Universität Wien FIND

Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, changes to courses and exams may be necessary at short notice (e.g. cancellation of on-site teaching and conversion to online exams). Register for courses/exams via u:space, find out about the current status on u:find and on the moodle learning platform. NOTE: Courses where at least one unit is on-site are currently marked "on-site" in u:find.

Further information about on-site teaching and access tests can be found at https://studieren.univie.ac.at/en/info.

Warning! The directory is not yet complete and will be amended until the beginning of the term.

180078 SE Orientation (2021S)

5.00 ECTS (2.00 SWS), SPL 18 - Philosophie
Continuous assessment of course work
REMOTE

Registration/Deregistration

Note: The time of your registration within the registration period has no effect on the allocation of places (no first come, first serve).

Details

max. 30 participants
Language: German

Lecturers

Classes (iCal) - next class is marked with N

The seminar will take place digital via moodle.
Remark: Due to the fact that this seminar will take place online in a "digital-learning-mode", it is important that all participants in the course are registered on Moodle, since all communication will take place via this digital plattform. The seminar meetings will be recorded and made available on the Moodle plattform of this seminar.

Tuesday 09.03. 11:30 - 13:00 Digital
Tuesday 16.03. 11:30 - 13:00 Digital
Tuesday 23.03. 11:30 - 13:00 Digital
Tuesday 13.04. 11:30 - 13:00 Digital
Tuesday 20.04. 11:30 - 13:00 Digital
Tuesday 27.04. 11:30 - 13:00 Digital
Tuesday 04.05. 11:30 - 13:00 Digital
Tuesday 11.05. 11:30 - 13:00 Digital
Tuesday 18.05. 11:30 - 13:00 Digital
Tuesday 01.06. 11:30 - 13:00 Digital
Tuesday 08.06. 11:30 - 13:00 Digital
Tuesday 15.06. 11:30 - 13:00 Digital
Tuesday 22.06. 11:30 - 13:00 Digital
Tuesday 29.06. 11:30 - 13:00 Digital

Information

Aims, contents and method of the course

In this seminar we will discuss post-Marxist readings of Spinoza by Gille Deleuze, Giorgio Agamben, Antonio Negri, Martin Saar, Katja Diefenbach, Jane Bennett and Étienne Ballibar. In so doing, we will aim to clarify the following problems: How does Spinoza connect materialism and philosophy of mind? Does Spinoza's materialism represent an alternative to idealistic conceptions? What does Spinoza understand by scientia intuitiva (third kind of cognition) and what new model of body/physicality can be conceived with Spinoza? Why and how was it Spinoza to inspire the "New Materialism"?
Method and digital concept: In the first course unit, you will be asked choose one of texts of our literature and orally present it in an agreed session of our online seminar. In order to enable your fellow students to study the main lines of your presentation in advance, you are asked to send an audio file of your presentation to the course instructor a few days before your oral presentation (via email or cloud), who will upload your audio presentation to Moodle and make it available for all participants to listen to. Your oral presentations will be discussed live in the online session and placed in a historical, intellectual-historical context by the course instructor.

Assessment and permitted materials

Oral Presentation (15 minutes) which has to be presented in an online meeting. A audio-recording of this presentation has to be send to the course instructor via email some days before the online presentation of the lecture. The audio-file is the second part of your achievements for the seminar. The third criterion for the evaluation is participation in the seminar.
The overall grade implies: oral presentation (25%), audio-file (25%), presence and active participation in the sessions of the online-seminar (50%). By registering for this course/seminar, you tacitly agree to having all your electronic submissions checked by Turnitin.

Minimum requirements and assessment criteria

Minimum requirement for a positive evaluation: > 50% of the overall achievments.
For a positive grade you have to be present in the online-meetings. In case of an excused absence (max. 2 per semester) you are asked to inform the course instructor in time.

