Universität Wien FIND

300156 UE Advanced techniques of electronmicroscopy and ultrastructural research (2017S)

10.00 ECTS (6.00 SWS), SPL 30 - Biologie
Continuous assessment of course work

Details

max. 8 participants
Language: German

Lecturers

Classes

Preliminary meeting: Thursday, March 2, 2017, at 11:00 a.m. in the Conference room of Ecology, begin of the course: Mo., April 24, 2017 at 8:15 a.m. in the Conference room of Zoology, UZA1, with the introductory lecture. Laboratory work will begin at 9:15 a.m. in the Core Facility of Cell Imaging and Ultrastructure Research (Electron microscopy Lab). The course takes place for 3 weeks en bloc from April 24 on, lectures in the morning 8:15 - 9 o'clock during the 1. and 2. week, practical course from 9 a.m. to 4 p.m.


Information

Aims, contents and method of the course

The main topic of this electron microscopy course is the detection of heavy metals and other chemical elements in plant- and animal- cells and tissues by means of energy dispersive X-ray microanalysis (EDX). An introduction is also given in electron energy loss spectroscopy (EELS), the use of unstained ultrathin, and of semithin sections in the TEM and SEM. The investigations are made on the filtering TEM Zeiss EM 902 and TEM Zeiss Libra 120, as well as on the digital SEM Philips XL-30 and JEOL JSM IT300. Preparation methods freeze-drying, carbon-coating, ultrathin sectioning by ultramicrotome and contrasting of sections on grids for TEM.

Assessment and permitted materials

Workshop 25%, poster 25%, protocol 25%, oral examination 25%

Minimum requirements and assessment criteria

Presentation of a project on heavy metal contamination and stress of animals and plants. An additional aim is the knowledge of special SEM and TEM-methods and of techniques for sample preparation.

Examination topics

The results of the project- experiments will be discussed and the advanced techniques of electron microscopy will be dealt with , such as EELS, ESI, Contrast Tuning, ESEM, EDX, BSE, Dot-Mapping, semithin and ultrathin sectioning on the Ultramicrotome, advanced SEM and TEM.

Reading list

see moodle during the course

Association in the course directory

B-WZB, WZB, UF MA BU 04, MZO 2, MEC-9 , MBO 7

Last modified: Fr 31.08.2018 08:56

Universität Wien FIND
Achtung! Das Lehrangebot ist noch nicht vollständig und wird bis Semesterbeginn laufend ergänzt.

300156 UE Spezielle Techniken in der Elektronenmikroskopie und Ultrastrukturforschung (2017S)

10.00 ECTS (6.00 SWS), SPL 30 - Biologie
Prüfungsimmanente Lehrveranstaltung

Details

max. 8 Teilnehmer*innen
Sprache: Deutsch

Lehrende

Termine

Vorbesprechung: Do., 02.03.2017, 11:00 Uhr Konferenzraum Ökologie; Beginn am Mo., 24. 4. 2017, um 8:15 Uhr im Konferenzraum der Zoologie, UZA1, mit der 1. einführenden Vorlesung. Laborarbeit beginnt um 9 Uhr c.t. in der Core Facility of Cell Imaging und Ultrastrukturforschung (Elektronenmikroskopie-Lab). Der Kurs dauert 3 Wochen im Block ab 24. 04. 2017, Vorlesung zum Kurs von 8:15 -9 Uhr vor allem in der 1. und 2. Woche, Praktikum jeweils von 9 - 16 Uhr.


Information

Ziele, Inhalte und Methode der Lehrveranstaltung

Der Schwerpunkt dieses Elektronenmikroskpie-Praktikums liegt auf dem Nachweis von Schwermetallen und anderen chemischen Elementen in Tieren- und Pflanzen- Zellen mit Hilfe der energiedispersiven Röntgenstrahl- Mikroanalyse (EDX). Weiters wird in folgende Techniken eingeführt: Energieverlustspektroskopie (EELS), Bearbeitung ultradünner unkontrastierter Schnitte, Auswertung von Semi-Dünnschnitten am TEM und REM. Die Untersuchungen erfolgen u.a. an dem Filter-Transmissionselektronenmikroskop Zeiss EM 902 und Zeiss Libra 120, sowie an den digitalen Rasterelektronenmikroskopen Philips XL-30 und JEOL JSM IT300. Präparationsmethoden Gefriertrocknung und Kohlebedampfung, Schnitt-Herstellung am Ultramikrotom und Kontrastierung von Ultradünnschnitten auf Netzchen für TEM.

Art der Leistungskontrolle und erlaubte Hilfsmittel

Workshop 25%, Poster 25%, Protokoll 25%, mündliche Prüfung 25%

Mindestanforderungen und Beurteilungsmaßstab

Präsentation eines im Rahmen des Praktikums bearbeiteten Projekts über Schwermetallbelastung bei Tieren und Pflanzen, sowie Verständnis und Kenntnis spezieller Raster- und Transmissionselektronenmikroskopischer Methoden und von Kryotechniken zur Probenpräparation.

Prüfungsstoff

Die Ergebnisse der Projekt-Untersuchungen werden diskutiert und die fortgeschrittenen Techniken der Elektronenmikroskopie erörtert, wie EELS, ESI, Kontrast- Tuning, ESEM, EDX, BSE, Dot-Mapping, semidünn und ultradünn schneiden am Ultramikrotom, advanced SEM and TEM.

Literatur

Wird im Praktikum bekannt gegeben

Zuordnung im Vorlesungsverzeichnis

B-WZB, WZB, UF MA BU 04, MZO 2, MEC-9 , MBO 7

Letzte Änderung: Fr 31.08.2018 08:56