Universität Wien FIND
Warning! The directory is not yet complete and will be amended until the beginning of the term.

290135 PS Dimension of forced migration in Southeast Asia and East Africa (2019S)

4.00 ECTS (2.00 SWS), SPL 29 - Geographie
Continuous assessment of course work

Registration/Deregistration

Details

max. 20 participants
Language: German

Lecturers

Classes (iCal) - next class is marked with N

No show in the first session will result in the deregristration from the course.

Friday 15.03. 12:00 - 17:00 Seminarraum 2A310 3.OG UZA II
Friday 12.04. 12:00 - 17:00 Seminarraum 2A310 3.OG UZA II
Friday 10.05. 12:00 - 17:00 Seminarraum 2A310 3.OG UZA II
Friday 07.06. 12:00 - 17:00 Seminarraum 2A310 3.OG UZA II
Friday 28.06. 12:00 - 17:00 Seminarraum 2A310 3.OG UZA II

Information

Aims, contents and method of the course

Since the number of refugees is recorded globally, there have never been as many people fleeing wars, armed conflicts, the effects of natural disasters and climate change, aggressive developmental politics, and economic deprivation as today. According to the United Nations, the year 2017 saw 68,5 million refugees worldwide. In 2005, this number was at 37,5 million. Thus, it is little surprising that humanitarian assistance for refugees, receiving and integrating refugees in their host countries as well as combating the causes of forced migration have become core political fields of action of a global dimension with complex interconnections that are currently being debated controversially in civil society as well as in politics.

Although the topic of forced migration is constructed as an immigration phenomenon to Europe in most media, the largest forced migration movements take place within state borders or between neighboring states in the so-called Global South. Against this background, the seminar focuses on two regions – Southeast Asia and East Africa – that have been characterized by significant forced migration movements for decades, but are rarely present in the German-speaking media.

The United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees estimates the number of refugees in Southeast Asia at 3.37 million in 2017. Far higher, however, is the number of those displaced in the region within national borders. The Internal Displacement Monitoring Center (IDMC) estimates the number of internally displaced people in Southeast Asia for 2017 at 5.9 million. At the same time, the region has one of the weakest protection frameworks for refugees worldwide. The region East Africa - in particular Djibouti, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Kenya, Somalia, South Sudan, Sudan and Uganda - is characterized by complex migration movements, which have a significant share of refugees and internally displaced persons. In the region itself, Ethiopia, Kenya and Uganda are the main receiving countries of refugees from the region. Uganda, with more than 1.2 million refugees, hosts the largest number of refugees, followed by Ethiopia with over 800,000 refugees due forced migration movements from South Sudan. Eritrea, Somalia, South Sudan and Sudan are particularly affected by protracted forced expulsions and forced migration movements.

The seminar will deal with different dimensions of forced migration movements based on case studies from the above-mentioned regions. These include drivers of forced migration, migration routes, accommodation and livelihoods of refugees, vulnerability in the context of forced migration, protection standards, durable solutions (integration, repatriation, resettlement), gender in the context of forced migration, and the role of national governments, confederations, and international refugee aid organizations such as the United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees (UNHCR) and the International Organization for Migration (IOM).

Methodologically, the seminar is structured as a research and writing workshop, which will offer the students the opportunity to create a scientific research paper in groups of two or three along clearly defined work steps that will be facilitated by the course instructors. This will include both continuous feedback from the course instructors and peer feedback from the participants. The seminar will be held on five blocked dates: (1) thematic and methodological input, topic assignment; (2.) presentation of the topic and the research question; (3.) presentation of the research proposal with feedback; (4) presentation of the revised research proposal; (5.) presentation of the research results.

Assessment and permitted materials

The following requirements must be fulfilled in order to pass the course:

• regular attendance and active participation
• own research work
• in class presentation of reserach topic and research question
• written peer-feedback
• in class presentation of research proposal
• in class presentation of research results
• writing of a term paper (10 pages, to be submitted by 31 July, 2019)

Minimum requirements and assessment criteria

Attendance in at least 80% of the course sessions. In the case of illnesses that are confirmed by a doctor's note, additional absenteeism can be compensated by additional written assignments.

The overall grade for the class will consist of an in class presentation of the reserach topic and the research question (10%), a written peer-feedback (10%), an in class presentation of the revised research proposal (20%), an in class presentation of the research results (20%) and a written term paper (40%). All assignments have to be passed individually in order to pass the course. An assignment is passed with a minimum grade of 4.

Grading scheme:

100 - 87,5 % - grade 1
87,5 - 75 % - grade 2
75 - 62,5 % - grade 3
62,5 - 50 % - grade 4
less than 50% - grade 5

Examination topics

The examination will encompass the work items as outlined in the course requirements.