Examination topics

All particants have to present one of the texts made available on Moodle. The presentation should communicate the central thoughts of the text to the participants, question them critically and contextualize it historically. You also are asked to send an audiofile with your oral presentation some days in advance to the course instructor (arno.boehler@univie.ac.at), who will make it available on Moodle. File name: NAME_SE_SPINOZAS_MATERIALISMUS.pdf

Reading list

Agamben, Giorgio: Absolute Immanenz. Berlin: Merve Verlag, 1998.
Balibar, Étienne: Spinoza and Politics. London, New York: Verso, 2008.
Bennett, Jane: Vibrant Matter: A Political Ecology of Things. Durham: Duke University Press, 2010.
Deleuze, Gilles: Spinoza: Praktische Philosophie. Berlin: Merve Verlag, 1988.
Diefenbacher, Katja: Spekulativer Materialismus: Spinoza in der postmarxistischen Philosophie. Wien, Berlin: Turia + Kant, 2018.
Negri, Antonio: Spinoza for Our Time: Politics and Postmodernity New York: Columbia University Press, 2013.
Spinoza, Baruch de: Sämtliche Werke. Ethik in Geometrischer Ordnung dargestellt. Hg. v. Wolfgang Bartuschat. Hamburg: Felix Meiner Verlag, 2007.
Weiterführende Literatur wird auf Moodle bereitgestellt.

Association in the course directory

Last modified: We 21.04.2021 11:26

Universität Wien FIND

Bedingt durch die COVID-19-Pandemie können kurzfristige Änderungen bei Lehrveranstaltungen und Prüfungen (z.B. Absage von Vor-Ort-Lehre und Umstellung auf Online-Prüfungen) erforderlich sein. Melden Sie sich für Lehrveranstaltungen/Prüfungen über u:space an, informieren Sie sich über den aktuellen Stand auf u:find und auf der Lernplattform moodle. ACHTUNG: Lehrveranstaltungen, bei denen zumindest eine Einheit vor Ort stattfindet, werden in u:find momentan mit "vor Ort" gekennzeichnet.

Regelungen zum Lehrbetrieb vor Ort inkl. Eintrittstests finden Sie unter https://studieren.univie.ac.at/info.

Achtung! Das Lehrangebot ist noch nicht vollständig und wird bis Semesterbeginn laufend ergänzt.

180078 SE Spinozas Materialismus (2021S)

5.00 ECTS (2.00 SWS), SPL 18 - Philosophie
Prüfungsimmanente Lehrveranstaltung
DIGITAL

An/Abmeldung

Hinweis: Ihr Anmeldezeitpunkt innerhalb der Frist hat keine Auswirkungen auf die Platzvergabe (kein "first come, first serve").

Details

max. 30 Teilnehmer*innen
Sprache: Deutsch

Lehrende

Termine (iCal) - nächster Termin ist mit N markiert

Das Seminar findet via Moodle digital statt.
Vorbermerkung: Aufgrund der Umstellung des Studienbetriebs auf „digital-learning“ ist es wichtig, dass sich alle Teilnehmer*innen für die LV registrieren, um einen Zugang zu Moodle zu erhalten, da die die Kommunikation über den Ablauf der Lehrveranstaltung über die Plattform Moodle stattfinden wird. Neben den üblichen Lehrmaterialien werden sie auf Moodle auch die Audioaufzeichnungen der Lehrveranstaltungen finden.

Dienstag 09.03. 11:30 - 13:00 Digital
Dienstag 16.03. 11:30 - 13:00 Digital
Dienstag 23.03. 11:30 - 13:00 Digital
Dienstag 13.04. 11:30 - 13:00 Digital
Dienstag 20.04. 11:30 - 13:00 Digital
Dienstag 27.04. 11:30 - 13:00 Digital
Dienstag 04.05. 11:30 - 13:00 Digital
Dienstag 11.05. 11:30 - 13:00 Digital
Dienstag 18.05. 11:30 - 13:00 Digital
Dienstag 01.06. 11:30 - 13:00 Digital
Dienstag 08.06. 11:30 - 13:00 Digital
Dienstag 15.06. 11:30 - 13:00 Digital
Dienstag 22.06. 11:30 - 13:00 Digital
Dienstag 29.06. 11:30 - 13:00 Digital

