Universität Wien FIND

Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, changes to courses and exams may be necessary at short notice. Inform yourself about the current status on u:find and check your e-mails regularly. Registration is mandatory for courses and exams. Wearing a FFP2 face mask and a valid evidence of being tested, vaccinated or have recovered from an infection are mandatory on site.

Please read the information on studieren.univie.ac.at/en/info.

080086 SE Seminar: Symbolism in Central Europe (2021S)

Continuous assessment of course work

gem. mit Mag. Dieter Ulrich (Universität Luzern, CH)

Registration/Deregistration

Note: The time of your registration within the registration period has no effect on the allocation of places (no first come, first served).

Details

Language: German

Lecturers

Classes (iCal) - next class is marked with N

All units will be held digitally on the moodle platform!

2 March 2021 9:00–10:30: Introduction by Mag. Ulrich
9 March 2021 9:00–10:30: Continued introduction by Mag. Ulrich, Lecture by aProf. Dr. Pippal
16 March 2021 9:00–10:30: Presentation of the topics, technical requirements for video production
23 March 2021 9:00–10:30: Topic assignment
4 May 2021 9:00–10:30: Midterm meeting for questions and discussions, clarification for technical aspects
6 June 2021: Submission of the film presentation & handouts
12/13 and 26/27 June 2021 from 9:00 each day: Presentation of the film plus discussion/feedback
31 July 2021: Submission of the term paper

Tuesday 02.03. 09:00 - 10:30 Digital
Tuesday 09.03. 09:00 - 10:30 Digital
Tuesday 16.03. 09:00 - 10:30 Digital
Tuesday 23.03. 09:00 - 10:30 Digital
Tuesday 04.05. 09:00 - 10:30 Digital
Saturday 12.06. 09:00 - 14:00 Digital
Sunday 13.06. 09:00 - 14:00 Digital
Saturday 26.06. 09:00 - 14:00 Digital
Sunday 27.06. 09:00 - 14:00 Digital
Tuesday 29.06. 09:00 - 10:30 Digital

Information

Aims, contents and method of the course

The beginning of modernism in the visual arts is commonly associated with the stylistic changes that took place in the second half of the 19th century and at the beginning of the 20th century. However, the dawn of modernism also occurred at the same time on the level of content: within the framework of "symbolism". A manifesto had already been formulated in 1886. Around 1900, Symbolism was an internationally dominant movement in all artistic disciplines. Despite this, it disappeared almost completely from the horizon of perception after its decline during the First World War. This is not least due to art historical methodology. For those art historical traditions that focus on the formal aspects of art (including the Viennese School of Art History), Symbolism remained alien.
This obvious lack of perceptual criteria prevented a serious examination of the phenomenon of Symbolism on the part of scholars as well as its reception by subsequent generations of artists. It was precisely this amnesia of knowledge, which could be observed until the 1970s, that led to the fact that it was hardly comprehensible that painters such as Paul Gaugin, Max Klinger and Giovanni Segantini and sculptors such as Auguste Rodin, Medardo Rosso and Adolf von Hildebrand were united by far more and far more fundamental things than they were separated by.
He is nothing but an eye, but what an eye, as Cézanne said of Claude Monet's painting out of deepest admiration, would elicit at most a shake of the head as a compliment from any of the above-mentioned artists: "Retinal" aspects, a key term of Marcel Duchamp's, were for the first time to be of a secondary nature in their art and serve to intensify content.
While – from the Realists through the Impressionists to the Expressionists – it was above all the typical design features of the pictorial surface that held the respective group together internally and at the same time demarcated it from the outside, the Symbolists undermined the dividing lines between the different schools. Their far-reaching and multi-layered network did not follow any common ideologies. However, the way of looking at things, the common themes and the desire for a new, specifically individually coloured mode of representation characterised by their own, new symbols ("symbolisms") connected their various protagonists intellectually on the philosophical, psychological, ethical and even esoteric level.
It was therefore obvious that this relationship also formed the basis for overcoming barriers between the different disciplines and that this crossing of boundaries was almost felt to be a prerequisite: Thematic and (syn-)aesthetic connections between visual art, architecture, music and literature were readily assessed as far more significant and stimulating than connections within their own guild.
Together with its almost paradoxical tendency towards clarification through encryption, that "grey zone" that creates a link between the undecided and the precise, the movement therefore becomes an important expedition member into the realm of the newly discovered unconscious, the modern soul, and an indirect but usually unmistakable mouthpiece for social criticism of every stripe.
This search for the unmistakably individual as well as a communal-cultural, increasingly nationally experienced identity became a central theme of symbolism. Even if the corresponding questions were asked everywhere and across the board, the answers given in the various countries could not be more different.
Within individual cultural regions, there is an astonishingly consistent choice of themes as well as a way of expression that was decisively shaped by the specific cultural, historical, social and political conditions in each case.
Martina Pippal, Vienna & Dieter Ulrich, Zurich/Lucerne

Assessment and permitted materials

Active participation in the discussion, presentation of 30 minutes video documentary (audio presentation, photos, films, interviews, animations etc.), term paper (approx. 40,000 signs). By registering for this course, you agree that the automated plagiarism-checking software Turnitin will check all written partial performances submitted by you in moodle.

