Universität Wien FIND

Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, changes to courses and exams may be necessary at short notice (e.g. cancellation of on-site teaching and conversion to online exams). Register for courses/exams via u:space, find out about the current status on u:find and on the moodle learning platform. NOTE: Courses where at least one unit is on-site are currently marked "on-site" in u:find.

Further information about on-site teaching and access tests can be found at https://studieren.univie.ac.at/en/info.

Warning! The directory is not yet complete and will be amended until the beginning of the term.

180038 VO Contemporary Problems of Indian Philosophies (2021S)

Postcolonial Theories, Hindutva, Philosophy of the Spirit

5.00 ECTS (2.00 SWS), SPL 18 - Philosophie
REMOTE

Registration/Deregistration

Note: The time of your registration within the registration period has no effect on the allocation of places (no first come, first serve).

Details

Language: German

Examination dates

Lecturers

Classes (iCal) - next class is marked with N

Digital concept

Preliminary note: Due to the conversion of the course to e-learning, it is important that all participants register for the course in order to gain access to Moodle, as communication about the course takes place via the Moodle platform. In addition to the usual teaching materials, you will also find audio recordings of the courses on Moodle.

E-learning procedure due to the conversion of the course to "digital learning":

1.)The communication about the course will take place via Moodle until further notice.

2) We will tell you weekly via Moodle what you should read until the next course date.

3) The course leader Univ. Doz. Arno Böhler will give a lecture on Collaborate every Tuesday from 6:30 p.m. to 8:00 p.m. On Moodle you will find a "Collaborate" symbol next to the title "Aktuelle Problemfelder indischer Philosophie_Sitzung", which you can use to log in to the video conference. Up to 250 course participants can take part. We will record the video conference and make it available to you on Moodle. We will also upload an audio file of the recording to the philosophical audio library.
Here is a guide to Collaborate for students: https://wiki.univie.ac.at/pages/viewpage.action?pageId=101484831

4) The tutor Cristina Chitu will repeat some central points of the lecture content of the last session every week at the beginning of the Collaborate Session. You can also find these minutes in writing on Moodle.

Digital examination modalities

The exam will consist of a digital written exam that will be handled via Moodle according to the format “digital written exams with open questions using an exam sheet for download” according to the specifications of the CTL. The students can download the examination form (Word document) at the beginning of the examination period and have to upload the processed examination form as a PDF back to Moodle within 2 hours. In the exam, three essay questions, each with three sub-points, are asked, which the students should address in their answers. The exam takes place in the open book format. Direct quotations are to be shown.

In the event of technical problems: If you cannot download the Moodle exam form, please send an email to cristina-maria.chitu@univie.ac.at. You will then receive the examination form by email. If you cannot upload the edited exam questionnaire as a PDF to Moodle, please also send the PDF to the email address cristina-maria.chitu@univie.ac.at before the end of the exam

Graduation key: The digital written exam consists of 3 essay questions, each with 3 sub-points, which are to be incorporated into the respective essay (max. 36 points, max. 12 points per essay, max. 4 points per sub-point): 0-18 points = insufficient . 19-22 points = sufficient. 23-26 points = satisfactory. 27-31 points = good. 32-36 points = very good.

Dealing with quotations and literature: These are exams based on the open book format. If you should quote a passage from the literature or the literature on the slides directly in your essay, please either state the name, abbreviation of the book and book page (e.g. (Ronell, FT, p. 3)) or state the Foil side on (e.g. (Foil 17)). If you paraphrase or refer to what was discussed in the lecture, you can simply write “For Nietzsche” or “As discussed in the lecture”, in order to save time.

Tuesday 09.03. 18:30 - 20:00 Digital
Tuesday 16.03. 18:30 - 20:00 Digital
Tuesday 23.03. 18:30 - 20:00 Digital
Tuesday 13.04. 18:30 - 20:00 Digital
Tuesday 20.04. 18:30 - 20:00 Digital
Tuesday 27.04. 18:30 - 20:00 Digital
Tuesday 04.05. 18:30 - 20:00 Digital
Tuesday 11.05. 18:30 - 20:00 Digital
Tuesday 18.05. 18:30 - 20:00 Digital
Tuesday 01.06. 18:30 - 20:00 Digital
Tuesday 08.06. 18:30 - 20:00 Digital
Tuesday 15.06. 18:30 - 20:00 Digital
Tuesday 22.06. 18:30 - 20:00 Digital
Tuesday 29.06. 18:30 - 20:00 Digital

