Universität Wien FIND

140121 VO VM1 / VM7 - Critique / Contradiction / Resistance (2017W)

SGU

Registration/Deregistration

Details

max. 999 participants
Language: German, English

Examination dates

Lecturers

Classes (iCal) - next class is marked with N

Tuesday 10.10. 18:30 - 20:00 Hörsaal A UniCampus Zugang Hof 2 2F-EG-32
Tuesday 17.10. 18:30 - 20:00 Hörsaal A UniCampus Zugang Hof 2 2F-EG-32
Tuesday 24.10. 18:30 - 20:00 Hörsaal A UniCampus Zugang Hof 2 2F-EG-32
Tuesday 31.10. 18:30 - 20:00 Hörsaal A UniCampus Zugang Hof 2 2F-EG-32
Tuesday 07.11. 18:30 - 20:00 Hörsaal A UniCampus Zugang Hof 2 2F-EG-32
Tuesday 14.11. 18:30 - 20:00 Hörsaal A UniCampus Zugang Hof 2 2F-EG-32
Tuesday 21.11. 18:30 - 20:00 Hörsaal A UniCampus Zugang Hof 2 2F-EG-32
Tuesday 28.11. 18:30 - 20:00 Hörsaal A UniCampus Zugang Hof 2 2F-EG-32
Tuesday 05.12. 18:30 - 20:00 Hörsaal A UniCampus Zugang Hof 2 2F-EG-32
Tuesday 12.12. 18:30 - 20:00 Hörsaal A UniCampus Zugang Hof 2 2F-EG-32
Inst. f. Afrikawissenschaften, Seminarraum 2 UniCampus Hof 5 2M-O1-06
Seminarraum Internationale Entwicklung Afrikawissenschaften UniCampus Hof 5 2Q-EG-05
Tuesday 09.01. 18:30 - 20:00 Hörsaal A UniCampus Zugang Hof 2 2F-EG-32
Tuesday 16.01. 18:30 - 20:00 Hörsaal A UniCampus Zugang Hof 2 2F-EG-32
Tuesday 23.01. 18:30 - 20:00 Hörsaal A UniCampus Zugang Hof 2 2F-EG-32
Tuesday 30.01. 18:30 - 20:00 Hörsaal A UniCampus Zugang Hof 2 2F-EG-32

Information

Aims, contents and method of the course

In this lecture series we will address the question of ´what is critique´ as well as issues regarding resistance and radical forms of subjectivity on a theoretical level, and link them, in a second step, to the level of practice and to lived forms of resistance. To that end, we want to provide a platform not only for speakers from the field of academia but also for activists and collectives alike.

Thus, we want to open up a space in which a critical engagement with resistance can take place and which allows us to reflect from different perspectives and approaches. Thereby, we also want to pursue the question of structure and agency in order to investigate which structures can be transformed through which actions and to identify spaces for resistance. Moreover, in this lecture series contradictions and differing perspectives (e.g. post-colonial, feminist, ideology critical perspectives) on resistant practices will be illuminated. With an additional focus on methods we also want to account for different possibilities for application, e.g. taking the form of a workshop or a performance.

Besides the theoretical reflection on terms such as critique, resistance and forms of subjectivity there will be discussions on emergent contradictions within our own daily practices, actions and thinking. There will be space to work on questions about identity, priviliges, normativity as well as violence which emerge in the course of dealing with the topics mentioned above. How can contradictions within societal structures offer possibilities for resistant practice? And how can spaces be imagined and transformed in order to allow reflecting upon contradictions which every individual faces so as to use these `rifts within the subject´ for emancipatory moments?

