Universität Wien FIND

180165 SE *Bullshit* and Philosophy (referring to Harry Frankfurt) (2019S)

5.00 ECTS (2.00 SWS), SPL 18 - Philosophie
Continuous assessment of course work

Details

max. 30 participants
Language: German

Lecturers

Classes (iCal) - next class is marked with N

Wednesday 13.03. 16:45 - 18:15 Hörsaal 2i NIG 2.Stock
Wednesday 20.03. 16:45 - 18:15 Hörsaal 2i NIG 2.Stock
Wednesday 27.03. 16:45 - 18:15 Hörsaal 2i NIG 2.Stock
Wednesday 03.04. 16:45 - 18:15 Hörsaal 2i NIG 2.Stock
Wednesday 10.04. 16:45 - 18:15 Hörsaal 2i NIG 2.Stock
Wednesday 08.05. 16:45 - 18:15 Hörsaal 2i NIG 2.Stock
Wednesday 15.05. 16:45 - 18:15 Hörsaal 2i NIG 2.Stock
Wednesday 22.05. 16:45 - 18:15 Hörsaal 2i NIG 2.Stock
Wednesday 29.05. 16:45 - 18:15 Hörsaal 2i NIG 2.Stock
Wednesday 05.06. 16:45 - 18:15 Hörsaal 2i NIG 2.Stock
Wednesday 12.06. 16:45 - 18:15 Hörsaal 2i NIG 2.Stock
Wednesday 19.06. 16:45 - 18:15 Hörsaal 2i NIG 2.Stock
Wednesday 26.06. 16:45 - 18:15 Hörsaal 2i NIG 2.Stock

Information

Aims, contents and method of the course

Harry G. Frankfurt’s „On Bullshit“ first appeared in The Raritan Review in 1986. 2005 Princeton University Press published the text as a little book which would soon become an international bestseller, being translated into 25 languages. The book has received renewed attention recently, as Gary L. Hardcastle und George A. Reisch took it as an exemplary case of the perspectives of a successful public involvement of scholarly work on the interface between academic philosophy and popular culture. Thus they published a collection of essays on “Bullshit and Philosophy” in Open Courts “Popular Culture and Philosophy”-series in 2006. While some of these essays critically discuss Frankfurt’s original contribution to 20th century philosophy, others emphasize the need for a reconsideration of Frankfurt’s definition of “Bullshit”, while still others argue for the necessity of expanding the scope of the discussion. Thus Hardcastle and Reisch emphasize that the general topic, associated with the term “Bullshit” is an essential part of the history of European philosophy, ranging from Socrates through David Hume, Wittgenstein und the Vienna Circle. If we understand “Bullshit” provisionary as “empty talk” the following questions arise: How can we separate empty talk from meaningful statements? How can we discern the concepts of meaninglessness and falseness? How do we differentiate between empty talk and lying?
During the course we will read Frankfurt’s paper as well as selected contributions to Hardcastle&Reisch (2006). The aim is to get a clear and precise understanding of different conceptions and definitions of Bullshit and related notions as well as their relative strengths and weaknesses. After these conceptual clarifications we will have a look at historical (e.g. Wittgenstein) as well as contemporary (e.g. André Spicer) connections and fields of application.

Assessment and permitted materials

A large part of the course will consist in a close reading of the relevant literature. Our method consists of four parts: 1. Participants are required to hand in written comments (1-2 pages) on the relevant pieces of literature, two days prior to the meeting. The comments have to be uploaded on moodle, other participants can read the contributions of colleagues. 2. Short student presentation. At the beginning of each meeting one or two participants will give a presentation of the topics which were discussed in the comments, thus providing a framework for the discussion session. Students who give a presentation are exempted from writing a comment for this particular meeting. 3. Students are required to participate in the discussions. 4. Short paper (5-7 pages) at the end of the term.

Minimum requirements and assessment criteria

Grading:
1: 40%; 2: 20%; 3: 20%; 4: 20%

Language: German and English
ATTENTION: Large parts of the relevant literature are in English. A good grasp of English is highly recommended for participating. However, discussion sessions may be held in German as well.

Examination topics

Reading list

Harry Frankfurt: On Bullshit, Princeton University Press 2005
Gary L. Hardcastle & George A. Reisch (eds): Bullshit and Philosophy, Chicago and LaSalle, Illinois, 2006
André Spicer: Business Bullshit, London & New York 2018
At the beginning of the course the schedule for the term as well as additional literature will be announced.