Information

Aims, contents and method of the course

The lecture deals with contemporary problems of Indian philosophy from three perspectives:
First, we will explore with Chakrabarty (2010) the question of how postcolonial India relates to (European) modernity? Is the call, which has become global, to modernise "pre-modern" societies (e.g. India) a colonial mythe of modernity, in which the universal historical construction of modernity is made to rule worldwide, or is it a history of emancipation to be embraced globally?
Secondly, we would like to explore these questions through a critical analysis of the Hindu nationalist movement in India (Hindutva), which bears both anti-modernist and modernist features and therefore confronts us with the question of which pre-modernity and which modernity is being affirmed here?
Thirdly, we would like to engage with the poet-philosopher Sri Aurobindo Ghose, in whom these motifs are philosophically and politically reflected and "spiritually" suspended in an integral yoga.
The central aim of this lecture is to give you an insight into the current discourse of mainstream spiritual-historical currents in India by introducing these three topics.

Assessment and permitted materials

Written examination. The first examination will take place end of June 2021. Further examination dates: first week of October, middle of December, end of Jannuary 2021 (exact dates will be announced during the the semester course)

Minimum requirements and assessment criteria

Written examinations will comprise of four main questions with sub-questions (max. 40 points)
0-20 points = insufficient, 21-25 points = sufficient, 26-30 points: satisfactory, 31-35 points = good, 36-40 points = very good.
At the written exam, one needs to reach > 50% of the points in order to pass the exam.

Examination topics

Only texts that will be explicitly discussed in the lecture during the course of the semester, will be relevant for the exam. These texts will be part of the power point slides which will be made accessible on Moodle by tutor Cristina Chitu.

Reading list

Sri Aurobindo (1997): Karmayogin: Political Writings and Speeches 1909-1910. Sri Aurobindo Ashram: Pondicherry.
Dipesh Chakrabarty (2000): Provincializing Europe. Postcolonial Thought and Historical Difference. Princeton University Press: Princeton.
Peter Heehs (2006): Sri Aurobindo and Hinduism. Sri Aurobindo Ashram Archives and Research Library: Pondicherry-
Vinayak Damodar Savarkar (1923): Essentials Of Hindutva, https://archive.org/details/hindutva-vinayak-damodar-savarkar-pdf/page/n13/mode/2up

Further literature is provided on Moodle

Association in the course directory

Last modified: Mo 10.05.2021 13:28

Universität Wien FIND

Kehren Sie für das Sommersemester 2022 nach Wien zurück. Wir planen Lehre überwiegend vor Ort, um den persönlichen Austausch zu fördern. Digitale und gemischte Lehrveranstaltungen haben wir für Sie in u:find gekennzeichnet.

Es kann COVID-19-bedingt kurzfristig zu Änderungen kommen (z.B. einzelne Termine digital). Informieren Sie sich laufend in u:find und checken Sie regelmäßig Ihre E-Mails.

Lesen Sie bitte die Informationen auf https://studieren.univie.ac.at/info.

180038 VO Aktuelle Problemfelder indischer Philosophie (2021S)

Postkoloniale Theorien, Hindutva, Philosophien des Geistes

5.00 ECTS (2.00 SWS), SPL 18 - Philosophie
DIGITAL

An/Abmeldung

Hinweis: Ihr Anmeldezeitpunkt innerhalb der Frist hat keine Auswirkungen auf die Platzvergabe (kein "first come, first served").

Details

Sprache: Deutsch

Prüfungstermine

Lehrende

Termine (iCal) - nächster Termin ist mit N markiert

Digitales Konzept

Vorbermerkung: Aufgrund der Umstellung des Studienbetrieb auf „digital-learning“ ist es wichtig, dass sich alle Teilnehmer*innen für die LV registrieren, um einen Zugang zu Moodle zu erhalten, da die die Kommunikation über den Ablauf der Lehrveranstaltung über die Plattform Moodle stattfinden wird. Neben den üblichen Lehrmaterialien werden sie auf Moodle auch die Audioaufzeichnungen der Lehrveranstaltungen finden.

