Universität Wien FIND

Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, changes to courses and exams may be necessary at short notice. Inform yourself about the current status on u:find and check your e-mails regularly.

Please read the information on https://studieren.univie.ac.at/en/info.

300118 VO Conservation research in international practice - socio-ecological perspectives and implementation (2021W)

3.00 ECTS (2.00 SWS), SPL 30 - Biologie
MIXED
Tu 14.12. 17:00-19:00 Digital

Registration/Deregistration

Note: The time of your registration within the registration period has no effect on the allocation of places (no first come, first served).

Details

Language: English

Examination dates

Lecturers

Classes (iCal) - next class is marked with N

IMPORTANT ANNOUNCEMENT: Due to the new lockdown, the next November and December units of this lecture will be given digital/online only via Live-Stream on Moodle. The units will be recorded and uploaded afterwards on Moodle. This affects the units in November and December (23.11.; 30.11.; 07.12. and 14.12.). The times of the units will remain the same as originally announced – (Tuesday, 17:00-19:00pm). If the last two units in January will be possible hybrid again is unclear yet and will be decided and announced by beginning of the new year, latest on 7th January.

GENERAL INFORMATION: The lecture will take place ON-SITE in compliance with current COVID security regulations (see dates/room details). Further information can be found online under "COVID-19 information about university operations". The lecture is designed as an ON-SITE course and will also be recorded. The learning materials/slides and recordings of the lecture will be made available online via Moodle shortly before and after each lecture. Thus, in addition to the interactive ON-SITE course, there is also the possibility to participate in a reduced/digital form of the lecture. Attendance at the lecture is not mandatory but recommended due to the interactive nature of the course.

IMPORTANT: Please inform yourself before the individual dates of the lecture about the place and time of the lecture since adjustments may be necessary due to COVID-security measures and/or students feedback (i.e.: changes between on-site or digital lectures). Changes will be announced at least one week in advance and will not affect the dates of the individual lectures.

Tuesday 05.10. 17:00 - 19:00 Digital
Tuesday 12.10. 17:00 - 19:00 Hybride Lehre
Hörsaal (Fakultätszentrum für Biodiversität) Rennweg EG
Tuesday 19.10. 17:00 - 19:00 Hybride Lehre
Hörsaal (Fakultätszentrum für Biodiversität) Rennweg EG
Thursday 28.10. 14:00 - 16:00 Digital
Tuesday 09.11. 17:00 - 19:00 Hybride Lehre
Hörsaal (Fakultätszentrum für Biodiversität) Rennweg EG
Tuesday 16.11. 17:00 - 19:00 Hybride Lehre
Hörsaal (Fakultätszentrum für Biodiversität) Rennweg EG
Tuesday 23.11. 17:00 - 19:00 Digital
Tuesday 30.11. 17:00 - 19:00 Digital
Tuesday 07.12. 17:00 - 19:00 Digital
Tuesday 11.01. 17:00 - 19:00 Hybride Lehre
Hörsaal (Fakultätszentrum für Biodiversität) Rennweg EG
Tuesday 18.01. 17:00 - 19:00 Hybride Lehre
Hörsaal (Fakultätszentrum für Biodiversität) Rennweg EG

Information

Aims, contents and method of the course

This course provides an overview of international conservation research in the context of socio-ecological opportunities and challenges that affect its practical implementation in biodiversity and ecosystem management. Basic concepts, methods and guidelines of international conservation research form the core content of the course. Through interactive and multimedia teaching content (including live polls; learning videos; e-scripts and e-learning via Moodle), as well as through extensive references to current examples from scientific and applied fields (including sustainable development, biodiversity management, debates from agroecology and conservation policy), this core content is deepened and made applicable to new research questions. The aim of the course is to present diverse empirical perspectives from these fields, as well as to convey the possibilities and differences of multidisciplinary approaches to international conservation science. The course is especially aimed at students who are interested in planning and implementing cross-disciplinary research projects in an international conservation science context, and who would like to orient themselves in this field.

Assessment and permitted materials

Written exam (combinations of multiple-choice and open questions referring to the learning materials). If required and after personal consultation, the design of deviating/accessible learning and examination methods is possible. The examination will be held in English (questions and answers). Aids are not permitted.

Minimum requirements and assessment criteria

Overview of concepts, methods and guidelines of international conservation research (core content of the course). Students will be able to correctly classify, describe and compare the concepts and methods presented according to the learning materials (see also exam material). Attendance is not mandatory for this course - however, student attendance is recommended for participation in interactive, in-depth course content and the formation of integrated learning communities (see also notes on course dates and COVID security measures above). If required and after personal consultation, the design of deviating/accessible learning and examination methods is possible. The assessment is based on a point system (a total of 50 points can be achieved; a positive assessment starts at 26 points).