Association in the course directory

Last modified: Mo 30.09.2019 12:28

Universität Wien FIND

180165 SE *Bullshit* und Philosophie (im Anschluss an Harry Frankfurt) (2019S)

5.00 ECTS (2.00 SWS), SPL 18 - Philosophie
Prüfungsimmanente Lehrveranstaltung

Details

max. 30 Teilnehmer*innen
Sprache: Deutsch

Lehrende

Termine (iCal) - nächster Termin ist mit N markiert

Mittwoch 13.03. 16:45 - 18:15 Hörsaal 2i NIG 2.Stock
Mittwoch 20.03. 16:45 - 18:15 Hörsaal 2i NIG 2.Stock
Mittwoch 27.03. 16:45 - 18:15 Hörsaal 2i NIG 2.Stock
Mittwoch 03.04. 16:45 - 18:15 Hörsaal 2i NIG 2.Stock
Mittwoch 10.04. 16:45 - 18:15 Hörsaal 2i NIG 2.Stock
Mittwoch 08.05. 16:45 - 18:15 Hörsaal 2i NIG 2.Stock
Mittwoch 15.05. 16:45 - 18:15 Hörsaal 2i NIG 2.Stock
Mittwoch 22.05. 16:45 - 18:15 Hörsaal 2i NIG 2.Stock
Mittwoch 29.05. 16:45 - 18:15 Hörsaal 2i NIG 2.Stock
Mittwoch 05.06. 16:45 - 18:15 Hörsaal 2i NIG 2.Stock
Mittwoch 12.06. 16:45 - 18:15 Hörsaal 2i NIG 2.Stock
Mittwoch 19.06. 16:45 - 18:15 Hörsaal 2i NIG 2.Stock
Mittwoch 26.06. 16:45 - 18:15 Hörsaal 2i NIG 2.Stock

Information

Ziele, Inhalte und Methode der Lehrveranstaltung

„On Bullshit“ von Harry G. Frankfurt erschien erstmals 1986 in The Raritan Review. 2005 erschien der Text als selbständiges Büchlein bei Princeton University Press und wurde ein internationaler Verkaufsschlager. Es wurde in 25 Sprachen übersetzt. Gary L. Hardcastle und George A. Reisch sahen darin ein interessantes Beispiel dafür, wie eine philosophische Untersuchung im öffentlichen Raum, und zwar an der Schnittstelle zwischen akademischer Philosophie und Populärkultur erfolgreich intervenieren kann. In der Serie „Popular Culture and Philosophy“ veröffentlichten sie einen Band „Bullshit and Philosophy“ (Chicago and LaSalle, Illinois, 2006). Einige der darin enthaltenen Beiträge knüpfen kritisch an Harry Frankfurt an, andere nähern sich dem Thema aus anderen Blickwinkeln. Hardcastle und Reisch machen zu Recht darauf aufmerksam, dass sich das Thema in der europäischen Philosophie von Sokrates bis zu Wittgenstein und dem Wiener Kreis finden lässt: Wie lässt sich „leeres Gerede“ (verstehen wir „bullshit“ vorläufig als leeres Geschwätz) von gehaltvollen Behauptungen unterscheiden? Wie von falschen Behauptungen? Und wie von Lügen?
Im Seminar werden wir zunächst den Text von Harry Frankfurt und dann ausgewählte Aufsätze aus Hardcastle & Reisch (2006) diskutieren und uns die unterschiedlichen Bedeutungen, um die es darin geht, möglichst klar vor Augen führen. Dann werden wir Verbindungen sowohl historischer Art (z.B. zu Wittgenstein) als auch solche zu aktuellen Kontexten (z.B. André Spicer) herstellen.

Art der Leistungskontrolle und erlaubte Hilfsmittel

Die Lehrveranstaltung ist als intensive gemeinsame Auseinandersetzung der TeilnehmerInnen mit den zu Beginn der LV bekanntgegebenen Texten geplant. Die Arbeit in der LV besteht aus vier Komponenten, wobei die erste die wichtigste ist: 1 Jede/r Teilnehmer/in bereitet den für die jeweilige Sitzung vereinbarten Text vor und schreibt einen 1 bis 2 Seiten langen Kommentar. Dieser wird zwei Tage vor der Seminarsitzung auf Moodle hochgeladen. Er kann dort für die anderen TeilnehmerInnen eingesehen werden. (2) Impulsreferat. Zu Beginn jeder Sitzung stellen ein bis zwei TeilnehmerInnen eine strukturierte Übersicht über die Themen vor, die in den Kommentaren angesprochen wurden. Für die Sitzung, an denen die ein bis zwei TeilnehmerInnen die Kommentare vorstellen und so einen Impuls für die Diskussion geben, müssen sie selbst keinen Kommentar verfassen. (3) Teilnahme an der Diskussion (4) Abschlussessay (5bis 7 Seiten).

Mindestanforderungen und Beurteilungsmaßstab

1: 40%; 2: 20%; 3:20%; 4: 20%.

Sprache: Deutsch und Englisch.
ACHTUNG: Fast alle Texte sind auf Englisch. Die LV setzte also gute Englischkenntnisse voraus. Die Diskussion kann in Deutsch und Englisch geführt werden.

Prüfungsstoff

Literatur

Harry Frankfurt: On Bullshit, Princeton University Press 2005
Gary L. Hardcastle & George A. Reisch (eds): Bullshit and Philosophy, Chicago and LaSalle, Illinois, 2006
André Spicer: Business Bullshit, London & New York 2018
In der ersten Sitzung wird der Überblick über das Semester vorgestellt und weitere Literaturhinweise werden gegeben.

Zuordnung im Vorlesungsverzeichnis

Letzte Änderung: Mo 30.09.2019 12:28