal requirements and efficient writing are subjects of the course.

Both the methods and the content of the students' own master's theses are presented to other students and the presentations of other students are commented on and discussed. One focus is on the implementation of skills learned from the study of business, economics and statistics in general and from the subject in which the conversatory is attended in particular. The lectures given by students enable them to receive feedback. There are also individual coordination sessions.

Assessment and permitted materials

Presentation slides (a set of slides of the presentation including a one- to two-page summary for the other participants must be submitted three working days before the presentation or earlier via Moodle, the presentation slides are subject to a plagiarism check)

Literature search

Oral presentation of the work

Active participation in the course

Minimum requirements and assessment criteria

We ask all students to obtain their written confirmation of supervision, i.e. the SSC form to be signed by the supervisor, before registration and to hand it in at the examination office. The confirmation of supervision must be brought with you to the first course unit. Students can only remain registered for the course, if they present this confirmation of supervision in the online session.

The presentation slides to be created should summarise the essentials of the previous work correctly and clearly in terms of content. They are the basis for the oral presentation of the work. A one- to two-page summary should be attached for the other participants (max. 30% of the scores that can be achieved).

The set of slides must contain, among other things, a comprehensive bibliography based on an in-depth literature search carried out in libraries, on the internet, also with various databases (e.g. ABI-Inform/Proquest, Wiso, SSCI, Google Scholar, etc.), at institutions, companies, etc. (max. 30% of the achievable points).

The oral presentation of the thesis should represent the current status at the time of the presentation in an easily understandable, appealing and sensibly structured manner (max. 20% of the achievable scores).

Permanent attendance is a prerequisite, but is not sufficient. Through active participation in the course in the form of questions, answers to questions and comments, the students should participate in the discussion (max. 20% of the achievable scores). A one-time excused absence from a block unit is possible; if you are absent for a longer period, the course cannot be completed successfully.

================================

Grading scale

Less than 50 % or 50 % of the achievable scores: "5" (fail)
More than 50 % and less than 62.5 % or 62.5 % of the achievable scores: "4" (sufficient)
More than 62.5 % and less that 75 % or 75 % of the achievable scores: "3" (satisfying)
More than 75 % and less than 87.5 % or 87.5 % of the achievable scores: "2" (good)
More than 87.5 % of the achievable scores: "1" (very good)

Examination topics

Specialist literature from the respective own comprehensive literature search for the master's thesis.

Reading list

Specialist literature from the respective own comprehensive literature search for the master's thesis.

Ebster, C., L. Stalzer (2013), Wissenschaftliches Arbeiten für Wirtschafts- und Sozialwissenschaftler, 4th ed., Vienna: Facultas.

Eco, U. (2010), Wie man eine wissenschaftliche Abschlußarbeit schreibt, 13th ed., Heidelberg: Müller.

Jele, H. (2003), Wissenschaftliches Arbeiten in Bibliotheken: Einführung für Studierende, 2nd ed., Munich, Vienna: Oldenbourg, 2003.

N.N. (2012), Richtlinien zum Verfassen wissenschaftlicher Arbeiten im Masterstudium, Vienna.

Association in the course directory

Last modified: Mo 06.09.2021 13:07

Universität Wien FIND
Achtung! Das Lehrangebot ist noch nicht vollständig und wird bis Semesterbeginn laufend ergänzt.

040264 SE Masterarbeitskonversatorium (2021W)

2.00 ECTS (1.00 SWS), SPL 4 - Wirtschaftswissenschaften
Prüfungsimmanente Lehrveranstaltung
DIGITAL

An/Abmeldung

Hinweis: Ihr Anmeldezeitpunkt innerhalb der Frist hat keine Auswirkungen auf die Platzvergabe (kein "first come, first served").

Details

max. 24 Teilnehmer*innen
Sprache: Deutsch

Lehrende

Termine (iCal) - nächster Termin ist mit N markiert

Montag 11.10. 09:00 - 13:00 Digital
Montag 29.11. 09:00 - 13:00 Digital
Montag 13.12. 09:00 - 13:00 Digital
Montag 24.01. 09:00 - 13:00 Digital

Information

Ziele, Inhalte und Methode der Lehrveranstaltung

Das Konversatorium ist eine Lehrveranstaltung, in der das wissenschaftliche Arbeiten erlernt und geübt wird.

Die Teilnehmerinnen und Teilnehmer werden beim Erstellen ihrer jeweiligen Masterarbeiten unterstützt. Literaturrecherche, Formvorschriften und effizientes Schreiben sind Gegenstände der LV.