Minimum requirements and assessment criteria

Minimum requirement:
Frequent participation. In case of absence due to illness or extraordinary family business written proof must be provided.
For a successful completion of the course all partial requirements must be performed.
Term paper: To ensure good scientific practice the course leader can invite the student to a grade-relevant discussion after the term paper has been submitted which must be completed positively.

Assessment criteria:
- active participation in discussions 10 %
- video presentation 35 %
- consolidation in the form of a term paper 55 %

Examination topics

Reading list


Association in the course directory

Last modified: Tu 02.03.2021 11:28

Universität Wien FIND

Bedingt durch die COVID-19-Pandemie können kurzfristige Änderungen bei Lehrveranstaltungen und Prüfungen (z.B. Absage von Vor-Ort-Lehre und Umstellung auf Online-Prüfungen) erforderlich sein. Melden Sie sich für Lehrveranstaltungen/Prüfungen über u:space an, informieren Sie sich über den aktuellen Stand auf u:find und auf der Lernplattform moodle. ACHTUNG: Lehrveranstaltungen, bei denen zumindest eine Einheit vor Ort stattfindet, werden in u:find momentan mit "vor Ort" gekennzeichnet.

Regelungen zum Lehrbetrieb vor Ort inkl. Eintrittstests finden Sie unter https://studieren.univie.ac.at/info.

Achtung! Das Lehrangebot ist noch nicht vollständig und wird bis Semesterbeginn laufend ergänzt.

080086 SE Seminar: Symbolismus in Mitteleuropa (nst./zeu.K.) (2021S)

Prüfungsimmanente Lehrveranstaltung

gem. mit Mag. Dieter Ulrich (Universität Luzern, CH)

An/Abmeldung

Hinweis: Ihr Anmeldezeitpunkt innerhalb der Frist hat keine Auswirkungen auf die Platzvergabe (kein "first come, first serve").

Details

Sprache: Deutsch

Lehrende

Termine (iCal) - nächster Termin ist mit N markiert

Alle Einheiten werden (voraussichtlich) online auf der Moodle Plattform stattfinden!

2. März 2021 9:00–10:30: Einführungsvortrag Mag. Ulrich
9. März 2021 9:00–10:30: Fortsetzung Einführungsvortrag Mag. Ulrich
16. März 2021 9:00–10:30: Themenvorstellung, technische Anforderungen für Videoproduktion
23. März 2021 9:00–10:30: Themenvergabe
4. Mai 2021 9:00–10:30: Midterm Treffen für Fragen und Diskussionen, Abklärung technischer Aspekte
6. Juni 2021: Abgabe der Filmpräsentationen & Handouts
12./13. und 26./27. Juni 2021 jeweils ab 9:00 Uhr: Vorstellung der Filmpräsentationen plus Diskussion/Rückmeldungen
31. Juli 2021: Abgabe der schriftlichen Hausarbeit

Dienstag 02.03. 09:00 - 10:30 Digital
Dienstag 09.03. 09:00 - 10:30 Digital
Dienstag 16.03. 09:00 - 10:30 Digital
Dienstag 23.03. 09:00 - 10:30 Digital
Dienstag 04.05. 09:00 - 10:30 Digital
Samstag 12.06. 09:00 - 14:00 Digital
Sonntag 13.06. 09:00 - 14:00 Digital
Samstag 26.06. 09:00 - 14:00 Digital
Sonntag 27.06. 09:00 - 14:00 Digital
Dienstag 29.06. 09:00 - 10:30 Digital

