Universität Wien FIND

Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, changes to courses and exams may be necessary at short notice (e.g. cancellation of on-site teaching and conversion to online exams). Register for courses/exams via u:space, find out about the current status on u:find and on the moodle learning platform. NOTE: Courses where at least one unit is on-site are currently marked "on-site" in u:find.

Further information about on-site teaching and access tests can be found at https://studieren.univie.ac.at/en/info.

Warning! The directory is not yet complete and will be amended until the beginning of the term.

180160 VO VO-L Introduction to Analytical Metaphysics (2021S)

5.00 ECTS (2.00 SWS), SPL 18 - Philosophie
REMOTE

Registration/Deregistration

Note: The time of your registration within the registration period has no effect on the allocation of places (no first come, first serve).

Details

Language: German

Examination dates

Lecturers

Classes (iCal) - next class is marked with N

Monday 08.03. 17:30 - 19:00 Digital
Monday 15.03. 17:30 - 19:00 Digital
Monday 22.03. 17:30 - 19:00 Digital
Monday 12.04. 17:30 - 19:00 Digital
Monday 19.04. 17:30 - 19:00 Digital
Monday 26.04. 17:30 - 19:00 Digital
Monday 03.05. 17:30 - 19:00 Digital
Monday 10.05. 17:30 - 19:00 Digital
Monday 17.05. 17:30 - 19:00 Digital
Monday 31.05. 17:30 - 19:00 Digital
Monday 07.06. 17:30 - 19:00 Digital
Monday 14.06. 17:30 - 19:00 Digital
Monday 21.06. 17:30 - 19:00 Digital
Monday 28.06. 17:30 - 19:00 Digital

Information

Aims, contents and method of the course

Aims: These "lectures with required reading" are intended to introduce students to metaphysics and familiarize them with its central questions from a historical and systematic perspective. In the course of the semester, students will become acquainted with essential historical texts (from Anaxagoras, Plato and Aristotle to Avicenna/Ibn Sina and Al-Biruni, and from Locke, Newton, and Leibniz to Einstein), as well as current debates through a selection of contemporary analytic papers.

Content: In this lecture we will explore the question of what the basic building blocks of the world are, which underlie all other philosophical questions. For example, we will discuss what objects are and how they relate to their properties; what sort of properties there are; what it is for something to undergo a change; what identity is; what is necessary, what is contingent, what is possible and what is impossible. In this context, we will also look into the distinction between realism and anti-realism.

Metaphysical explanations usually start from something taken as prime, i.e. as the itself not analyzed basis of all further metaphysical explanations. We will look at what ontological entities metaphysicians today take as prime and will discuss the respective merits and difficulties of these options. In this context we will discuss issues concerning ontological commitment, reduction and grounding. The literature on these topics includes historical texts (see above) as well as work by contemporary philosophers including Allen, Armstrong, Ayers, Brewer, Besson as well as Haslanger, Lewis, Magidor, Meincke, and Thomson, Vetter, Xu, Yablo.

The first question we will have to tackle, however, is why analytic metaphysics even exists - after all, the Vienna Circle vehemently rejected metaphysics. This question leads us deep into meta-metaphysics. We will read the manifesto of the Vienna Circle and look at recent literature by Belleri, Bennett, Russell and Sider.

Method: There will be required reading which students are expected to have done ahead of each lecture; further reading will also be recommended for each topic. In the lecture, the respective issue(s) will be discussed. We will then look at the most important philosophical views on them and talk about the respective required reading.

This lecture course will be taught in the following manner:

The weekly lectures will be made available as videos (mp4 files) on Moodle. There, you will also find the required reading for each lecture as well as a list of further recommended reading. The material will therefore be fully available electronically and can be accessed at any time of day. Please note that it is necessary to listen to / watch the lecture and read the required reading every week.

Additionally, we will have discussion rounds on Collaborate during the official lecture times. These discussion rounds constitute an essential, integral part of this lecture course. They enable you to ask questions concerning the material and the required reading and also offer an opportunity for sharing your thoughts with other (budding) philosophers, which is a very important aspect in doing philosophy.