10.10. Criticise, analyse, contradict – a conceptual approach
lecture by Hans Pühretmayer (Vienna)

17.10. Feminist critique - Feminist resistance!
conversation with Fanny Müller-Uri (Vienna)

24.10. Postcolonial resistance – Resistant practices
lecture by Vlatka Frketic (Vienna)

31.10. Appropriation of space as a way of resistance?
panel with Project.Shelter (Frankfurt), Sylvi Kretschmar (Hamburg), HabiTAT (Linz)

7.11. (Inter)acting with, in or against the state
panel with Marion Löffler, Wolfram Schaffar, Elmar Flatschart (Vienna)

14.11. The neoliberally transformed university and struggles for knowledge
lecture by Alex Demirovic (Berlin)

21.11. Performance
by Stefanie-Lahya Aukongo (Berlin)

28.11. Everyday rebellion – creative forms of non-violent protest
film screening and talk with Arash Riahi (director)

05.12. Protest policing – in between protection and repression
lecture by Angelika Adensamer, Maria Sagmeister (Vienna)

12.12. Resistant workshops
t.b.a.

09.01. Affective labor – affective value?
lecture by Encarnación Gutiérrez-Rodríguez (Gieben)

16.01. Strategic essentialism – regarding the problem of collective identities in the left
lecture by Jens Kastner (Vienna)

23.01. Emancipatory education as resistance
panel with Netzwerk für Demokratie und Courage (D), Norina Müller (Wuppertal), Daniela Holzer (Graz)

30.01. Counter-expertise - Poulantzas‘ critique of the division of labor as contribution to a ‘new class politics‘
lecture by Alexander Gallas (Kassel)

(Most lectures will be held in German with the possibility of individual translation.)

Assessment and permitted materials

Essay

The assignment consists of a two-piece essay including 1) a debate on independently researched literature or literature provided in the context of the lecture series and 2) a reflexion on one or two teaching units. The two parts could be connected regarding the content, but they can also be handled as two separate sections. The essay ought to consist of minimum 5 pages. Nevertheless you are allowed to exceed this indication without a fixed upper limit. A length that exceeds 5 pages has no influence on the grading whatsoever, neither positively nor negatively. A starting-point for the assignment could be e.g. a concept or contradiction discussed in one of the lectures. This subject could then be depicted, discussed and/or criticised on the basis of additional literature, the content of the debates and lectures held in class, or reflexions on ones own thought and actions. Please note that in section 1 your argument must evolve in dialogue with your chosen literature. Please engage with the chosen subject (be it a theoretical framework, a term or a mode of action) in a critical and analytical manner. A well-grounded and self-contained reasoning is most important.

The essay does not necessarily have to meet established academic standards. Nevertheless when using literature, please qoute in a correct manner and add an exhaustive and correct bibliography to your essay. This facilitates the confirmability of your argument.

Furthermore please beware of a conscious, gender sensitive, self-aware and critical usage of language. If you have any questions or insecurities concerning this, please feel free to contact us. We do not imply a preexisting awareness of formal criteria concerning conscious usage of language.

It will be possible for you to hand in preliminary versions of your essay throughout the semester. You may use this offer to receive feedback and suggestions for your final paper. Also if you want to discuss any ideas or questions beforehand, please feel free to contact us for a preliminary talk.

You should hand in the final version of your paper via Moodle.

Minimum requirements and assessment criteria

Examination topics

Reading list

wird auf moodle zu finden sein!

