Universität Wien FIND
Warning! The directory is not yet complete and will be amended until the beginning of the term.

160046 PS European Concert Halls (2016W)

History of Origin and Development, Acoustical Characteristics and Musical Impacts

Continuous assessment of course work

Details

max. 25 participants
Language: German

Lecturers

Classes (iCal) - next class is marked with N

Saturday 22.10. 09:30 - 18:00 Hörsaal 2 Musikwissenschaft UniCampus Hof 9, 3G-EG-01
Saturday 10.12. 09:30 - 18:00 Hörsaal 2 Musikwissenschaft UniCampus Hof 9, 3G-EG-01
Friday 13.01. 09:30 - 18:00 Hörsaal 2 Musikwissenschaft UniCampus Hof 9, 3G-EG-01
Saturday 14.01. 09:30 - 18:00 Hörsaal 2 Musikwissenschaft UniCampus Hof 9, 3G-EG-01

Information

Aims, contents and method of the course

In this course the phenomenon of the functional room type "concert hall" as the sympbol of the institution "concert" (as event) is to be examined in detail under the historical aspects of the origin out of the English "Musick Rooms" of the 17th century over the symbols of the bourgeoisie of the late 19th century, which still nowadays form the image of the concert hall in the public, until the newest representatives of this room type, which expose variable room acoustical properties dependent on the musical styles and genres to be performed.
By means of room acoustical measurements the room acoustical properties of the most famous European examples of this room type will be analyzed as well as their acoustical characteristics, among them the "Goldener Saal" of the Musikverein Vienna, Concertgebouw Amsterdam, Stadtcasino Basel, Tonhalle Zürich, Royal Albert Hall, Gewandhaus Leipzig and others.
Moreover, the multifaced interactions, the mutual influences and changes of concerts as public insitution, public music life and concert halls since ca. 1650 until today are to be analyzed, among these the development of the (symphonic) orchestra and the public concert per se.

Assessment and permitted materials

Minimum requirements and assessment criteria

Examination topics

Reading list


Association in the course directory

BA (2016): PRO, SYS-V
BA (2011): B05, B08, B12

Last modified: Fr 25.10.2019 00:16

Universität Wien FIND

160046 PS Europäische Konzertsäle (2016W)

Entstehungs- und Entwicklungsgeschichte, akustische Eigenarten und musikalische Auswirkungen

Prüfungsimmanente Lehrveranstaltung

Details

max. 25 Teilnehmer*innen
Sprache: Deutsch

Lehrende

Termine (iCal) - nächster Termin ist mit N markiert

Samstag 22.10. 09:30 - 18:00 HS. 2 d. Inst. f. Musikwissenschaft UniCampus Hof 9 3G-EG-01
Samstag 10.12. 09:30 - 18:00 HS. 2 d. Inst. f. Musikwissenschaft UniCampus Hof 9 3G-EG-01
Freitag 13.01. 09:30 - 18:00 HS. 2 d. Inst. f. Musikwissenschaft UniCampus Hof 9 3G-EG-01
Samstag 14.01. 09:30 - 18:00 HS. 2 d. Inst. f. Musikwissenschaft UniCampus Hof 9 3G-EG-01

Information

Ziele, Inhalte und Methode der Lehrveranstaltung

In dieser Veranstaltung soll das Phänomen des funktionalen Raumtyps "Konzertsaal" als dem Symbol des Konzertwesens eingehend betrachtet werden, unter historischen Gesichtspunkten von der Entwicklung aus englischen "Musick Rooms" des 17. Jahrhunderts über die Symbole des bürgerlichen Bildungsbürgertums des späten 19. Jahrhunderts, welche noch heute das Bild des Konzertsaals in der Öffentlichkeit prägen, bis hin zu den neuesten Vertretern dieses Raumtyps, welche in Abhängigkeit von den dargebotenen Musikstilen und Gattungen variable raumakustische Eigenschaften aufweisen.
Anhand von raumakustischen Messungen wird die Raumakustik der berühmtesten Europäischen Vertreter dieses Raumtyps analysiert samt ihrer akustischen Eigenarten, darunter Goldener Saal des Musikvereins Wien, Concertgebouw Amsterdam, Stadtcasino Basel, Tonhalle Zürich, Royal Albert Hall, Gewandhaus Leipzig und anderen.
Darüber hinaus sollen die vielgestaltigen Wechselbeziehungen, die gegenseitigen Einflüsse und Wandlungen von Konzertwesen, öffentlichem Musikleben und den Konzertsälen seit ca. 1650 bis heute analysiert werden, darunter die Entwicklung des (Symphonie-)Orchesters und des öffentlichen Konzerts an sich.

Art der Leistungskontrolle und erlaubte Hilfsmittel

Mindestanforderungen und Beurteilungsmaßstab

Prüfungsstoff

Literatur


Zuordnung im Vorlesungsverzeichnis

BA (2016): PRO, SYS-V
BA (2011): B05, B08, B12

Letzte Änderung: Fr 31.08.2018 08:52