Universität Wien FIND

Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, changes to courses and exams may be necessary at short notice. Inform yourself about the current status on u:find and check your e-mails regularly. Registration is mandatory for courses and exams. Wearing a FFP2 face mask and a valid evidence of being tested, vaccinated or have recovered from an infection are mandatory on site.

Please read the information on studieren.univie.ac.at/en/info.

270070 VO+UE Machine learning for molecules and materials (2020W)

with an introduction to python

4.00 ECTS (3.00 SWS), SPL 27 - Chemie
Continuous assessment of course work

Registration/Deregistration

Note: The time of your registration within the registration period has no effect on the allocation of places (no first come, first served).

Details

max. 50 participants
Language: English

Lecturers

Classes

The lecture will be held online (until further notice) via BigBlueButton. Since group discussions are planned, there is a fixed lecture time: Thursdays, 10:00-13:00. During this time, also the computer exercises will take place. First date: October 8, 2020.


Information

Aims, contents and method of the course

The basic concepts of machine learning in theoretical chemistry for molecular and materials systems will be presented. First, a general introduction of important machine learning models like neural networks and kernel-ridge regression will be provided. Python as programming language will be introduced for translating the learned concepts into computer codes. The concepts will be expanded and applied for molecular systems. Different types of representations of molecules will be discussed. Furthermore, machine learning for materials will be presented. The content will be presented in an intertwined sequence of presentations, sessions of flipped classroom and computer exercises.

The goals are:
- Understanding of and overview over machine learning methods for molecular and materials systems.
- Ability to write small programs in python, with a focus on machine learning for theoretical chemistry.
- Knowledge on solving problems with machine learning codes.

Assessment and permitted materials

Performance will be assessed through short tests and an oral presentation as well as the participation during the computer exercises and the lecture. It is possible to prove the performance by solving a problem in chemistry through machine learning.

Minimum requirements and assessment criteria

Basic knowledge of theoretical chemistry (Bachelor level: Hartree-Fock, harmonic oscillator, mathematical basics, etc.) is required. The grade consists of the average results of the short tests (30%), the oral presentation (30%) and the participation (40%).

Examination topics

Content of the lecture.

Reading list

- C. Bishop, Pattern recognition and machine Learning
- https://www.deeplearningbook.org/
Research articles as discussed during the oral presentations.

Association in the course directory

PC-4, D.4, MC-3, D.3, Doktorat

Last modified: Mo 05.10.2020 16:29

Universität Wien FIND

Auf Grund der COVID-19 Pandemie kann es bei Lehrveranstaltungen und Prüfungen auch kurzfristig zu Änderungen kommen. Informieren Sie sich laufend in u:find und checken Sie regelmäßig Ihre E-Mails.

Lesen Sie bitte die Informationen auf https://studieren.univie.ac.at/info.

270070 VO+UE Machine learning for molecules and materials (2020W)

with an introduction to python

4.00 ECTS (3.00 SWS), SPL 27 - Chemie
Prüfungsimmanente Lehrveranstaltung

An/Abmeldung

Hinweis: Ihr Anmeldezeitpunkt innerhalb der Frist hat keine Auswirkungen auf die Platzvergabe (kein "first come, first served").

Details

max. 50 Teilnehmer*innen
Sprache: Englisch

Lehrende

Termine

Die Lehrveranstaltung wird (bis auf weiteres) online über BigBlueButton gehalten. Da Gruppendiskussionen geplant sind, gibt es eine feste Vorlesungszeit: Donnerstags, 10:00-13:00 Uhr. Während dieser Zeit finden auch die Computerübungen statt. Erster Termin: 08.10.2020


Information

Ziele, Inhalte und Methode der Lehrveranstaltung

Die Grundkonzepte des maschinellen Lernens in der theoretischen Chemie für Moleküle und Materialien werden vorgestellt. Zunächst wird eine allgemeine Einführung in wichtige Modelle des maschinelle Lernens wie neuronale Netze und Kernel-Ridge-Regression gegeben. Python als Programmiersprache wird eingeführt, um die erlernten Konzepte in Computercodes zu übersetzen. Die Konzepte werden erweitert und auf molekulare Systeme angewendet. Verschiedene Arten von Darstellungen von Molekülen werden diskutiert. Darüber hinaus wird maschinelles Lernen für Materialien vorgestellt. Die Inhalte werden in einer ineinandergreifenden Abfolge von Präsentationen, Sitzungen mit "flipped classroom" und Computerübungen präsentiert.

Die Ziele sind:
- Verständnis und Überblick über Methoden des maschinelle Lernens für Moleküle und Materialien.
- Fähigkeit, kleine Programme in Python zu schreiben, mit einem Schwerpunkt auf maschinelles Lernen für die theoretische Chemie.
- Kenntnisse über das Lösen von Problemen mit maschinellem Lernen.

Art der Leistungskontrolle und erlaubte Hilfsmittel

Die Leistung wird durch Kurztests und eine mündliche Präsentation, sowie die Mitarbeit bei den Computerübungen und der Vorlesung bewertet. Es besteht die Möglichkeit, die Leistung durch das Lösen eines eigenen Problems aus der Chemie mittels maschinellem Lernen unter Beweis zu stellen.

Mindestanforderungen und Beurteilungsmaßstab

Grundkenntnisse aus der theoretischen Chemie (Bachelorniveau: Hartree-Fock, harmonischer Oszillator, mathematische Grundlagen, etc.) werden vorausgesetzt. Die Note setzt sich aus den gemittelten Ergebnissen der Kurztests (30%), der mündlichen Präsentation (30%) und der Mitarbeit (40%) zusammen.

Prüfungsstoff

Inhalt der Vorlesung.

Literatur

- C. Bishop, Pattern recognition and machine Learning
- https://www.deeplearningbook.org/
Forschungsartikel, wie sie in den Vorträgen diskutiert werden.

Zuordnung im Vorlesungsverzeichnis

PC-4, D.4, MC-3, D.3, Doktorat

Letzte Änderung: Mo 05.10.2020 16:29