Examination topics

In a final, written exam, questions on the core content of the course are to be answered (combinations of multiple-choice and open questions referring to the learning materials provided via Moodle). Students are given several questions in which they are expected to correctly match, describe, and compare the concepts and methods presented according to the learning materials. Additional and interactive learning content is used to enliven the course and reinforce the core content, but is not part of the exam material. Information on how to prepare for the exam will be given and questions answered several times during the course. If required and after personal consultation, the design of deviating/accessible learning and examination methods is possible. The examination will be held in English (questions and answers). Aids are not permitted.

Reading list

The slides for the course as well as in-depth literature and source references will be made available via e-scripts and the e-learning platform Moodle.

Association in the course directory

MNB 2, MEC-9, M-WZB, MBO 7, UF MA BU 01, UF MA BU 04, MNB1

Last modified: Mo 22.11.2021 07:09

Universität Wien FIND

Auf Grund der COVID-19 Pandemie kann es bei Lehrveranstaltungen und Prüfungen auch kurzfristig zu Änderungen kommen. Informieren Sie sich laufend in u:find und checken Sie regelmäßig Ihre E-Mails.

Lesen Sie bitte die Informationen auf https://studieren.univie.ac.at/info.

300118 VO Conservation research in international practice - socio-ecological perspectives and implementation (2021W)

3.00 ECTS (2.00 SWS), SPL 30 - Biologie
GEMISCHT
Di 07.12. 17:00-19:00 Digital

An/Abmeldung

Hinweis: Ihr Anmeldezeitpunkt innerhalb der Frist hat keine Auswirkungen auf die Platzvergabe (kein "first come, first served").

Details

Sprache: Englisch

Prüfungstermine

Lehrende

Termine (iCal) - nächster Termin ist mit N markiert

WICHTIGE ANKÜNDIGUNG: Aufgrund der neuen Ausgangssperre werden die nächsten November- und Dezember-Einheiten dieser Vorlesung nur digital/online via Live-Stream auf Moodle gehalten. Die Einheiten werden aufgezeichnet und anschließend auf Moodle hochgeladen. Dies betrifft die Einheiten im November und Dezember (23.11.; 30.11.; 07.12. und 14.12.). Die Zeiten der Einheiten bleiben die gleichen wie ursprünglich angekündigt - (Dienstag, 17:00-19:00 Uhr). Ob die letzten beiden Einheiten im Januar wieder als Hybrid-Lehre möglich sein werden, ist noch unklar und wird zu Beginn des neuen Jahres, spätestens am 7. Januar, entschieden und bekannt gegeben.

ALLGEMEINE INFORMATIONEN: Die Vorlesung findet unter Einhaltung aktueller COVID-Sicherheitsbestimmungen VOR-ORT statt (siehe Termine/Raumangaben). Nähere Informationen dazu sind unter „COVID-19 Informationen zum Unibetrieb“ online zu finden. Die Vorlesung ist als VOR-ORT-Lehrveranstaltung konzipiert und wird zusätzlich aufgezeichnet. Die Lernunterlagen/Folien und Aufzeichnungen der Vorlesung werden kurz vor bzw. nach jedem Vortrag über Moodle online zur Verfügung gestellt. Somit gibt es zusätzlich zum interaktiven VOR-ORT Lehrangebot auch die Möglichkeit, an einer reduzierten/digitalen Form der Vorlesung teilzunehmen. Anwesenheit bei der Vorlesung ist nicht verpflichtend wird jedoch auf Grund der interaktiven Lehrinhalte empfohlen.

WICHTIG: Bitte informieren Sie sich vor den einzelnen Vorlesungsterminen über Ort und Zeit der Vorlesung, da aufgrund von COVID-Sicherheitsmaßnahmen und/oder Rückmeldungen von Studierenden Anpassungen notwendig sein können (z.B.: Wechsel zwischen Vor-Ort- oder digitalen Vorlesungen). Die Änderungen werden mindestens eine Woche vorher bekannt gegeben und haben keinen Einfluss auf die Termine der einzelnen Vorlesungen.

Dienstag 05.10. 17:00 - 19:00 Digital
Dienstag 12.10. 17:00 - 19:00 Hybride Lehre
Hörsaal (Fakultätszentrum für Biodiversität) Rennweg EG
Dienstag 19.10. 17:00 - 19:00 Hybride Lehre
Hörsaal (Fakultätszentrum für Biodiversität) Rennweg EG
Donnerstag 28.10. 14:00 - 16:00 Digital
Dienstag 09.11. 17:00 - 19:00 Hybride Lehre
Hörsaal (Fakultätszentrum für Biodiversität) Rennweg EG
Dienstag 16.11. 17:00 - 19:00 Hybride Lehre
Hörsaal (Fakultätszentrum für Biodiversität) Rennweg EG
Dienstag 23.11. 17:00 - 19:00 Digital
Dienstag 30.11. 17:00 - 19:00 Digital
Dienstag 14.12. 17:00 - 19:00 Digital
Dienstag 11.01. 17:00 - 19:00 Hybride Lehre
Hörsaal (Fakultätszentrum für Biodiversität) Rennweg EG
Dienstag 18.01. 17:00 - 19:00 Hybride Lehre
Hörsaal (Fakultätszentrum für Biodiversität) Rennweg EG