Association in the course directory

VM1; VM7

Last modified: Th 05.09.2019 12:52

Universität Wien FIND

140121 VO VM1 / VM7 - Kritik / Widerspruch / Widerstand (2017W)

SGU

An/Abmeldung

Details

max. 999 Teilnehmer*innen
Sprache: Deutsch, Englisch

Prüfungstermine

Lehrende

Termine (iCal) - nächster Termin ist mit N markiert

Dienstag 10.10. 18:30 - 20:00 Hörsaal A UniCampus Zugang Hof 2 2F-EG-32
Dienstag 17.10. 18:30 - 20:00 Hörsaal A UniCampus Zugang Hof 2 2F-EG-32
Dienstag 24.10. 18:30 - 20:00 Hörsaal A UniCampus Zugang Hof 2 2F-EG-32
Dienstag 31.10. 18:30 - 20:00 Hörsaal A UniCampus Zugang Hof 2 2F-EG-32
Dienstag 07.11. 18:30 - 20:00 Hörsaal A UniCampus Zugang Hof 2 2F-EG-32
Dienstag 14.11. 18:30 - 20:00 Hörsaal A UniCampus Zugang Hof 2 2F-EG-32
Dienstag 21.11. 18:30 - 20:00 Hörsaal A UniCampus Zugang Hof 2 2F-EG-32
Dienstag 28.11. 18:30 - 20:00 Hörsaal A UniCampus Zugang Hof 2 2F-EG-32
Dienstag 05.12. 18:30 - 20:00 Hörsaal A UniCampus Zugang Hof 2 2F-EG-32
Dienstag 12.12. 18:30 - 20:00 Hörsaal A UniCampus Zugang Hof 2 2F-EG-32
Inst. f. Afrikawissenschaften, Seminarraum 2 UniCampus Hof 5 2M-O1-06
Seminarraum Internationale Entwicklung Afrikawissenschaften UniCampus Hof 5 2Q-EG-05
Dienstag 09.01. 18:30 - 20:00 Hörsaal A UniCampus Zugang Hof 2 2F-EG-32
Dienstag 16.01. 18:30 - 20:00 Hörsaal A UniCampus Zugang Hof 2 2F-EG-32
Dienstag 23.01. 18:30 - 20:00 Hörsaal A UniCampus Zugang Hof 2 2F-EG-32
Dienstag 30.01. 18:30 - 20:00 Hörsaal A UniCampus Zugang Hof 2 2F-EG-32

Information

Ziele, Inhalte und Methode der Lehrveranstaltung

In der Ringvorlesung setzen wir uns auf theoretischer Ebene mit der Frage, was Kritik sein muss, sowie mit Widerstand und radikalen Subjektformen auseinander und verbinden diese mit praktischen, gelebten Widerstandsformen, die wir kennenlernen und diskutieren werden. Hierzu werden nicht nur Menschen aus dem akademischen Feld sprechen, sondern auch Aktivist*innen und Kollektive.

Wir wollen einen Raum schaffen, in dem eine kritische Auseinandersetzung mit Widerstand stattfinden kann, der unterschiedliche Ansätze stark macht und Kritik, sowie Reflexionen zulässt. Dadurch soll auch der Frage nach Struktur und Handlung nachgegangen werden, um auszumachen, welche Strukturen durch welche Handlungen transformiert werden können und wo Räume für Widerstand auszumachen sind. Außerdem sollen Widersprüche und unterschiedliche Perspektiven (aus beispielsweise postkolonialer, feministischer und ideologiekritischer Sicht) auf widerständige Praxis sichtbar gemacht werden. Mit dem zusätzlichen Fokus auf Methoden werden Möglichkeiten der Umsetzung aufgezeigt - beispielsweise in Form eines Workshops oder einer Performance.

Neben der theoretischen Reflexion über Begriffe wie Kritik, Widerstand und Subjektformen wird im Rahmen der Ringvorlesung eine Auseinandersetzung über entstehende Widersprüche in den eigenen alltäglichen Praxen, unserem Handeln, und unserem eigenen Denken stattfinden. Bei der Beschäftigung mit diesen Themen soll auch auf Fragen nach Identität, Privilegien, Normativität und Gewalt eingegangen werden. Wie können Widersprüche in gesellschaftlichen Strukturen Möglichkeiten für widerständige Praxis bieten? Und wie können Räume aussehen und gestaltet werden, in denen das Individuum auch die eigenen Widersprüche reflektieren und ‘Risse im Subjekt‘ für emanzipatorische Momente nutzbar machen kann?

10.10. Kritisieren, analysieren, widersprechen – eine begriffliche Annäherung
Vortrag Hans Pühretmayer (Wien)

17.10. Feministische Kritik, feministischer Widerstand!
Fanny Müller-Uri (Wien)

24.10. Postkoloniale Widerstände – Widerständige Praxen
Vortrag Vlatka Frketic (Wien)

31.10. Raumaneignung als widerständige Praxis
Podium mit Project.Shelter (Frankfurt), Sylvi Kretschmar (Hamburg), HabiTAT (Linz)

