Universität Wien
Warning! The directory is not yet complete and will be amended until the beginning of the term.

180132 LPS Reading seminar: The Philosophy of the Cultural Sciences around 1900 (2021W)

5.00 ECTS (3.00 SWS), SPL 18 - Philosophie
Continuous assessment of course work
MIXED

Registration/Deregistration

Note: The time of your registration within the registration period has no effect on the allocation of places (no first come, first served).

Details

max. 45 participants
Language: German

Lecturers

Classes (iCal) - next class is marked with N

The course will be co-taught by Henriikka Hannula.

This seminar is blocked and requires the attendance of minimally 80%.

  • Friday 15.10. 15:00 - 16:30 Digital
  • Friday 03.12. 15:00 - 16:30 Digital
  • Saturday 11.12. 08:00 - 15:15 Digital
  • Saturday 18.12. 08:00 - 15:15 Digital

Information

Aims, contents and method of the course

Goals:
Students learn to historically contextualize and critically reflect on philosophical texts.

Content:
In 1922, Ernst Troeltsch calls out the "crisis of historicism." Troeltsch diagnosed historicism as the predominant worldview of Weimar Germany and worried about its effects on the German culture. For him, historicism amounted to a rejection of an absolute foundation of epistemology, science, and ethics. Although the criticism of Troeltsch's essay was directed primarily against Friedrich Nietzsche and Oswald Spengler, this essay tackles an issue many philosophers before the First Great War were deeply concerned with: How to take history seriously without falling into a relativist position. 

The Marburg school counteracted this problem with the argument that by analyzing the historical practices of culture, philosophy aims to identify the social sciences' rational foundation. Influenced by Kant, Hermann Cohen worked out the 'transcendental method' that starts with the "historical fact of science." For Cohen, all disciplines of the social sciences rely on a moral foundation. Cohen's student, Ernst Cassirer, however, broadened the understanding of philosophy. Cassirer moved away from a purely rational account of the social sciences. Besides the natural sciences, he focused also on myths, religion, and linguistics. Both—Cohen and Cassirer—held the view that philosophy starts in history while combating the problem of relativism with a Kantian notion of transcendental subjectivity.

The hermeneutic answer to the problem of relativism was different. Instead of looking for universally valid concepts and standards of knowledge, it embraced the fundamental historicity of human existence. Wilhelm Dilthey's hermeneutics sought to build a firm foundation for the human sciences (Geisteswissenschaften) on this basis. In his view, the method of the human sciences was based on understanding and interpretation. In Being and Time, Martin Heidegger appropriated the concept of historicity from Dilthey and Paul Yorck von Wartenburg. However, he rejected the epistemological and scientistic focus of Dilthey's hermeneutics and conceives the task of philosophy as primarily ontological.

Method:
In this seminar, we read selected works on the philosophy of the social and cultural sciences by Ernst Troeltsch, Hermann Cohen, Ernst Cassirer, Wilhelm Dilthey, and Martin Heidegger. Students learn to recognize a philosophical thesis and a philosophical argument, discuss the main aspects in oral exchange and written form, and formulate one or several arguments in their final paper.

The texts will be read in their original language (German and English). The discussions will predominantly be held in German. Oral and written contributions may be in German or English. We welcome students who do not have German as their first language and encourage those who would like to write their final paper in English.

Assessment and permitted materials

The following aspects determine the final grade: Attendance, work assignments, reading questions, an outline of the final paper, and the final paper.

Minimum requirements and assessment criteria

One can gain 100 points max. consisting of the following parts:

(0) Attendance
(2.5/5) Collaboration
(7.5/15) Work assignments
(12.5/25) Reading questions
(7.5/15) Outline of the final paper
(20/40) Final paper

In brackets, you find the minimum and maximum points you can receive. For example: (10/20) signifies that for a positive grade, you need a minimum of 10 points, and you can gain a maximum of 20 points on this assignment. All parts need to be positive in order to receive a positive grade at the end of the course. Thus, by a total of 50 points, the grade is only positive if all the subparts are positive.

Examination topics

The LPS is an "exam-immanent" course. This means that there will not be a final exam.