The exam will be held on Moodle, too, and will be set at a specific date and time (tba).

Assessment and permitted materials

Written exam on Moodle

Minimum requirements and assessment criteria

Positive grade on exam (pass minimum: half achievable score)

Examination topics

The material presented during the lecture and accompanying required reading

Reading list

Recommended introductions:

Allen, Sophie (2016) A critical introduction to properties, Bloomsbury Academic
Armstrong, D. M. (1989). Universals: An opinionated introduction. Wiley
Loux, M. J., & Crisp, T. M. (2017). Metaphysics: A contemporary introduction. Routledge
Ney, Alyssa. (2015) Metaphysics: An Introduction, Routledge.
Schrenk, Markus (2017) Handbuch Metaphysik. JB Metzler, Stuttgart.

Further reading will be announced during the lecture and on Moodle.

Association in the course directory

Last modified: Th 29.04.2021 10:48

Universität Wien FIND

Bedingt durch die COVID-19-Pandemie können kurzfristige Änderungen bei Lehrveranstaltungen und Prüfungen (z.B. Absage von Vor-Ort-Lehre und Umstellung auf Online-Prüfungen) erforderlich sein. Melden Sie sich für Lehrveranstaltungen/Prüfungen über u:space an, informieren Sie sich über den aktuellen Stand auf u:find und auf der Lernplattform moodle. ACHTUNG: Lehrveranstaltungen, bei denen zumindest eine Einheit vor Ort stattfindet, werden in u:find momentan mit "vor Ort" gekennzeichnet.

Regelungen zum Lehrbetrieb vor Ort inkl. Eintrittstests finden Sie unter https://studieren.univie.ac.at/info.

Achtung! Das Lehrangebot ist noch nicht vollständig und wird bis Semesterbeginn laufend ergänzt.

180160 VO VO-L Einführung in die analytische Metaphysik (2021S)

5.00 ECTS (2.00 SWS), SPL 18 - Philosophie
DIGITAL

An/Abmeldung

Hinweis: Ihr Anmeldezeitpunkt innerhalb der Frist hat keine Auswirkungen auf die Platzvergabe (kein "first come, first serve").

Details

Sprache: Deutsch

Prüfungstermine

Lehrende

Termine (iCal) - nächster Termin ist mit N markiert

Montag 08.03. 17:30 - 19:00 Digital
Montag 15.03. 17:30 - 19:00 Digital
Montag 22.03. 17:30 - 19:00 Digital
Montag 12.04. 17:30 - 19:00 Digital
Montag 19.04. 17:30 - 19:00 Digital
Montag 26.04. 17:30 - 19:00 Digital
Montag 03.05. 17:30 - 19:00 Digital
Montag 10.05. 17:30 - 19:00 Digital
Montag 17.05. 17:30 - 19:00 Digital
Montag 31.05. 17:30 - 19:00 Digital
Montag 07.06. 17:30 - 19:00 Digital
Montag 14.06. 17:30 - 19:00 Digital
Montag 21.06. 17:30 - 19:00 Digital
Montag 28.06. 17:30 - 19:00 Digital

Information

Ziele, Inhalte und Methode der Lehrveranstaltung

Ziele: Diese Vorlesung mit Lektüre soll den Studierenden die Grundlagen der Metaphysik vermitteln und sie mit ihren zentralen Fragen historisch und systematisch vertraut machen. Im Zuge dieser Lehrveranstaltung sollen die Studierenden die wesentlichsten historischen Texte (von Anaxagoras, Plato und Aristoteles über Avicenna/Ibn Sina und Al-Biruni, Locke, Newton und Leibniz, bis zu Einstein), sowie die aktuellen Debatten in einer Auswahl zeitgenössischer analytischer Arbeiten kennenlernen.