Sowohl die Methoden als auch die Inhalte der jeweils eigenen Masterarbeiten der Studierenden werden vor anderen Studierenden vorgetragen und die Vorträge anderer Studierender kommentiert und diskutiert. Ein Schwerpunkt liegt auf dem Umsetzen von erlernten Fähigkeiten aus dem Studium im Allgemeinen und aus dem Fach, in dem das Konversatorium besucht wird, im Speziellen. Die Vorträge der Studierenden ermöglichen es ihnen, Feedback zu erhalten. Darüber hinaus gibt es Einzelkoordinationssitzungen.

Art der Leistungskontrolle und erlaubte Hilfsmittel

Präsentationsfolien (ein Foliensatz der Präsentation einschließlich einer ein- bis zweiseitigen Zusammenfassung für die Kolleginnen und Kollegen ist drei Werktage vor der Präsentation oder früher via Moodle abzugeben, die Präsentationsfolien unterliegen einer Plagiatsüberprüfung)
 
Literaturrecherche
 
Mündliche Präsentation der Arbeit
 
Aktive Mitarbeit im Masterarbeitskonversatorium

Mindestanforderungen und Beurteilungsmaßstab

Wir bitten alle Studierenden, ihre schriftliche Betreuungszusage, d.h. das von der betreuenden Person zu unterschreibende Formular des SSC, vor der Anmeldung einzuholen und am Prüfungsamt abzugeben. Die Betreuungsbestätigung ist in die erste Lehrveranstaltungseinheit mitzubringen. Studierende können nur dann für die Lehrveranstaltung angemeldet bleiben, wenn sie diese Betreuungsbestätigung in der Online-Sitzung vorlegen.

Die zu erstellenden Präsentationsfolien sollen das Wesentliche der bisherigen Arbeit inhaltlich richtig und übersichtlich zusammenfassen. Sie sind die Grundlage für die mündliche Präsentation der Arbeit. Es soll eine ein- bis zweiseitige Zusammenfassung für die Kolleginnen und Kollegen beigefügt werden (max. 30% der erzielbaren Punkte).

Der Foliensatz muss u.a. ein umfassendes Literaturverzeichnis enthalten, das auf einer eingehenden Literaturrecherche basiert, die in Bibliotheken, im Internet, auch mit verschiedenen Datenbanken (z.B. ABI-Inform/Proquest, Wiso, SSCI, Google Scholar etc.), bei Institutionen, Unternehmungen etc. stattfindet (max. 30% der erzielbaren Punkte).

Die mündliche Präsentation der Arbeit soll den aktuellen Stand zum Zeitpunkt des Vortrags in einer gut verständlichen, ansprechenden und sinnvoll aufgebauten Weise darstellen (max. 20% der erzielbaren Punkte).

Die ständige Anwesenheit wird vorausgesetzt, ist aber nicht ausreichend. Durch aktive Mitarbeit im Masterarbeitskonversatorium in Form von Fragen, Antworten auf Fragen und Kommentaren sollen sich die Studierenden an der Diskussion beteiligen (max. 20% der erzielbaren Punkte). Einmaliges entschuldigtes Fehlen bei einer Blockeinheit ist möglich, bei längerer Abwesenheit kann die Lehrveranstaltung nicht positiv absolviert werden.

================================

Notenschlüssel

Weniger als 50 % oder 50 % der erreichbaren Punkte: "5" (nicht genügend)
Mehr als 50 % und weniger als 62,5 % oder 62,5 % der erreichbaren Punkte: "4" (genügend)
Mehr als 62,5 % und weniger als 75 % oder 75 % der erreichbaren Punkte: "3" (befriedigend)
Mehr als 75 % und weniger als 87,5 % oder 87,5 % der errreichbaren Punkte: "2" (gut)
Mehr als 87,5 % der erreichbaren Punkte: "1" (sehr gut)

Prüfungsstoff

Fachliteratur aus der jeweiligen eigenen umfassenden Literaturrecherche zur Masterarbeit

Literatur

Fachliteratur aus der jeweiligen eigenen umfassenden Literaturrecherche zur Masterarbeit.

Ebster, C., L. Stalzer (2013), Wissenschaftliches Arbeiten für Wirtschafts- und Sozialwissenschaftler, 4. Aufl., Wien: Facultas.

Eco, U. (2010), Wie man eine wissenschaftliche Abschlußarbeit schreibt, 13. Aufl., Heidelberg: Müller.

Jele, H. (2003), Wissenschaftliches Arbeiten in Bibliotheken: Einführung für Studierende, 2. Aufl., München und Wien: Oldenbourg, 2003.

o.V. (2012), Richtlinien zum Verfassen wissenschaftlicher Arbeiten im Masterstudium, Wien.

Zuordnung im Vorlesungsverzeichnis

Letzte Änderung: Mo 06.09.2021 13:07