Reading list

See German literature list. We will provide digital copies of relevent sections of the primary literature. You will find recommendations for secondary literature on the course syllabus.

Association in the course directory

Last modified: Fr 12.05.2023 00:18

Universität Wien FIND

180132 LPS Lektüreproseminar: Die Philosophie der Kulturwissenschaften um 1900 (2021W)

5.00 ECTS (3.00 SWS), SPL 18 - Philosophie
Prüfungsimmanente Lehrveranstaltung
GEMISCHT

An/Abmeldung

Hinweis: Ihr Anmeldezeitpunkt innerhalb der Frist hat keine Auswirkungen auf die Platzvergabe (kein "first come, first served").

Details

max. 45 Teilnehmer*innen
Sprache: Deutsch

Lehrende

Termine (iCal) - nächster Termin ist mit N markiert

Die Lehrveranstaltung wird gemeinsam mit der Mitanbieterin Frau
Henriikka Hannula gehalten.

Dieses LPS findet geblockt statt und erfordert eine Anwesenheit von mindestens 80%.

Freitag 15.10. 15:00 - 16:30 Digital
Freitag 03.12. 15:00 - 16:30 Digital
Samstag 11.12. 08:00 - 15:15 Digital
Samstag 18.12. 08:00 - 15:15 Digital

Information

Ziele, Inhalte und Methode der Lehrveranstaltung

Ziele:
Die Student*innen lernen philosophische Texte historisch zu kontextualisieren und kritisch zu reflektieren.

Inhalt:
In einem Artikel aus dem Jahre 1922 ruft Ernst Tröltsch die „Krise des Historismus“ aus. Tröltsch diagnostiziert den Historismus als die dominierende Weltanschauung der deutschen Weimarer Zeit und problematisiert die möglichen Effekte in Bezug auf die Erkenntnistheorie, Wissenschaft und Ethik. Obwohl Tröltschs Artikel hauptsächlich gegen Friedrich Nietzsche und Oswald Spengler gerichtet ist, wirft diese Schrift eine wichtige Frage auf, mit der sich auch Philosophen vor dem Ersten Weltkrieg eingängig beschäftigten: Wie ist es möglich, dass die geschichtlichen Vorbedingungen ausreichend reflektiert werden, ohne dabei in eine relativistische Position zu verfallen?

Die Marburger Schule antwortete auf dieses Problem mit dem Argument, dass die Analyse historischer Praktiken der Kultur die fundamentalen (und rationalen) Aspekte der Sozialwissenschaften zum Vorschein bringe. Beeinflusst von Kant, erarbeitete Hermann Cohen die „transzendentale Methode“, die im „historischen Faktum der Wissenschaften“ ihren Anfang findet. Cohens Student, Ernst Cassirer, entwickelte das Verständnis der kritischen Philosophie weiter. Indem er seinen Fokus auf Mythen, Religion, Sprachwissenschaften, und die Naturwissenschaften legte, distanzierte sich Cassirer von einem ausschließlich rationalen Verständnis der Sozialwissenschaften. Beide—Cohen und Cassirer—waren der Ansicht, dass Philosophie zwar in der Geschichte ihren Anfangspunkt finde; konterten jedoch dem Problem des Relativismus mit einem kantischen Verständnis der transzendentalen Subjektivität.

Die hermeneutische Antwort zum Problem des Relativismus war anders. Statt auf die universal gültigen Konzepte und Wissensstandards zu fokussieren, stellt dieser Ansatz die fundamentale Geschichtlichkeit menschlicher Existenz in den Mittelpunkt. Damit liefert Wilhelm Diltheys Hermeneutik eine Basis der Geisteswissenschaften, deren Methode auf dem historischen "Verstehen" und der "Interpretation" beruht. In Sein und Zeit eignet sich Martin Heidegger den Begriff des Historismus von Dilthey und Paul Yorck von Wartenburg an. Im Unterschied zu Dilthey lehnt Heidegger jedoch den erkenntnistheoretischen und wissenschaftlichen Fokus ab; die Aufgabe der Philosophie ist seiner Ansicht nach ontologischer Natur.

