Universität Wien FIND

Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, changes to courses and exams may be necessary at short notice. Inform yourself about the current status on u:find and check your e-mails regularly. Registration is mandatory for courses and exams. Wearing a FFP2 face mask and a valid evidence of being tested, vaccinated or have recovered from an infection are mandatory on site.

Please read the information on studieren.univie.ac.at/en/info.

070069 GR Guided Reading (2017W)

Sources and Literature about Jewish Economics, Social Life, and Culture in the Middle Ages

4.00 ECTS (2.00 SWS), SPL 7 - Geschichte
Continuous assessment of course work

Registration/Deregistration

Note: The time of your registration within the registration period has no effect on the allocation of places (no first come, first served).

Details

max. 25 participants
Language: German

Lecturers

Classes (iCal) - next class is marked with N

Mondays
2.10. 15.00 –16.30; 16.45-18.15
16.10. 15.00 –16.30; 16.45-18.15
6.11. 15.00 –16.30; 16.45-18.15
27.11. 15.00 –16.30; 16.45-18.15
11.12. 15.00 –16.30; 16.45-18.15
8.1. 15.00 –16.30; 16.45-18.15
22.1. 15.00 –16.30; 16.45-18.15
29.1. 15. –16.30

Monday 02.10. 15:00 - 18:15 Seminarraum 5, Währinger Straße 29 1.UG
Monday 16.10. 15:00 - 18:15 Seminarraum 5, Währinger Straße 29 1.UG
Monday 06.11. 15:00 - 18:15 Seminarraum 5, Währinger Straße 29 1.UG
Monday 27.11. 15:00 - 18:15 Seminarraum 5, Währinger Straße 29 1.UG
Monday 11.12. 15:00 - 18:15 Seminarraum 5, Währinger Straße 29 1.UG
Monday 08.01. 15:00 - 18:15 Seminarraum 5, Währinger Straße 29 1.UG
Monday 22.01. 15:00 - 18:15 Seminarraum 5, Währinger Straße 29 1.UG
Monday 29.01. 15:00 - 16:30 Seminarraum 5, Währinger Straße 29 1.UG

Information

Aims, contents and method of the course

Content and Methods: Based on the jointly reading of different kinds of key sources (privileges, town charters, ground registers, business documents, chronicles, rabbinical texts) and selected scientific literature, the seminary gives insight in basis and different aspects of Jewish existence in the Middle Ages between settlement and expulsion. Within the scope of research on ,Aschkenas’ (German-speaking Jewish cultural space in Central Europe) the jointly analyse of the texts will show how historiography on Medieval Jewish History has changed, depending on the political and social context of its origin.
Objectives: Understanding the quality and content of different kinds of sources; identifying text structure, discourse, topoi and narratives, gaining an overall view of the main topics and methods in the given historical space; active participation on the discussions, practice in oral presentation, writing of short concentrated scientific papers in good scientific practice.

Assessment and permitted materials

This seminary is a course with continuous assessment of students' performance, personal attendance is compulsory (you may miss the class up to two times).The texts put on Moodle in advance have to be prepared.

Minimum requirements and assessment criteria

No previous knowledge is required.
Evaluation is based at a share of 25% each on the presentation and active discussion of the prepared texts (put on Moodle in advance), two short papers of 2 pages (Abstract, review) and a short presentation (10 minutes, handout) on a self-chosen text or subject.

Examination topics

continuous assessment of students' performance

Reading list

To be announced

Association in the course directory

BA: Mittelalter
Diplom UF: Österreichische Geschichte I

Last modified: Mo 07.09.2020 15:30

Universität Wien FIND

Bedingt durch die COVID-19-Pandemie können kurzfristige Änderungen bei Lehrveranstaltungen und Prüfungen (z.B. Absage von Vor-Ort-Lehre und Umstellung auf Online-Prüfungen) erforderlich sein. Melden Sie sich für Lehrveranstaltungen/Prüfungen über u:space an, informieren Sie sich über den aktuellen Stand auf u:find und auf der Lernplattform moodle.

Weitere Informationen zum Lehrbetrieb vor Ort finden Sie unter https://studieren.univie.ac.at/info.

070069 GR Guided Reading (2017W)

Quellen und Literatur zur jüdischen Wirtschafts-, Sozial- und Kulturgeschichte des Mittelalters

4.00 ECTS (2.00 SWS), SPL 7 - Geschichte
Prüfungsimmanente Lehrveranstaltung

An/Abmeldung

Details

max. 25 Teilnehmer*innen
Sprache: Deutsch

Lehrende

Termine (iCal) - nächster Termin ist mit N markiert

Montag 02.10. 15:00 - 18:15 Seminarraum 5, Währinger Straße 29 1.UG
Montag 16.10. 15:00 - 18:15 Seminarraum 5, Währinger Straße 29 1.UG
Montag 06.11. 15:00 - 18:15 Seminarraum 5, Währinger Straße 29 1.UG
Montag 27.11. 15:00 - 18:15 Seminarraum 5, Währinger Straße 29 1.UG
Montag 11.12. 15:00 - 18:15 Seminarraum 5, Währinger Straße 29 1.UG
Montag 08.01. 15:00 - 18:15 Seminarraum 5, Währinger Straße 29 1.UG
Montag 22.01. 15:00 - 18:15 Seminarraum 5, Währinger Straße 29 1.UG
Montag 29.01. 15:00 - 16:30 Seminarraum 5, Währinger Straße 29 1.UG

Information

Ziele, Inhalte und Methode der Lehrveranstaltung

Anhand der gemeinsamen Lektüre von typologisch unterschiedlichen Quellen – Privilegien, Grundbücher, Geschäftsurkunden, Chroniken, rabbinische Texte in Übersetzung – und ausgewählter Fachliteratur erschließt das Guided Reading Grundlagen und Aspekte jüdischer Existenz im Mittelalter. Im Rahmen der Forschungen zu ,Aschkenas‘, dem deutschsprachigen jüdischen Kulturraum in Mitteleuropa, zeigt die gemeinsame Analyse der Texte, wie sich die Aussagen der Geschichtsschreibung zum jüdischen Mittelalter im Kontext ihrer Entstehungszeit verändert haben.
Ziele sind das Erfassen der Merkmale und Inhalte unterschiedlicher Quellengattungen, Erkennen von Textstrukturen, Diskursen, Topoi und Narrativen in den Quellen und der Forschungsliteratur der jeweiligen historisch-politischen Epoche; Überblick über die wichtigsten Forschungsansätze und Methoden; Übung in Diskussionsbeteiligung und Präsentation; Verfassen von knappen konzentrierten Texten.

Art der Leistungskontrolle und erlaubte Hilfsmittel

Bei der LV besteht Anwesenheitspflicht, zwei Einheiten à 45 Minuten dürfen versäumt werden. Die auf Moodle zur Verfügung gestellten Texte sind vorzubereiten.

Mindestanforderungen und Beurteilungsmaßstab

Es sind keine Vorkenntnisse erforderlich. Die Beurteilung erfolgt zu jeweils 25% auf Grundlage der Vorbereitung der auf moodle verfügbaren Texte und der aktiven Beteiligung an der Diskussion, jeweils zwei zweiseitigen schriftlichen Arbeiten (Abstract, Rezension) sowie einem Kurzreferat von 10 Minuten mit Handout zu einem selbst gewählten Text oder Thema.

Prüfungsstoff

Prüfungsimmanente LV

Literatur

Wird bekanntgegeben

Zuordnung im Vorlesungsverzeichnis

BA: Mittelalter
Diplom UF: Österreichische Geschichte I

Letzte Änderung: Mo 07.09.2020 15:30