Universität Wien FIND

Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, changes to courses and exams may be necessary at short notice. Inform yourself about the current status on u:find and check your e-mails regularly.

Please read the information on https://studieren.univie.ac.at/en/info.

267128 PR Laboratory Nuclear and Isotope Physics - 14C dating with Accelerator Mass Spectrometry (2021W)

for teacher students

10.00 ECTS (6.00 SWS), SPL 26 - Physik
Continuous assessment of course work
ON-SITE

Registration/Deregistration

Note: The time of your registration within the registration period has no effect on the allocation of places (no first come, first served).

Details

max. 4 participants
Language: German

Lecturers

Classes (iCal) - next class is marked with N

Update 15.09.2021:
The preliminary meeting as well as all sessions will take place on site, access and participation is only possible with 3G proof: vaccinated (fully immunized), recovered or tested (validity PCR 48h, antigen 24h). FFP2 masks are mandatory in all labs throughout the practical sessions. After successful registration you can participate in the free PCR test program of the Faculty of Physics (Covid-19 employee testing).

Dates by arrangement, 7 days a semester (5 of which are blocked in one week).

Tuesday 12.10. 12:00 - 13:00 Victor-Franz-Hess-Hörsaal, Währinger Straße 17, Hoftrakt, 1. Stk., 1090 Wien (Kickoff Class)

Information

Aims, contents and method of the course

This lab offers the opportunity to learn the technique and application of Accelerator Mass Spectrometry (AMS) by performing a 14C dating experiment at the Vienna Environmental Research Accelerator (VERA). In this way you experience working at a large scientific instrument, which is used for ultrasensitive mass spectrometry.

The course consists of intoductory presentations by the students, an intense week of beam time at the accelerator, data evaluation, summary talks, preparation of a protocol, an a protocol discussion. The scheduling is fixed in the opening meeting.

Assessment and permitted materials

Course with immanent character

Minimum requirements and assessment criteria

The participants will gain experience with a large scientific instrument through the performance of an AMS radiocarbon age determination. Further by the selection of this specific AMS application, the students will learn the basic principles of the 14C dating method as well. Students also learn to evaluate, to interpret and to present scientific data. The grade is composed equally of the presentations, the participation during the practical work and the protocol.

Examination topics

Practical training, literature search, presentation.

Reading list

A selection of appropriate literature is available on Moodle prior to the start of practical work.

Association in the course directory

UF MA PHYS 01a, UF MA PHYS 01b

Last modified: Fr 01.10.2021 13:49

Universität Wien FIND
Achtung! Das Lehrangebot ist noch nicht vollständig und wird bis Semesterbeginn laufend ergänzt.

267128 PR Praktikum Radioaktivität und Kernphysik - 14C-Datierung mittels Beschleunigermassenspektrometrie (2021W)

für Lehramtsstudierende

10.00 ECTS (6.00 SWS), SPL 26 - Physik
Prüfungsimmanente Lehrveranstaltung
VOR-ORT

An/Abmeldung

Hinweis: Ihr Anmeldezeitpunkt innerhalb der Frist hat keine Auswirkungen auf die Platzvergabe (kein "first come, first served").

Details

max. 4 Teilnehmer*innen
Sprache: Deutsch

Lehrende

Termine (iCal) - nächster Termin ist mit N markiert

Update 15.09.2021:
Die Vorbesprechung sowie alle Einheiten finden vor Ort statt, der Zutritt und die Teilnahme ist nur mit 3G-Nachweis möglich: Geimpft (vollimmunisiert), genesen oder getestet (Gültigkeit PCR 48h, Antigen 24h). Während der Praktikumseinheiten herrscht in den Laborräumen durchgehend FFP2-Maskenpflicht. Nach erfolgreicher Anmeldung können Sie am kostenlosen PCR-Gurgeltest-Programm der Fakultät für Physik (Covid-19 Mitarbeiter*innentests) teilnehmen.

Termine nach Übereinkunft, an 7 Tagen im Semester (davon 5 in einer Woche geblockt).

Dienstag 12.10. 12:00 - 13:00 Victor-Franz-Hess-Hörsaal, Währinger Straße 17, Hoftrakt, 1. Stk., 1090 Wien (Vorbesprechung)

Information

Ziele, Inhalte und Methode der Lehrveranstaltung

In diesem Praktikum soll die Technik und Anwendung der Accelerator Mass Spectrometry (AMS) am Beispiel einer 14C-Datierung am Vienna Environmental Research Accelerator (VERA) durchgeführt werden. Dies ermöglicht es, an einem wissenschaftlichen Großgerät direkte Erfahrung mit ultrasensitiver Massenspektrometrie zu sammeln.

Das Praktikum gliedert sich in Einführungsvorträge der Teilnehmer, einer intensiven Strahlzeitwoche am Beschleuniger, Datenauswertung, Durchführungsvorträgen, Protokollerstellung, und einer gemeinsamen Protokollbesprechung. Zu jedem Vortrag wird ein Vorbereitungstreffen mit einem Betreuer empfohlen. Die Termine werden in der Vorbesprechung fixiert.

Art der Leistungskontrolle und erlaubte Hilfsmittel

Lehrveranstaltung mit immanentem Prüfungscharakter

Mindestanforderungen und Beurteilungsmaßstab

Durch die Durchführung einer 14C-Datierung mittels Beschleunigermassenspektrometrie sollen die Teilnehmer einerseits direkte Erfahrung an einem wissenschaftlichen Großgerät gewinnen, andererseits sollen durch die Auswahl dieser AMS- Anwendung auch Kenntnisse der Grundlagen der 14C-Altersbestimmungsmethode erworben werden. Weiters soll das Auswerten, Interpretieren und Präsentieren von wissenschaftlichen Messergebnissen vertieft werden. Die Note setzt sich zu gleichen Teilen aus den Vorträgen, der Mitarbeit während des praktischen Arbeitens und dem Protokoll zusammen.

Prüfungsstoff

Praktisches Arbeiten, Literaturstudium, Vortrag.

Literatur

Eine Auswahl an geeigneter Literatur ist vor Beginn der praktischen Arbeiten auf Moodle erhältlich.

Zuordnung im Vorlesungsverzeichnis

UF MA PHYS 01a, UF MA PHYS 01b

Letzte Änderung: Fr 01.10.2021 13:49