Reading list

All texts for compulsory readings can be downloaded in the Moodle course.

Association in the course directory

(MG-S4-PI.f) (MG-S6-PI.f) (MG-W5-PI) (L2-b4) (L2-b-sLV) (L2-d2) (L2-d-zLV) (MA UF GW 02)

Last modified: We 06.02.2019 14:08

Universität Wien FIND

Bedingt durch die COVID-19-Pandemie können kurzfristige Änderungen bei Lehrveranstaltungen und Prüfungen (z.B. Absage von Vor-Ort-Lehre und Umstellung auf Online-Prüfungen) erforderlich sein. Melden Sie sich für Lehrveranstaltungen/Prüfungen über u:space an, informieren Sie sich über den aktuellen Stand auf u:find und auf der Lernplattform moodle.

Regelungen zum Lehrbetrieb vor Ort inkl. Eintrittstests finden Sie unter https://studieren.univie.ac.at/info.

Achtung! Das Lehrangebot ist noch nicht vollständig und wird bis Semesterbeginn laufend ergänzt.

290135 PS Dimensionen von Flucht und Vertreibung in Südostasien und Ostafrika (2019S)

4.00 ECTS (2.00 SWS), SPL 29 - Geographie
Prüfungsimmanente Lehrveranstaltung

An/Abmeldung

Hinweis: Ihr Anmeldezeitpunkt innerhalb der Frist hat keine Auswirkungen auf die Platzvergabe (kein "first come, first served").

Details

max. 20 Teilnehmer*innen
Sprache: Deutsch

Lehrende

Termine (iCal) - nächster Termin ist mit N markiert

Nichterschienen in der ersten Sitzung führt zur automatischen Abmeldung von der Lehrveranstaltung.

Freitag 15.03. 12:00 - 17:00 Seminarraum 2A310 3.OG UZA II
Freitag 12.04. 12:00 - 17:00 Seminarraum 2A310 3.OG UZA II
Freitag 10.05. 12:00 - 17:00 Seminarraum 2A310 3.OG UZA II
Freitag 07.06. 12:00 - 17:00 Seminarraum 2A310 3.OG UZA II
Freitag 28.06. 12:00 - 17:00 Seminarraum 2A310 3.OG UZA II

Information

Ziele, Inhalte und Methode der Lehrveranstaltung

Seit Flüchtlingszahlen global erhoben werden, war die Zahl der Menschen, die vor Kriegen, bewaffneten Konflikten, den Folgen von Umweltkatastrophen und des Klimawandels, aggressiver Entwicklungspolitik sowie ökonomischer Deprivation fliehen, noch nie so hoch wie heute. Das Flüchtlingskommissariat der Vereinten Nationen schätzt die Zahl der weltweiten Flüchtlinge für das Jahr 2017 auf 68,5 Millionen Menschen. Im Jahr 2005 lag diese Schätzung noch bei 37,5 Millionen. Es nimmt daher wenig Wunder, dass Flüchtlings(not)hilfe, die Aufnahme von Flüchtlingen und ihre Integration in den Aufnahmeländern sowie „Flucht(ursachen)bekämpfung“ zentrale politische Handlungsfelder von globaler Dimension und Verflechtung sind, die sowohl zivilgesellschaftlich als auch politisch kontrovers diskutiert werden.

Obgleich das Thema Flucht und Vertreibung medial vor allem als Zuwanderungsphänomen nach Europa konstruiert wird, finden die mit Abstand größten Fluchtbewegungen im sogenannten Globalen Süden innerhalb von Landesgrenzen bzw. zwischen benachbarten Staaten statt. Vor diesem Hintergrund nimmt das Seminar mit Südostasien und Ostafrika zwei Regionen in den Blick, die zwar seit Jahrzehnten von signifikanten Fluchtbewegungen geprägt werden, jedoch kaum in der deutschsprachigen Medienöffentlichkeit präsent sind.

Das Flüchtlingskommissariat der Vereinten Nationen schätzt der Zahl der Flüchtlinge in Südostasien für das Jahr 2017 auf 3,37 Millionen Menschen. Weitaus höher ist jedoch die Anzahl derer, die in der Region innerhalb von Landesgrenzen vertrieben wurden. So schätzt das Internal Displacement Monitoring Center (IDMC) die Zahl der Binnenflüchtlinge in den Ländern Südostasien für das Jahr 2017 auf 5,9 Millionen Menschen. Gleichermaßen weist die Region einen der geringsten Standards für den Schutz von Flüchtlingen weltweit auf. Die Region östliches Afrika – im Speziellen Dschibuti, Eritrea, Äthiopien, Kenia, Somalia, Süd-Sudan, Sudan und Uganda ¬– ist durch komplexe Migrationsbewegungen gekennzeichnet, die einen signifikanten Anteil an Flüchtlingen und Binnenvertriebenen aufweisen. In der Region selbst sind Äthiopien, Kenia und Uganda die Hauptaufnahmeländer für Flüchtlinge aus der Region. Durch die Fluchtbewegung aus dem Süd-Sudan wurde Uganda, mit über 1,2 Millionen Flüchtlingen, zu dem Land mit der größten Anzahl an Geflüchteten, gefolgt von Äthiopien mit über 800.000 Geflüchteten. Besonders betroffen von langwieriger Vertreibung und Fluchtbewegungen sind Eritrea, Somalia, Süd-Sudan und der Sudan.