Information

Ziele, Inhalte und Methode der Lehrveranstaltung

Diese Lehrveranstaltung vermittelt einen Überblick internationaler Naturschutzforschung im Kontext sozio-ökologischer Chancen und Herausforderungen, die ihre praktische Umsetzung im Biodiversitäts- und Ökosystemmanagement betreffen. Grundlegende Konzepte, Methoden und Richtlinien der internationalen Naturschutzforschung bilden den Kerninhalt der Lehrveranstaltung. Durch interaktive und multimediale Lehrinhalte (u.a. Live-Polls; Lernvideos; E-Skripte; E-Learning via Moodle), sowie durch umfassende Bezüge zu aktuellen Beispielen aus wissenschaftlichen und angewandten Bereichen (u.a. Nachhaltigkeitsentwicklung, Biodiversitätsmanagement, Debatten aus Agrarökologie und Naturschutzpolitik) werden diese Kerninhalte vertieft und auf neue Forschungsfragen anwendbar gemacht. Ziel der LV ist es, diverse empirische Perspektiven aus diesen Bereichen aufzuzeigen, sowie Möglichkeiten und Unterschiede fachübergreifender Ansätze internationaler Naturschutzwissenschaften zu vermitteln. Die Lehrveranstaltung richtet sich insbesondere an Studierende, die sich für die Planung und Umsetzung fachübergreifender Forschungsprojekte im internationalen, naturschutzfachlichen Kontext interessieren und in diesem Bereich orientieren möchten.

Art der Leistungskontrolle und erlaubte Hilfsmittel

Schriftliche Prüfung (Kombinationen von Multiple-Choice und offenen Fragen die sich auf die Lernmaterialien beziehen). Bei Bedarf und nach persönlicher Absprache ist die Gestaltung abweichender/barrierefreier Lern- und Prüfungsmethoden möglich. Die Prüfung findet in englischer Sprache statt (Fragen und Antworten). Hilfsmittel sind nicht erlaubt.

Mindestanforderungen und Beurteilungsmaßstab

Überblick über Konzepte, Methoden und Richtlinien der internationalen Naturschutzforschung (Kerninhalte der Lehrveranstaltung). Die Studierenden können die vorgestellten Konzepte und Methoden entsprechend der Lernmaterialen korrekt zuordnen, beschreiben und vergleichen (siehe auch Prüfungsstoff). Bei dieser Lehrveranstaltung besteht keine Anwesenheitspflicht – die Anwesenheit der Studierenden wird jedoch für die Teilnahme an interaktiven, vertiefenden Lehrinhalten und die Bildung von integrierten Lerngemeinschaften empfohlen (siehe dazu auch Hinweise zu Terminen und COVID-Sicherheitsmaßnahmen oben). Bei Bedarf und nach persönlicher Absprache ist die Gestaltung abweichender/barrierefreier Lern- und Prüfungsmethoden möglich. Beurteilt wird nach einem Punktesystem (insg. können 50 Punkte erreicht werden; eine positive Beurteilung beginnt ab 26 Punkten).

Prüfungsstoff

In einer abschließenden, schriftlichen Prüfung sind Fragen zu den Kerninhalten der Lehrveranstaltung zu beantworten (Kombinationen von Multiple-Choice und offenen Fragen die sich auf die Lernmaterialien beziehen, die via Moodle zur Verfügung gestellt werden). Die Studierenden erhalten mehrere Fragen, in denen sie die vorgestellten Konzepte und Methoden entsprechend der Lernmaterialen korrekt zuordnen, beschreiben und vergleichen sollen. Zusätzliche und interaktive Lerninhalte dienen zur Belebung der Lehrveranstaltung und Vertiefung der Kerninhalte, sind jedoch nicht Teil des Prüfungsstoffs. Im Rahmen der Lehrveranstaltung werden mehrfach Informationen zur Vorbereitung auf die Prüfung gegeben und Fragen beantwortet. Bei Bedarf und nach persönlicher Absprache ist die Gestaltung abweichender/barrierefreier Lern- und Prüfungsmethoden möglich. Die Prüfung findet in englischer Sprache statt (Fragen und Antworten). Hilfsmittel sind nicht erlaubt.

Literatur

Die Folien zur Lehrveranstaltung sowie vertiefende Literatur und Quellenangaben werden über E-Skripte und die E-Learning Plattform Moodle zur Verfügung gestellt.

Zuordnung im Vorlesungsverzeichnis

MNB 2, MEC-9, M-WZB, MBO 7, UF MA BU 01, UF MA BU 04, MNB1

Letzte Änderung: Mo 22.11.2021 07:09