Universität Wien FIND

Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, changes to courses and exams may be necessary at short notice (e.g. cancellation of on-site teaching and conversion to online exams). Register for courses/exams via u:space, find out about the current status on u:find and on the moodle learning platform. NOTE: Courses where at least one unit is on-site are currently marked "on-site" in u:find.

Further information about on-site teaching and access tests can be found at https://studieren.univie.ac.at/en/info.

270121 UE Solid State Chemistry (2017S)

Properties and Structure of Materials

5.00 ECTS (5.00 SWS), SPL 27 - Chemie
Continuous assessment of course work

Block im Mai/Juni
Forschungslabors

Registration/Deregistration

Note: The time of your registration within the registration period has no effect on the allocation of places (no first come, first serve).

Details

max. 6 participants
Language: German

Lecturers

Classes

Introduction & Course schedule will be discussed on 08.03., 16.15, HS4


Information

Aims, contents and method of the course

We introduce the most important methods for the analysis of solid inorganic materials using modern scientific equipment. The course is focused on sample preparation, the investigation of phase diagrams and the use dynamic methods of thermal analysis. The following techniques will be used: arc melting and vacuum sealing of samples; metallographic preparation; metallography (light optical microscopy); DTA (differential thermal analysis); TGA (thermogravimetric analysis); SEM (scanning electron microscopy); XRD (powder X-ray diffraction).
The laboratory work includes 1) Sample preparation and heat treatment. 2) Phase diagram investigation based on a combination of DTA, metallography and X-ray diffraction. 3) Thermogravimetric measurements. 4) Wetting of metallic substrate with liquid alloys and investigation of the reaction zone with SEM.

Assessment and permitted materials

Quality of practical work and written protocol

Minimum requirements and assessment criteria

The students gain deeper knowledge of methods used for the characterization of solids with special focus to phase equilibria and thermal reactions. They are introduced into the use of modern scientific equipment and learn to interpret their measurement results.

Examination topics

Practical exercises, evaluation, interpretation and documentation

Reading list


Association in the course directory

AC-5, D.2

Last modified: Mo 07.09.2020 15:41

Universität Wien FIND
Achtung! Das Lehrangebot ist noch nicht vollständig und wird bis Semesterbeginn laufend ergänzt.

270121 UE Festkörperchemie (2017S)

Eigenschaften und Struktur von Materialien

5.00 ECTS (5.00 SWS), SPL 27 - Chemie
Prüfungsimmanente Lehrveranstaltung

Block im Mai/Juni
Forschungslabors

Details

max. 6 Teilnehmer*innen
Sprache: Deutsch

Lehrende

Termine

Vorbesprechung im Rahmen der ersten Vorlesung "Experimentelle Methoden zur Phasendiagramm-Untersuchung" am Mi., 08.03., 16.15 im HS 4


Information

Ziele, Inhalte und Methode der Lehrveranstaltung

Im Rahmen des Praktikums werden die wichtigsten Methoden zur Analyse von Festkörpern unter Einsatz von modernen Geräten erlernt. Der Schwerpunkt liegt dabei auf der Probenpräparation, der Untersuchung von Phasendiagrammen und der Anwendung dynamisch-thermischer Methoden. Es kommen folgende Methoden zum Einsatz: Lichtbogenschmelzen und Einschmelzen unter Vakuum; metallographische Präparation; Metallographie (Auflichtmikroskopie); DTA (Differenzthermoanalyse); TGA (Thermogravimetrische Analyse); SEM (Rasterelektronenmikroskopie); XRD (Röntgen-Pulverdiffraktometrie).
Das Praktikum besteht aus mehreren Beispielen: 1) Präparation und Wärmebehandlung metallischer Proben. 2) Phasendiagrammuntersuchung durch Kombination von thermischer Analyse mit Metallographie und Röntgendiffraktometrie. 3)Thermogravimetrische Untersuchungen. 4) Benetzung metallischer Substrate mit flüssigen Legierungen und Untersuchung der Reaktionszone mittels Rasterelektronenmikroskopie.

Art der Leistungskontrolle und erlaubte Hilfsmittel

Qualität der praktischen Arbeit und der Protokolle

Mindestanforderungen und Beurteilungsmaßstab

Die Studierenden erwerben vertiefendes Wissen über verschiedene Methoden zur Untersuchung von Festkörpern mit Schwerpunkt Phasengleichgewichte und thermische Reaktionen. Sie werden in die Benützung moderner Geräte eingeführt und in die Lage versetzt ihre Messergebnisse zu interpretieren.

Prüfungsstoff

Praktisches Arbeiten, Auswertung, Interpretation und Protokollierung

Literatur


Zuordnung im Vorlesungsverzeichnis

AC-5, D.2

Letzte Änderung: Mo 18.09.2017 13:30