Universität Wien FIND

Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, changes to courses and exams may be necessary at short notice (e.g. cancellation of on-site teaching and conversion to online exams). Register for courses/exams via u:space, find out about the current status on u:find and on the moodle learning platform. NOTE: Courses where at least one unit is on-site are currently marked "on-site" in u:find.

Further information about on-site teaching and access tests can be found at https://studieren.univie.ac.at/en/info.

180103 SE Philosophy of science (2021S)

5.00 ECTS (2.00 SWS), SPL 18 - Philosophie
Continuous assessment of course work
REMOTE
Mo 14.06. 13:15-14:45 Digital

Registration/Deregistration

Note: The time of your registration within the registration period has no effect on the allocation of places (no first come, first serve).

Details

max. 25 participants
Language: German

Lecturers

Classes (iCal) - next class is marked with N

Monday 08.03. 13:15 - 14:45 Digital
Monday 15.03. 13:15 - 14:45 Digital
Monday 22.03. 13:15 - 14:45 Digital
Monday 12.04. 13:15 - 14:45 Digital
Monday 19.04. 13:15 - 14:45 Digital
Monday 26.04. 13:15 - 14:45 Digital
Monday 03.05. 13:15 - 14:45 Digital
Monday 10.05. 13:15 - 14:45 Digital
Monday 17.05. 13:15 - 14:45 Digital
Monday 31.05. 13:15 - 14:45 Digital
Monday 07.06. 13:15 - 14:45 Digital
Monday 21.06. 13:15 - 14:45 Digital
Monday 28.06. 13:15 - 14:45 Digital

Information

Aims, contents and method of the course

This course is an introduction to philosophy of science, covering central issues from both historical and contemporary philosophy of science. Having taken the course, participants should be familiar with the main topics and theories within philosophy of science. Besides being introduced to the central questions from – and a bit of history of – philosophy of science, students will be able to participate in discussions, understand, and critically reflect upon ongoing debates. In addition to general philosophy of science topics, examples from different special sciences will be addressed.

Method of the course: seminar, i.e. presentations and discussion of texts. Students will co-chair sessions, prepare text-based assignments and presentations at home, discuss and present in class, and write a thesis-oriented seminar paper.

Assessment and permitted materials

Assessment will be based on: active participation (20%), home-assignments (20%), co-chairing of a session (10%), and a seminar-paper (50%).

Minimum requirements and assessment criteria

Participants of this course should be familiar with the central topics from philosophy of science, be able to understand, discuss, and critically reflect upon historical and contemporary issues within philosophy of science. Two unauthorized absences will be excused. By registering for this course/seminar, you tacitly agree to having all your electronic submissions checked by the plagiarism detection software Turnitin.

Examination topics

What is science?; induction, deduction, abduction;logical positivism; causality; laws of nature; explanations; Popper, Kuhn & their critics; scientific realism; models, idealizations, abstractions; reduction and emergence; scientific understanding and representation; Bayesianism: learning & evidence; philosophical problems in the special sciences.

Reading list

- Samir Okasha, 2002, Philosophy of Science: A Very Short Introduction, Oxford University Press.
- Peter Godfrey-Smith, 2003, Theory and Reality: An Introduction to the Philosophy of Science, University of Chicago Press.
- Additional articles and texts will be announced in the seminar and on Moodle.

Association in the course directory

Last modified: We 21.04.2021 11:26

Universität Wien FIND

Bedingt durch die COVID-19-Pandemie können kurzfristige Änderungen bei Lehrveranstaltungen und Prüfungen (z.B. Absage von Vor-Ort-Lehre und Umstellung auf Online-Prüfungen) erforderlich sein. Melden Sie sich für Lehrveranstaltungen/Prüfungen über u:space an, informieren Sie sich über den aktuellen Stand auf u:find und auf der Lernplattform moodle. ACHTUNG: Lehrveranstaltungen, bei denen zumindest eine Einheit vor Ort stattfindet, werden in u:find momentan mit "vor Ort" gekennzeichnet.

Regelungen zum Lehrbetrieb vor Ort inkl. Eintrittstests finden Sie unter https://studieren.univie.ac.at/info.

Achtung! Das Lehrangebot ist noch nicht vollständig und wird bis Semesterbeginn laufend ergänzt.