7.11. Handlung mit, in oder gegen den Staat
Podium mit Marion Löffler, Wolfram Schaffar, Elmar Flatschart (Wien)

14.11. Die neoliberal umgebaute Universität und Kämpfe um Wissen
Vortrag Alex Demirovic (Berlin)

21.11. Performance
Stefanie-Lahya Aukongo (Berlin)

28.11. Everyday Rebellion – Creative forms of non-violent Protest
Film und Gespräch mit Arash Riahi (Regie)

05.12. Protest Policing – zwischen Schutz und Repression
Vortrag Angelika Adensamer, Maria Sagmeister (Wien)

12.12. Widerständige Workshops
T.B.A.

09.01. Affektive Arbeit – affektiver Wert?
Vortrag Encarnación Gutiérrez-Rodríguez (Gieben)

16.01. Strategischer Essentialismus – Zur Problematik kollektiver Identitäten in der Linken
Vortrag Jens Kastner (Wien)

23.01. Kritische Bildung als widerständige Praxis
Podium mit Netzwerk für Demokratie und Courage (D), Norina Müller (Wuppertal), Daniela Holzer (Graz)

30.01.Gegen-Expertise – Poulantzas‘ Kritik der Arbeitsteilung als Beitrag zu einer ‚neuen Klassenpolitik‘
Mit Alexander Gallas (Kassel)

Art der Leistungskontrolle und erlaubte Hilfsmittel

Essay

Die Prüfungsleistung setzt sich zusammen aus einem zweiteiligen Essay bestehend aus 1) einer Auseinandersetzung mit im Rahmen der Vorlesung zur Verfügung gestellter oder eigens recherchierter Literatur und 2) einer Reflexion über eine oder zwei Unterrichtseinheiten. Die Teilabschnitte können, müssen aber nicht zwingend inhaltlich miteinander verknüpft sein. Insgesamt soll der Essay mindestens 5 Seiten umfassen, es gibt jedoch keine maximale Seitenbeschränkung. Eine längere Arbeit wirkt sich weder positiv noch negativ auf die Benotung aus. Ein Startpunkt für die Ausarbeitung könnte beispielsweise ein in der Vorlesung debattierter Begriff oder ein Widerspruch sein, der dann anhand von Literatur, den Debatten und/oder Vorträgen der Vorlesung oder Reflexionen über das eigene Handeln und Denken dargestellt und debattiert oder kritisiert wird. Hier sei nochmals erwähnt, dass eure Argumentation im ersten Abschnitt des Essays im Dialog mit der ausgewählten Literatur entwickelt werden sollte. Setzt euch kritisch mit den in der Vorlesung angesprochenen Theorien, Begriffen und Praxen auseinander. Wichtig ist uns dabei eine gut begründete und eigenständige Argumentation.

Der Essay muss nicht zwangsläufig gängigen Standards des wissenschaftlichen Arbeitens entsprechen. Wenn Literatur zitiert wird, würden wir uns allerdings wünschen, dass ihr diese korrekt zitiert und Verweise auf Literatur/Quellen umfassend in einem an die Arbeit angehängten Quellenverzeichnis auflistet, um eure Argumentation nachvollziehbarer zu machen.

Zudem wünschen wir uns, dass im Kontext der Arbeiten auf einen geschlechtersensiblen und bewussten Umgang mit Sprache geachtet wird, dass also beispielsweise mit Unterstrich oder Stern gegendert wird. Bei Unsicherheiten und Fragen diesbezüglich könnt ihr uns gerne ansprechen. Es wird nicht verlangt, dass jede*r solche formalen Kriterien bereits kennt und beherrscht.

Eine Abgabe vorläufiger Versionen ist bereits während des Semesters möglich, falls Feedback und Anregungen gewünscht sind. Auch können Ideen und Fragen im Verlauf des Semesters gerne mit uns vorbesprochen werden.

Die Abgabe der fertigen Essays erfolgt ausschließlich über Moodle.

Mindestanforderungen und Beurteilungsmaßstab

Prüfungsstoff

Literatur

wird auf moodle zu finden sein!

Zuordnung im Vorlesungsverzeichnis

VM1; VM7

Letzte Änderung: Do 05.09.2019 12:52