Information

Ziele, Inhalte und Methode der Lehrveranstaltung

In diesem Seminar werden wir post-marxistische Spinozalektüren von Gille Deleuze, Giorgio Agamben, Antonio Negri, Martin Saar, Katja Diefenbach, Jane Bennett und Étienne Ballibar behandeln. Dabei geht es uns um die Klärung folgender Probleme: Wie verbindet Spinoza Materialismus und Philosophie des Geistes? Stellt Spinozas Materialismus eine Alternative zu idealistischen Geisteskonzeptionen dar? Was versteht Spinoza unter scientia intuitiva (dritte Erkenntnisart) und welches neue Modell von Körper/Körperlichkeit lässt sich mit Spinoza andenken? Warum hat gerade er den "New Materialismus" stark inspiriert?
Methode und digitales Konzept: Sie werden in der ersten Lehrveranstaltungseinheit aufgefordert, einen Text der oben genannten Autor*innen auszuwählen, um diesen zu einem vereinbarten Termin in unserem Online-Seminar mündlich zu präsentieren. Damit ihre Studienkolleg*innen die Hauptlinien ihrer Präsentation vorab studieren können, schicken Sie bitte ein Audiofile ihrer Präsentation einige Tage vor ihrer mündlichen Präsentation an den Lehrveranstaltungsleiter (per Email oder über eine cloud), der ihre Audiopräsentation auf Moodle hochladen und für alle Teilnehmer*innen zum Anhören bereitstellen wird. Ihre mündlichen Präsentationen werden in der Online-Sitzung live diskutiert und vom Lehrveranstaltungsleiter in einen historischen, geistesgeschichtlichen Kontext gestellt.

Art der Leistungskontrolle und erlaubte Hilfsmittel

Mündliches Referat (15 Minuten), das in einer unserer Onlinesitzungen vorgetragen wird. Eine Audioaufnahme des Referats muss dem Lehrveranstaltungsleiter einige Tage vor der Präsentation per Email zugesandt werden. Dieses Audiofile zählt als zweiter Teil der zu erbringenden Prüfungsleistung. Das dritte Beurteilungskriterium ist die Mitarbeit während des Seminars.
Schlüssel für die Gesamtnote: Mündliches Referat online (25 %), Audiodatei (25 %), Anwesenheit und Mitarbeit in den Sitzungen des Onlineseminars (50 %). Mit Ihrer Anmeldung stimmen Sie automatisch zu, dass Ihre schriftlichen Teilleistungen mittels Turnitin geprüft werden.

Mindestanforderungen und Beurteilungsmaßstab

Mindestanforderungen für eine positive Beurteilung: > 50% der Gesamtleistung.
Für eine positive Beurteilung gilt die Anwesenheitspflicht. Im Falle einer entschuldigten Abwesenheit (max. 2 pro Semester) sind Sie gebeten den Lehrveranstaltungsleiter rechtzeitig zu informieren.

Prüfungsstoff

Alle Seminarteilnehmer*innen müssen jeweils einen Text, der auf Moodle für die Lehrveranstaltung bereitgestellt wird, mündlich referieren. Die Referate sollen die wichtigsten Gedanken des vorgetragenen Textes für alle Seminarteilnehmer*innen herausarbeiten, kritisch befragen und historisch kontextualisieren. Die mündlich vorgetragenen Texte sollen im Voraus als Audiofile an den Lehrveranstaltungsleiter (arno.boehler@univie.ac.at) gesandt werden, der diese auf Moodle bereit stellt. Datei-Name: NAME_SE_SPINOZAS_MATERIALISMUS.pdf

Literatur

Agamben, Giorgio: Absolute Immanenz. Berlin: Merve Verlag, 1998.
Balibar, Étienne: Spinoza and Politics. London, New York: Verso, 2008.
Bennett, Jane: Vibrant Matter: A Political Ecology of Things. Durham: Duke University Press, 2010.
Deleuze, Gilles: Spinoza: Praktische Philosophie. Berlin: Merve Verlag, 1988.
Diefenbacher, Katja: Spekulativer Materialismus: Spinoza in der postmarxistischen Philosophie. Wien, Berlin: Turia + Kant, 2018.
Negri, Antonio: Spinoza for Our Time: Politics and Postmodernity New York: Columbia University Press, 2013.
Spinoza, Baruch de: Sämtliche Werke. Ethik in Geometrischer Ordnung dargestellt. Hg. v. Wolfgang Bartuschat. Hamburg: Felix Meiner Verlag, 2007.
Weiterführende Literatur wird auf Moodle bereitgestellt.

Zuordnung im Vorlesungsverzeichnis

Letzte Änderung: Mi 21.04.2021 11:26