Universität Wien FIND

Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, changes to courses and exams may be necessary at short notice (e.g. cancellation of on-site teaching and conversion to online exams). Register for courses/exams via u:space, find out about the current status on u:find and on the moodle learning platform.

Further information about on-site teaching can be found at https://studieren.univie.ac.at/en/info.

300089 PP Ethological practice for Bachelor-students in Gruenau (2018S)

10.00 ECTS (6.00 SWS), SPL 30 - Biologie
Continuous assessment of course work

Registration/Deregistration

Details

max. 12 participants
Language: German

Lecturers

Classes

Starts every first monday in a month, 3.week presence at the KLF in Grünau required. By appointment only, in the Vorbesprechung at the Beginning of the semester at the Dept. Ethology, Althanstr.


Information

Aims, contents and method of the course

In the three-week bakk-practicum in a team of up to 3) a scientific stand-alone behavioural biology project with greylag geese, Northern bald ibis or corvids is done. After an producing an ethgogram with the animal model chosen and after working out research questions and approaches (2-3d) in close collaboration with the local supervisors, data taking takes approx 10d, the follows data analysis and writing of the bakk-paper. In cases finishing the bakk-manuscript after the tr5hee weeks period at the KLF is possible. Topics are in the area of social organization and depend on season.
Aim of the bakk-project is producing a bakk-thesis-manuscript, in German or German. In general, this ms needs to fit the requirement for submission at a scientific journal. In the course of the bakk-project, a range of scientific methods, including experimental design, data taking and data analysis, as well as scientific writing are practiced.

Assessment and permitted materials

Daily discussions, with the supervising team, regular meetings to monitor the work progress and in particular, to discuss the theory background of the actual work, final presentation and discussion of results (20 min ppt) with KLF staff audience; final bacc. Report meeting state of the art scientific standards.

Minimum requirements and assessment criteria

In the course of the practicum a research projects shall be planned, data collected, analysed and the final report written, all this as independently and creatively as possible. Hence, a basic knowledge of behavioural biology and of scientific methods is required: minimum are the university requirements to be admitted to start a bakk-project.

Examination topics

Bakk-Manuscript (s. Leistungskontrolle)

Reading list

Relevant literature (methods, original papers) will be integrated in the three weeks practicum phase at the KLF.

Association in the course directory

B-BZO 13, BZO 13

Last modified: Mo 07.09.2020 15:43

Universität Wien FIND

Bedingt durch die COVID-19-Pandemie können kurzfristige Änderungen bei Lehrveranstaltungen und Prüfungen (z.B. Absage von Vor-Ort-Lehre und Umstellung auf Online-Prüfungen) erforderlich sein. Melden Sie sich für Lehrveranstaltungen/Prüfungen über u:space an, informieren Sie sich über den aktuellen Stand auf u:find und auf der Lernplattform moodle.

Weitere Informationen zum Lehrbetrieb vor Ort finden Sie unter https://studieren.univie.ac.at/info.

300089 PP Ethologisches Bachelorpraktikum, Grünau (2018S)

10.00 ECTS (6.00 SWS), SPL 30 - Biologie
Prüfungsimmanente Lehrveranstaltung

An/Abmeldung

Details

max. 12 Teilnehmer*innen
Sprache: Deutsch

Lehrende

Termine

Vorbesprechung am 08.03.2018 um 13:00 Uhr im Besprechungszimmer des Department für Verhaltensbiologie, UZA 1, Biozentrum Althanstraße 14, 1090 Wien
Beginnt jeweils am ersten Mo im Monat, 3-Wöchige Anwesenheit an der KLF in Grünau erforderlich, Termine nach Vereinbarung in der Vorbesprechung zu Semsterbeginn (Abt. Ethologie, Althanstraße).


Information

Ziele, Inhalte und Methode der Lehrveranstaltung

Bakk-Project in German or English possible.Im dreiwöchigen Praktikum wird alleine oder in einem Studierendenteam von max 3 Personen ein eigenständiges Projekt vor allem an Graugänsen, Waldrappen oder Rabenvögeln durchgeführt. Nach Erstellung eines Ethogramms zur jeweiligen Modellart und dem Erarbeiten der Fragestellung gemeinsam mit den BetreuerInnen (2-3 Tage) beginnt eine 10-tägige Datennahme. Schließlich wird ausgewertet und die Bakk-Arbeit geschrieben. In Ausnahmefällen kann die Arbeit auch im Anschluß an die dreiwöchigen Aufenthalt an der KLF abgeschlossen werden. Themen im Bereich sozialer Organisation, saisonal unterschiedlich.
Ziel des Bakkalaureatspraktikums ist die Erstellung einer Bakk-Arbeit, wahlweise in deutscher oder englischer Sprache. Die Arbeit sollte prinzipiell die Qualität eines publikationsfähigen Manuskripts aufweisen. Dabei soll weitgehend selbständiges wissenschaftliches Arbeiten, insbesondere Methoden, und wissenschaftliches Schreiben praktiziert werden.

Art der Leistungskontrolle und erlaubte Hilfsmittel

Tägliche Diskussionen mit den Betreuungsteam, mehrmals wöchentlich Besprechungen, v.a. um theoret. Hintergründe zu klären, Abschluss-Seminar (20 min ppt-Präsentation und Diskussion im Kreise des KLF Teams. Bakk-Arbeit, die den state oft the art wissenschaftlichen Kriterien entspricht.

Mindestanforderungen und Beurteilungsmaßstab

Da es Ziel des Praktikus ist es, so eigenständig wie möglich ein Projekt von der Planung, Datennahme, bis zur Abfassung eines wissenschaftlichen Berichts durchzuführen und so Vorgansweise und Methoden praktisch zu trainieren, sind Grundkenntnisse in Verhaltensbiologie und im wissenschaftlichen Arbeiten erforderlich; zumindest aber die universitären Minimalerfordernisse für die Zulassung zu einem Bakk-Projekt.

Prüfungsstoff

Bakk-Arbeit (s. Leistungskontrolle)

Literatur

Relevante Literatur (Methoden, Originalliteratur) wird in den 3 Wochen Praktikum und im zugehörigen Parallelseminar bearbeitet, besprochen und in die Praktikumsarbeit integriert.

Zuordnung im Vorlesungsverzeichnis

B-BZO 13, BZO 13

Letzte Änderung: Mo 07.09.2020 15:43