E-learning Vorgehensweise aufgrund der Umstellung des Studienbetrieb auf „digital-learning“:

1) Die Kommunikation über den Ablauf der Lehrveranstaltung erfolgt bis auf Weiteres über Moodle.

2) Wir werden Ihnen wöchentlich über Moodle die Lektüre angeben, die Sie bis zum nächsten Lehrveranstaltungstermin lesen sollten.

3) Der Lehrveranstaltungsleiter Univ. Doz. Dr. Arno Böhler wird wöchentlich dienstags von 18:30-20:00 über Collaborate eine Vorlesung halten. Auf Moodle finden Sie ein „Collaborate“ Symbol, neben dem Titel „Aktuelle Problemfelder indischer Philosophie_Sitzung“, über das Sie sich zur Videokonferenz einloggen können. Bis zu 250 Lehrveranstaltungsteilnehmer*innen können an dieser teilnehmen. Wir werden die Videokonferenz aufzeichnen und Ihnen auf Moodle bereitstellen. Zudem werden wir eine Audiodatei der Aufzeichnung in der philosophischen Audiothek hochladen.
Hier eine Anleitung zu Collaborate für Studierende: https://wiki.univie.ac.at/pages/viewpage.action?pageId=101484831

4) Die Tutorin Cristina Chitu wird wöchentlich zu Beginn der Collaborate Session einige zentrale Punkte der Vorlesungsinhalte der jeweils letzten Sitzung wiederholen. Sie finden diese Protokolle dann auch schriftlich auf Moodle.

Digitale Prüfungsmodalitäten
Die Prüfung wird aus einer digitalen schriftlichen Prüfung bestehen, die nach dem Format „Digitale schriftliche Prüfungen mit offenen Fragen mittels eines Prüfungsbogens zum Download“ nach dem Vorgaben des CTL über Moodle abgewickelt wird. Die Studierenden können den Prüfungsbogen (Word Dokument) zu Beginn der Prüfungszeit downloaden und müssen den bearbeiteten Prüfungsbogen innerhalb von 2 Stunden als PDF wieder auf Moodle hochladen. In der Prüfung werden drei Essayfragen mit jeweils drei Unterpunkten gestellt, auf die die Studierenden in ihrer Beantwortung eingehen sollen. Die Prüfung findet nach dem Open-Book-Format statt. Direkte Zitate sind auszuweisen.

Bei technischen Problemen: Sollten Sie den Prüfungsbogen von Moodle nicht downloaden können, schicken Sie bitte eine E-Mail an cristina-maria.chitu@univie.ac.at. Sie erhalten dann den Prüfungsbogen per E-Mail. Sollten Sie den bearbeiteten Prüfungsbogen als PDF nicht auf Moodle hochladen können, schicken Sie bitte das PDF vor Prüfungsende ebenfalls an die Emailadresse: cristina-maria.chitu@univie.ac.at

Notenschlüssel: Die digitale schriftliche Prüfung besteht aus 3 Essayfragen mit jeweils 3 Unterpunkten, die in das jeweilige Essay einzuarbeiten sind (max. 36 Punkte, pro Essay max. 12 Punkte, pro Unterpunkt max. 4 Punkte): 0-18 Punkte = Nicht Genügend. 19-22 Punkte = Genügend. 23-26 Punkte= Befriedigend. 27-31 Punkte = Gut. 32-36 Punkte = Sehr gut.

Umgang mit Zitaten und Literatur: Es handelt sich um Prüfungen nach dem Open-Book-Format. Sollten Sie eine Passage, aus der Literatur oder der Literatur auf den Folien, direkt in ihrem Essay zitieren, geben Sie bitte entweder Namen, Abkürzung des Buches und Buchseite an (z.B.: (Ronell, FT, S. 3)) oder geben Sie die Folienseite an (z.B.: (Folie 17)). Wenn Sie paraphrasieren oder darauf verweisen, was in der Vorlesung besprochen wurde, können Sie aus Zeitgründen einfach „Für Nietzsche“ oder „Laut ...“ oder „Wie in der Vorlesung besprochen wurde“ schreiben.