Inhalt: In dieser Vorlesung gehen wir der Frage nach, was die "Grundbausteine" der Welt sind. Diese liegen dann ja auch allen anderen philosophischen Fragen zugrunde. Wir besprechen also z.B. was Gegenstände sind und wie sie zu ihren Eigenschaften in Beziehung stehen; was Eigenschaften sind und was für Arten von Eigenschaften es gibt; was Raum und Zeit sind; was Veränderung und was Identität bedeuten; was notwendig, was kontingent, was möglich und was unmöglich ist. In diesem Zusammenhang beschäftigen wir uns auch mit der Unterscheidung zwischen Realismus und Antirealismus.
Metaphysische Erläuterungen gehen meist von etwas aus, das sie als primär, also als selbst nicht analysierte Grundlage aller weiteren metaphysischen Erläuterungen, annehmen. Wir sehen uns an, von welchen ontologischen Entitäten MetaphysikerInnen heute als primäre ausgehen, und besprechen die jeweiligen Vorzüge und Schwierigkeiten dieser Optionen. In diesem Zusammenhang besprechen wir Fragen der ontologischen Verpflichtung, Reduktion und „Grounding“. Zu diesen Themen umfasst die Literatur zur Vorlesung historische Texte (s.o.) sowie zeitgenössische Arbeiten u.a. von Allen, Armstrong, Ayers, Brewer und Besson über Haslanger, Lewis, Magidor und Meincke bis zu Thomson, Vetter, Xu und Yablo.
Zu allererst muss sich die Vorlesung jedoch der Frage stellen, wieso es überhaupt analytische Metaphysik gibt – der Wiener Kreis lehnte sie ja vehement ab. Diese Frage führt uns tief in die Meta-Metaphysik. Wir lesen hierzu das Manifest des Wiener Kreises und beschäftigen uns mit aktueller Literatur von Belleri, Bennett, Russell und Sider.

Methode: Es wird zu jeder Vorlesung vorbereitende Pflichtlektüre sowie Lektüreempfehlungen zur Vertiefung der Themen geben. In der Vorlesung selbst besprechen wir die jeweilige(n) Fragestellung(en), sehen uns die wichtigsten philosophischen Ansätze dazu an und besprechen die jeweilige Pflichtlektüre.

Das Format des Unterrichts ist wie folgt:
Die Vorlesungen werden jede Woche als Videos (mp4-Dateien) auf Moodle gestellt. Dort finden Sie dann auch die Pflichtlektüre sowie weitere Literaturempfehlungen. Der Unterrichtsstoff steht somit vollständig in elektronischer Form zur Verfügung und kann zu jeder beliebigen Tageszeit angehört werden. Bitte zu beachten, dass es erforderlich ist, die Vorlesung jede Woche anzuhören und die Pflichtlektüre mitzulesen!

Zusätzlich halten wir zur Vorlesungszeit eine Gesprächsrunde über Collaborate ab. Diese bildet einen wesentlichen, integralen Bestandteil des Unterrichts. Sie dient einerseits dazu, Fragen zum Stoff und der Pflichtlektüre zu besprechen, und andrerseits als Möglichkeit für einen Gedankenaustausch mit anderen (werdenden) Philosoph*innen, der ein sehr wichtiger Aspekt der Philosophie ist.

Auch die Prüfung wird über Moodle abgehalten werden, wobei hier jedoch ein fixer Zeitraum vorgegeben sein wird

Art der Leistungskontrolle und erlaubte Hilfsmittel

Schriftliche Prüfung auf Moodle

Mindestanforderungen und Beurteilungsmaßstab

Positive Note (4 ab halber Punktezahl) auf die schriftliche Prüfung.

Prüfungsstoff

Vorgetragene Inhalte und begleitende Lektüre

Literatur

Empfohlene Einführungen sind:

Allen, Sophie (2016) A critical introduction to properties, Bloomsbury Academic
Armstrong, D. M. (1989). Universals: An opinionated introduction. Wiley
Loux, M. J., & Crisp, T. M. (2017). Metaphysics: A contemporary introduction. Routledge
Ney, Alyssa. (2015) Metaphysics: An Introduction, Routledge.
Schrenk, Markus (2017) Handbuch Metaphysik. JB Metzler, Stuttgart.

Weitere Literatur wird in der Vorlesung bzw. auf Moodle bekanntgeben

Zuordnung im Vorlesungsverzeichnis

Letzte Änderung: Do 29.04.2021 10:48