Universität Wien FIND

Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, changes to courses and exams may be necessary at short notice (e.g. cancellation of on-site teaching and conversion to online exams). Register for courses/exams via u:space, find out about the current status on u:find and on the moodle learning platform. NOTE: Courses where at least one unit is on-site are currently marked "on-site" in u:find.

Further information about on-site teaching and access tests can be found at https://studieren.univie.ac.at/en/info.

300159 VO Conservation Genetics (2021S)

Konzepte und Anwendungen am Beispiel ausgewählter Arten , z.B. Wölfe, Tiger, Seeadler, Kondore

3.00 ECTS (2.00 SWS), SPL 30 - Biologie
REMOTE

Registration/Deregistration

Details

Language: German, English

Lecturers

Classes

The lecture will be given daily (working days only) from 10.00 to 12.00 on the following days of May 2021: 3-7 May, 10-12 May, 14 May, 17-19 May. It is possible that the last one or two days will not be needed. If possible, I will record the lecture and put it online on Moodle.


Information

Aims, contents and method of the course

The lecture is an introduction to the population genetic and evolutionary foundations of what happens in small populations of endangered taxa. Central concepts comprise genetic diversity and its quantification, genetic drift, inbreeding, effective population size as well as anthropogenic impacts (habitat destruction, selective hunting, translocations etc.) and hybridisation. Measures to counteract the loss of genetic diversity will also be discussed. The contents of the lecture will be illustrated by means of examples taken from the scientific literature with a focus on mammals and birds (red deer, rhinos, elephants, tigers, eagles and condors, Eurasian rollers, kakapos, black grouse and others).

Assessment and permitted materials

Written or oral exam.
Due to covid-19 the exams will almost certainly be oral. They will then be carried out with bigbluebutton and moodle and are linked to the moodle course of the lecture.

Minimum requirements and assessment criteria

In written exam: a score of 50%.

Examination topics

Content of the lecture.

Reading list

Best introduction to the topic: Frankham et al., A Primer of Conservation Genetics.

Association in the course directory

MNB W-3, MEC-9, B-WZB, UF MA BU 01, UF MA BU 04

Last modified: We 05.05.2021 09:48

Universität Wien FIND

Bedingt durch die COVID-19-Pandemie können kurzfristige Änderungen bei Lehrveranstaltungen und Prüfungen (z.B. Absage von Vor-Ort-Lehre und Umstellung auf Online-Prüfungen) erforderlich sein. Melden Sie sich für Lehrveranstaltungen/Prüfungen über u:space an, informieren Sie sich über den aktuellen Stand auf u:find und auf der Lernplattform moodle. ACHTUNG: Lehrveranstaltungen, bei denen zumindest eine Einheit vor Ort stattfindet, werden in u:find momentan mit "vor Ort" gekennzeichnet.

Regelungen zum Lehrbetrieb vor Ort inkl. Eintrittstests finden Sie unter https://studieren.univie.ac.at/info.

300159 VO Conservation Genetics - Genetik in Natur- und Artenschutz (2021S)

Konzepte und Anwendungen am Beispiel ausgewählter Arten , z.B. Wölfe, Tiger, Seeadler, Kondore

3.00 ECTS (2.00 SWS), SPL 30 - Biologie
DIGITAL

An/Abmeldung

Details

Sprache: Deutsch, Englisch

Lehrende

Termine

Die Vorlesung findet geblockt im Mai 2021 statt, und zwar an folgenden Tagen jeweils von 10.00 bis 12.00: 3.-7. Mai, 10.-12. Mai, 14. Mai, 17.-19. Mai. Evtl. werden die letzten ein oder zwei Tage nicht benötigt. Falls möglich, zeichne ich die Vorlesung auf und stelle sie online auf Moodle.


Information

Ziele, Inhalte und Methode der Lehrveranstaltung

Die Vorlesung behandelt populationsgenetische und evolutionsbiologische Grundlagen für die Vorgänge in kleinen Populationen, die zur Bedrohung von Arten und innerartlichen Gruppen beitragen. Zentrale Konzepte sind genetische Vielfalt und wie man sie quantifiziert, Drift, Inzucht, effektive Populationsgröße sowie anthropogene Einflüsse (Habitatzerstörung, selektive Jagd, Translokationen etc.) und Hybridisierung. Darüber hinaus werden Möglichkeiten dargestellt, wie dem Verlust genetischer Vielfalt entgegengewirkt werden kann. Die Inhalte werden anhand von Beispielen aus der Literatur exemplarisch dargestellt, wobei ein Schwerpunkt auf Säugetieren und Vögeln liegt (Rothirsche, Nashörner, Elefanten, Tiger, Adler und Kondore, Blauracken, Kakapos, Birkhühner u.a.).

Art der Leistungskontrolle und erlaubte Hilfsmittel

Schriftliche oder mündliche Prüfung.
Aufgrund der Covid-19-Situation wird es beinahe sicher mündliche Prüfungen geben. Die Prüfungen erfolgen dann über bigbluebutton und Moodle und sind mit dem Vorlesungskurs in Moodle verlinkt.

Mindestanforderungen und Beurteilungsmaßstab

Bei schriftlicher Prüfung: 50 von 100 Punkten

Prüfungsstoff

Inhalte der Lehrveranstaltung.

Literatur

Beste Einführung: Frankham et al., A Primer of Conservation Genetics.

Zuordnung im Vorlesungsverzeichnis

MNB W-3, MEC-9, B-WZB, UF MA BU 01, UF MA BU 04

Letzte Änderung: Mi 05.05.2021 09:48