Im Rahmen des Seminars sollen unterschiedliche Dimensionen von Flucht und Vertreibung anhand von Fallbeispielen aus den genannten Regionen bearbeitet werden. Hierzu zählen unter anderem Fluchtursachen, Fluchtrouten, die Unterbringung und Livelihoods von Geflüchteten, Vulnerabilität im Kontext von Flucht und Vertreibung, Schutzstandards, langfristige Lösungen (integration, repratriation, resettlement), Gender im Kontext von Flucht und Vertreibung sowie die Rolle von nationalen Regierungen, Staatenbündnissen und internationalen Organisationen der Flüchtlingshilfe wie das Flüchtlingskommissariat der Vereinten Nationen (UNHCR) und die Internationale Organisation für Migration (IOM) .

Das Seminar ist methodisch als Forschungs- und Schreibworkshop strukturiert, der den Studierenden die Möglichkeit eröffnen soll, in Zweier- und Dreiergruppen eine wissenschaftliche Hausarbeit entlang klar vorgegebener und begleiteter Arbeitsschritte zu erstellen. Dies wird sowohl ein kontinuierliches Feedback der LehrveranstaltungsleiterInnen als auch Peer-Feedbacks der TeilnehmerInnen beinhalten. Die Veranstaltung findet an fünf geblockten Terminen statt: (1.) Inhaltlicher und methodischer Input, Themenvergabe; (2.) Präsentation des Themas und der Forschungsfrage; (3.) Präsentation der Disposition zur wissenschaftlichen Hausarbeit mit Feedback; (4.) Präsentation der überarbeiteten Disposition; (5.) Präsentation der Arbeitsergebnisse.

Art der Leistungskontrolle und erlaubte Hilfsmittel

Für den erfolgreichen Abschluss des Seminars sind folgenden Leistungen zu erbringen:

• regelmäßige und aktive Teilnahme an der Veranstaltung,
• eigenständige Recherchearbeiten,
• Präsentation des Themas und der Forschungsfrage
• Schriftliches Peer-Feedback
• Präsentation der Disposition
• Präsentation der Arbeitsergebnisse
• Verfassen einer wissenschaftlichen Hausarbeit (10 Seiten), Abgabe bis 31.07.2019

Mindestanforderungen und Beurteilungsmaßstab

Anwesenheit in mindestens 80 Prozent der Seminarsitzungen. Bei Erkrankungen, die mit Attest nachgewiesen werden, können darüber hinausgehende Fehlzeiten durch zusätzliche schriftliche Aufgaben ausgeglichen werden.

Die Gesamtnote setzt sich aus der Präsentation des Themas und der Forschungsfrage (10%), dem Peer-Feedback (10%) der Präsentation der überarbeiteten Disposition (20%), der Präsentation der Arbeitsergebnisse (20%) sowie der wissenschaftlichen Hausarbeit (40%) zusammen. Alle Teilleistungen sind für eine positive Abschlussbeurteilung unabhängig voneinander zu bestehen. Die Leistungen sind bestanden, wenn sie mindestens mit der Note 4 bewertet wurden.

Benotungsschlüssel:

100 - 87,5 % - Note 1
87,5 - 75 % - Note 2
75 - 62,5 % - Note 3
62,5 - 50 % - Note 4
weniger als 50% - Note 5

Die Bewertungskriterien für die Teilleistungen können auf Moodle eingesehen werden und werden im Seminar gesondert erläutert.

Prüfungsstoff

Der Prüfungsstoff umfasst die genannten Teilleistungen der Lehrveranstaltung.

Literatur

Die Seminarlektüre wird im Moodlekurs zur Verfügung gestellt.

Zuordnung im Vorlesungsverzeichnis

(MG-S4-PI.f) (MG-S6-PI.f) (MG-W5-PI) (L2-b4) (L2-b-sLV) (L2-d2) (L2-d-zLV) (MA UF GW 02)

Letzte Änderung: Mo 07.09.2020 15:42