Dienstag 09.03. 18:30 - 20:00 Digital
Dienstag 16.03. 18:30 - 20:00 Digital
Dienstag 23.03. 18:30 - 20:00 Digital
Dienstag 13.04. 18:30 - 20:00 Digital
Dienstag 20.04. 18:30 - 20:00 Digital
Dienstag 27.04. 18:30 - 20:00 Digital
Dienstag 04.05. 18:30 - 20:00 Digital
Dienstag 11.05. 18:30 - 20:00 Digital
Dienstag 18.05. 18:30 - 20:00 Digital
Dienstag 01.06. 18:30 - 20:00 Digital
Dienstag 08.06. 18:30 - 20:00 Digital
Dienstag 15.06. 18:30 - 20:00 Digital
Dienstag 22.06. 18:30 - 20:00 Digital
Dienstag 29.06. 18:30 - 20:00 Digital

Information

Ziele, Inhalte und Methode der Lehrveranstaltung

Die Vorlesung behandelt zeitgenössische Probleme indischer Philosophie von drei Perspektiven:
Erstens werden wir mit Chakrabarty (2010) der Frage nachgehen, wie sich das postkoloniale Indien zur (Europäischen) Moderne verhält? Handelt es sich bei der global gewordenen Aufforderung, "vormoderne" Gesellschaften (z. B. Indien) zu modernisieren, um eine koloniale Mythe der Moderne, in der die universelle Geschichtskonstruktion der Moderne weltweit zur Herrschaft gebracht wird, oder handelt es sich dabei um eine Emanzipationsgeschichte, die es global anzunehmen gilt?
Zweitens möchten wir diese Fragen anhand einer kritischen Analyse der hindu-nationalistischen Bewegung in Indien (Hindutva) untersuchen, die sowohl antimodernistische als auch modernistische Züge trägt und uns daher vor die Frage stellt, welche Vormoderne und welche Moderne hier bejaht wird?
Drittens möchten wir uns mit dem Dichterphilosophen Sri Aurobindo Ghose auseinandersetzen, in dem diese Motive philosophisch und politisch reflektiert und in einen integralen Yoga "spirituell" aufgehoben werden.
Das zentrale Ziel dieser Vorlesung ist es, Ihnen durch die Einführung in diese drei Themenbereiche einen Einblick in die aktuelle Diskurslage geistesgeschichtlicher Hauptströmungen in Indien zu geben.

Art der Leistungskontrolle und erlaubte Hilfsmittel

4 schriftliche Prüfungstermine: Ende Juni 2021, Anfang Oktober 2021, Mitte Dezember 2021, Ende Jänner 2022. (Das exakte Datum der vier Prüfungstermine wird im Laufe des Semesters bekannt gegeben).

Mindestanforderungen und Beurteilungsmaßstab

Bei den schriftlichen Prüfungen werden 4 Hauptfragen mit Unterfragen gestellt (max. 40 Punkte): 0-20 Punkte = Nicht Genügend. 21-25 Punkte = Genügend. 26-30 = Befriedigend. 31-35 = Gut. 36-40 Sehr gut.
Bei der schriftlichen Prüfung müssen > 50% der Punkte erreicht werden, um die Lehrveranstaltung positiv abzuschließen.

Prüfungsstoff

Prüfungsrelevant sind nur jene Texte, die im Laufe des Semesters vom Lehrveranstaltungsleiter ausdrücklich besprochen werden und daher Teil der Power-Point-Folien sind, die im Laufe des Semesters von der Tutorin Cristina Chitu auf Moodle für Sie bereit gestellt werden.

Literatur

Sri Aurobindo (1997): Karmayogin: Political Writings and Speeches 1909-1910. Sri Aurobindo Ashram: Pondicherry.
Dipesh Chakrabarty (2000): Provincializing Europe. Postcolonial Thought and Historical Difference. Princeton University Press: Princeton.
Peter Heehs (2006): Sri Aurobindo and Hinduism. Sri Aurobindo Ashram Archives and Research Library: Pondicherry-
Vinayak Damodar Savarkar (1923): Essentials Of Hindutva, https://archive.org/details/hindutva-vinayak-damodar-savarkar-pdf/page/n13/mode/2up

Weitere Literatur wird auf Moodle bereitgestellt

Zuordnung im Vorlesungsverzeichnis

Letzte Änderung: Mo 30.08.2021 08:08