Methode:
In diesem LPS befassen wir uns mit ausgewählten Schriften zur Philosophie der Kulturwissenschaften von Ernst Tröltsch, Hermann Cohen, Ernst Cassirer, Wilhelm Dilthey und Martin Heidegger. Die Student*innen lernen, die Hauptthesen und Argumente in den ausgewählten Texten zu erkennen, sie mündlich und schriftlich zu diskutieren und ein bis mehrere aussagekräftige(s) Argument(e) in Form einer wissenschaftlichen Abschlussarbeit zu formulieren.

Die Diskussionen finden hauptsächlich auf Deutsch statt. Mündliche und schriftliche Beiträge können sowohl auf Deutsch als auch auf Englisch verfasst werden. Wir begrüßen sowohl Student*innen, deren Muttersprache nicht Deutsch ist, als auch jene, die sich im Verfassen englischer Abschlussarbeiten üben wollen.

Art der Leistungskontrolle und erlaubte Hilfsmittel

Die Endnote setzt sich aus folgenden Bereichen zusammen:
Anwesenheit, Arbeitsaufträge, Lektürefragen, Gliederung der Abschlussarbeit mit Erläuterungen und die Abschlussarbeit.

Mindestanforderungen und Beurteilungsmaßstab

Es können insgesamt 100 Punkte erreicht werden. Die Punkte setzen sich folgendermaßen zusammen:

● (0) Anwesenheit
● (2.5/5) Mitarbeit
● (7.5/15) Arbeitsaufträge
● (12.5/25) Lektürefragen
● (7.5/15) Gliederung der Abschlussarbeit mit Erläuterungen
● (20/40) Abschlussarbeit

In der Klammer finden Sie sowohl das Minimum als auch das Maximum der zu erreichenden Punkte für die jeweilige Übung. Z. B.: (10/20) bedeutet, dass Sie für eine positive Bewertung dieser Teilleistung mindestens 10 Punkte benötigen und maximal 20 Punkte erreichen können. Für eine positive Note müssen alle Teilleistungen positiv bewertet sein. Das heißt, bei insg. 50 Punkten erhalten Sie nur dann eine positive Note, wenn auch alle Teilleistungen positiv bewertet wurden.

Prüfungsstoff

Bei diesem LPS handelt es sich um eine "prüfungsimmanente" Lehrveranstaltung. Das heißt, es findet kein Examen statt.

Literatur

Verpflichtende Primärliteratur

Cohen, Hermann, 1877/1910. Kants Begründung der Ethik, vierter Teil: Die Anwendungen der ethischen Prinzipien, Einleitung („Die Realität des Sittlichen in der geschichtlichen Erfahrung“) + Erstes Kapitel („Die Rechtslehre, Einleitung: das Naturrecht), 375-399.

Cassirer, Ernst, 1944. An Essay on Man, Part 2, “The Definition of Man in Terms of Human Culture” + “Summary and Conclusion”, 278-286.

Dilthey, Wilhelm. Der Aufbau der geschichtlichen Welt, Zweites Kapitel: Die Verwahrungsweisen, in denen die Geistige Welt gegeben ist, Drittes Kapitel: Die Objektivation des Lebens, Viertes Kapitel: Die Geistige Welt als Wirkungszusammenhang, 138-156.

Heidegger, Martin. Sein und Zeit, Fünftes Kapitel, § 76. Der existenziale Ursprung der Historie aus der Geschichtlichkeit des Daseins, § 77. Der Zusammenhang der vorstehenden Exposition des Problems der Geschichtlichkeit mit den Forschungen W. Diltheys und den Ideen des Grafen Yorck, 518-533.

Troeltisch, Ernst, [1922] 2003. „Die Krisis des Historismus“, in: Vogt, Friedemann (ed.), 2003. Ernst Troeltsch Lesebuch, Ausgewählte Texte, UTB-Verlag.

Die Ausschnitte werden als PDF zur Verfügung gestellt. Weiterführende Sekundärliteratur wird im Seminar bekannt gegeben.

Zuordnung im Vorlesungsverzeichnis

Letzte Änderung: Di 30.11.2021 17:08