180103 SE Wissenschaftstheorie (2021S)

5.00 ECTS (2.00 SWS), SPL 18 - Philosophie
Prüfungsimmanente Lehrveranstaltung
DIGITAL

An/Abmeldung

Hinweis: Ihr Anmeldezeitpunkt innerhalb der Frist hat keine Auswirkungen auf die Platzvergabe (kein "first come, first serve").

Details

max. 25 Teilnehmer*innen
Sprache: Deutsch

Lehrende

Termine (iCal) - nächster Termin ist mit N markiert

Montag 08.03. 13:15 - 14:45 Digital
Montag 15.03. 13:15 - 14:45 Digital
Montag 22.03. 13:15 - 14:45 Digital
Montag 12.04. 13:15 - 14:45 Digital
Montag 19.04. 13:15 - 14:45 Digital
Montag 26.04. 13:15 - 14:45 Digital
Montag 03.05. 13:15 - 14:45 Digital
Montag 10.05. 13:15 - 14:45 Digital
Montag 17.05. 13:15 - 14:45 Digital
Montag 31.05. 13:15 - 14:45 Digital
Montag 07.06. 13:15 - 14:45 Digital
Montag 14.06. 13:15 - 14:45 Digital
Montag 21.06. 13:15 - 14:45 Digital
Montag 28.06. 13:15 - 14:45 Digital

Information

Ziele, Inhalte und Methode der Lehrveranstaltung

Dieser Kurs ist eine Einführung in die Wissenschaftstheorie, in dem zentrale klassische und aktuelle Themen der Wissenschaftstheorie behandelt werden. Nach ihrer Teilnahme sollten Studierende mit den Hauptproblemen und Theorien der Wissenschaftstheorie vertraut sein. Neben der Behandlung dieser Themen - und deren historischer Aspekte - werden Teilnehmer_innen in der Lage sein, aktuelle Debatten zu diskutieren, verstehen und kritisch zu reflektieren. Neben Themen der allgemeinen Wissenschaftstheorie werden auch Probleme einiger Einzelwissenschaften angesprochen.

Methode des Kurses: Seminar, das heißt, Vorträge und Diskussion zu ausgewählten Texten. Studierende werden gemeinsam Diskussionen leiten, Texte und Vorträge zu Hause vorbereiten, im Seminar präsentieren und diskutieren sowie eine abschließende Seminararbeit verfassen.

Art der Leistungskontrolle und erlaubte Hilfsmittel

Die Leistungskontrolle besteht aus: aktiver Teilnahme (20%), Aufgaben für zu Hause (20%), gemeinsame Diskussionsleitung (10%) und einer Seminararbeit (50%).

Mindestanforderungen und Beurteilungsmaßstab

Teilnehmer_innen dieses Seminars sollten mit den zentralen Themen der Wissenschaftstheorie werden und in die Lage versetzt werden, historische und aktuelle Themen der Wissenschaftstheorie zu verstehen, diskutieren und kritisch zu reflektieren. Zwei nicht begründete Abwesenheiten werden entschuldigt. Bei der Anmeldung stimmen Sie stillschweigend zu, dass Ihre Einsendungen mittels der Plagiatssoftware Turnitin überprüft werden können.

Prüfungsstoff

Was ist Wissenschaft?; Induktion, Deduktion, Abduktion; Logischer Positivismus; Kausalität; Naturgesetze; Erklärungen; Popper, Kuhn & ihre Kritiker; Wissenschaftlicher Realismus; Modelle, Idealisierungen, Abstraktionen; Reduktion und Emergenz; Wissenschaftliches Verstehen und Repräsentation; Bayesianismus: Lernen & Evidenz; philosophische Probleme in den Einzelwissenschaften.

Literatur

- Samir Okasha, 2002, Philosophy of Science: A Very Short Introduction, Oxford University Press.
- Peter Godfrey-Smith, 2003, Theory and Reality: An Introduction to the Philosophy of Science, University of Chicago Press.
- Weitere Artikel und Texte werden im Laufe des Seminars und auf Moodle angekündigt.

Zuordnung im Vorlesungsverzeichnis

Letzte Änderung: Mi 21.04.2021 11:26