Information

Ziele, Inhalte und Methode der Lehrveranstaltung

Landläufig wird der Beginn der Moderne in der bildenden Kunst an den stilistischen Umbrüchen festgemacht, die während der zweiten Hälfte des 19. und zu Beginn des 20. Jh. stattfanden. Der Aufbruch in die Moderne erfolgte zeitlich parallel dazu aber auch auf der inhaltlichen Ebene: im Rahmen des „Symbolismus“. Schon 1886 war ein Manifest formuliert worden. Um 1900 war der Symbolismus in allen Kunstsparten eine international dominante Strömung. Dessen ungeachtet verschwand er – nach seinem Verebben während des 1. Weltkriegs – aus dem Wahrnehmungshorizont nahezu gänzlich. Das hängt nicht zuletzt mit der kunsthistorischen Methodik zusammen. Denn jenen kunsthistorischen Traditionen, die auf die formalen Aspekte der Kunst fokussiert sind (wozu auch die Wiener Schule der Kunstgeschichte gehört[e]), blieb der Symbolismus fremd.
Dieser offensichtliche Mangel an Wahrnehmungskriterien verhinderte eine ernsthafte Auseinandersetzung mit dem Phänomen Symbolismus seitens der Wissenschaft sowie dessen Rezeption seitens der nachfolgenden Generationen von Künstlern. Eben diese bis in die 1970er Jahre feststellbare Erkenntnisamnesie führte dazu, dass es kaum noch nachvollziehbar war, dass Maler wie Paul Gaugin, Max Klinger u. Giovanni Segantini sowie Bildhauer wie Auguste Rodin, Medardo Rosso u. Adolf von Hildebrand weit mehr und weit Grundlegenderes verband als trennte.
Nichts als Auge, aber was für ein Auge zu sein, wie sich Cézanne aus tiefster Bewunderung über Claude Monets Malerei äußerte, würde als Kompliment jedem der oben genannten Künstler höchstens ein Kopfschütteln entlocken: „Retinale“ Aspekte, so ein Schlüsselbegriff Marcel Duchamps, sollten in deren Kunst erstmals sekundärer Natur sein und inhaltlicher Zuspitzung dienen.
Während es – von Realisten über die Impressionisten bis hin zu den Expressionisten – vor allem gestaltungstypische Merkmale der Bildoberfläche waren, welche die jeweilige Gruppe innerlich zusammenhielten und gleichzeitig gegen außen abgrenzten, unterliefen die Symbolisten die Trennlinien zwischen den unterschiedlichen Schulen. Ihr weitreichendes und vielschichtiges Geflecht folgte keinerlei gemeinsamen Ideologien. Die Art der Betrachtungsweise aber, die gemeinsamen Themen und das Verlangen nach einer neuen, spezifisch individuell gefärbten und von eigenen, neuen Symbolen („Symbolismen“) geprägte Darstellungsweise verband ihre verschiedenen Protagonisten gedanklich auf der philosophischen, psychologischen, ethischen und sogar esoterischen Ebene.
Von daher war es naheliegend, dass diese Beziehung auch die Grundlage dafür bildete, Barrieren zwischen den verschiedenen Disziplinen zu überwinden und diese Grenzüberschreitung geradezu als Voraussetzung empfunden wurde: Thematische und (syn-)ästhetische Verbindungen zwischen bildender Kunst, Architektur, Musik und Literatur wurden gerne als weitaus bedeutender und anregender eingeschätzt als Zusammenhänge innerhalb der eigenen Zunft.
Gemeinsam mit seinem geradezu paradox erscheinenden Hang zur Klärung durch Verschlüsselung, jener „Grauzone“, die eine Verbindung zwischen Unentschlossenem und Präzisem schafft, wird die Bewegung deshalb zu einem wichtigen Expeditionsmitglied ins Reich des neu zu entdeckenden Unbewussten, der modernen Seele, und zum indirekten, aber meist unmissverständlichen Sprachrohr von Gesellschaftskritik jedweder Couleur.
Diese Suche nach dem unverwechselbar Individuellen sowie einer gemeinschaftlich-kulturellen, vermehrt national erlebten Identität wurde zu einem zentralen Thema des Symbolismus. Auch wenn die entsprechenden Fragen überall und übergreifend gestellt wurden, die in den verschiedenen Ländern gegebenen Antworten könnten unterschiedlicher nicht sein.
Dabei zeigt sich innerhalb einzelner Kulturregionen eine erstaunlich konsistente Themenwahl sowie Ausdrucksweise, die von den jeweils spezifischen kulturellen, historischen, sozialen und politischen Voraussetzungen maßgeblich geprägt war.
Martina Pippal, Wien & Dieter Ulrich, Zürich/Luzern

Art der Leistungskontrolle und erlaubte Hilfsmittel

Aktive Beteiligung an Diskussionen, Präsentation als 30-minütige Video-Dokumentation (Vertonung einer Präsentation, Fotos, Filme, Interviews, Animationen etc.), Vertiefung in Form einer schriftlichen Hausarbeit ( Seminare: etwa 40.000 Zeichen Fließtext). Mit der Anmeldung zu dieser LV stimmen Sie zu, dass die automatisierte Plagiatsprüfungs-Software Turnitin alle von Ihnen in moodle eingereichten schriftlichen Teilleistungen prüft.

Mindestanforderungen und Beurteilungsmaßstab

Mindestanforderung:
Anwesenheitspflicht. Bei Absenz wegen Krankheit oder familiärer Ausnahmesituation ist ein schriftlicher Nachweis vorzulegen.
Für einen positiven Abschluss der Lehrveranstaltung müssen alle Teilleistungen erbracht werden.
Seminararbeit: Zur Sicherung der guten wissenschaftlichen Praxis kann die Lehrveranstaltungsleiterin Studierende zu einem notenrelevanten Gespräch nach Abgabe der Arbeit einladen, welches positiv zu absolvieren ist.

Beurteilungsmaßstab:
- Mitarbeit und aktive Beteiligung an Diskussionen 10%
- Präsentation in Form eines Videos 35 %
- Vertiefung in Form einer schriftlichen Hausarbeit 55%

Prüfungsstoff

Literatur


Zuordnung im Vorlesungsverzeichnis

Letzte Änderung: Di 02.03.2021 11:28