Universität Wien FIND

Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, changes to courses and exams may be necessary at short notice (e.g. cancellation of on-site teaching and conversion to online exams). Register for courses/exams via u:space, find out about the current status on u:find and on the moodle learning platform. NOTE: Courses where at least one unit is on-site are currently marked "on-site" in u:find.

Further information about on-site teaching and access tests can be found at https://studieren.univie.ac.at/en/info.

Warning! The directory is not yet complete and will be amended until the beginning of the term.

300176 UE Diversity and functional attributes of biological communities (2021S)

along enviromental gradients

10.00 ECTS (6.00 SWS), SPL 30 - Biologie
Continuous assessment of course work
ON-SITE

Registration/Deregistration

Note: The time of your registration within the registration period has no effect on the allocation of places (no first come, first serve).

Details

max. 16 participants
Language: German, English

Lecturers

Classes

First meeting: 01/03/2021, 10 - 11.30, online


Information

Aims, contents and method of the course

The course will demonstrate the basics of designing and conducting a biodiversity study – developing a testable hypothesis, study design, data collection, data analysis, oral and written presentation of the study. Work will be conducted in teams of two persons. Each team will work on a specific question.
This year topics will focus on issues of island biogeography, especially how size and isolation of islands affect species richness and population size.
Our regional plan was to conduct data collection / field work in the region of the Kornati Islands (Croatia). We would in this case reside on one island and collect data (via boat) at surrounding islands. We would focus on vascular plants, birds and grasshoppers in this case.
If it is not possible to go to Croatia in May the practical will be realized in the surroundings of Vienna. (either by daily excursions or via overnight stays nearer to the sampling sites, depending on the Covid-situation). The main topic will then be dry grassland patches which are habitat islands in the cultural landscape. In this case, work would focus on plants, birds and butterflies.
COSTS: If field work will be conducted in the Croatia, costs will be around 500 – 600 €. If we stay in the surroundings of Vienna, costs will depend on the concrete program, but most probably be lower. Ca. 25% of the costs will probably be refunded from by the University.

Assessment and permitted materials

Active participation, oral presentation, written report (c. 5 – 10 pages)

Minimum requirements and assessment criteria

Course work shall be done in groups of two participants. The course requires active participation in field work, as well as an oral presentation and writing of a final report by each group. Following guidelines of the Studienkonferenz Biologie the final paper will contribute 60% to the grade, and active participation and oral presentation 40%.

Examination topics

Reading list

to be announced during the course

Association in the course directory

BOE 12, BBO 9, BZO 12, MBO 7, MEC-9

Last modified: Fr 14.05.2021 11:28

Universität Wien FIND

Bedingt durch die COVID-19-Pandemie können kurzfristige Änderungen bei Lehrveranstaltungen und Prüfungen (z.B. Absage von Vor-Ort-Lehre und Umstellung auf Online-Prüfungen) erforderlich sein. Melden Sie sich für Lehrveranstaltungen/Prüfungen über u:space an, informieren Sie sich über den aktuellen Stand auf u:find und auf der Lernplattform moodle. ACHTUNG: Lehrveranstaltungen, bei denen zumindest eine Einheit vor Ort stattfindet, werden in u:find momentan mit "vor Ort" gekennzeichnet.

Regelungen zum Lehrbetrieb vor Ort inkl. Eintrittstests finden Sie unter https://studieren.univie.ac.at/info.

Achtung! Das Lehrangebot ist noch nicht vollständig und wird bis Semesterbeginn laufend ergänzt.

300176 UE Diversität und funktionelle Eigenschaften von Lebensgemeinschaften (2021S)

entlang von Umweltgradienten

10.00 ECTS (6.00 SWS), SPL 30 - Biologie
Prüfungsimmanente Lehrveranstaltung
VOR-ORT

An/Abmeldung

Hinweis: Ihr Anmeldezeitpunkt innerhalb der Frist hat keine Auswirkungen auf die Platzvergabe (kein "first come, first serve").

Details

max. 16 Teilnehmer*innen
Sprache: Deutsch, Englisch

Lehrende

Termine

Vorbesprechung: 01/03/2021, 10 - 11.30, online


Information

Ziele, Inhalte und Methode der Lehrveranstaltung

Die UE vermittelt Grundzüge von Biodiversitätstudien - Ausarbeitung einer testbaren Hypothese, Untersuchungsdesign, Datenerhebung, Auswertung der Daten, mündliche Präsentation und textliche Darstellung der Arbeit. Die Arbeit wird in Zweierteams stattfinden. Jedes Team wird eine eigene Fragestellung bearbeiten.
Schwerpunkt des heurigen Praktikums sind Themen der Inselbiogeographie, insbesondere die Auswirkung von Größe und Isolation der Inseln auf Artenreichtum und Populationsdichte von Arten.
Der ursprüngliche Plan war, die Datenerhebung auf Inseln im weiteren Bereich der Kornaten (Kroatien durchzuführen). Wir würden dort auf einer Insel Quartier nehmen und auf den umliegenden Inseln (via Boot) Daten erheben. Modelltaxa wären Pflanzen, Vögel und Heuschrecken.
Ob dieser Plan im Mai umsetzbar sein wird, lässt sich aktuell nicht beurteilen. Eine endgültige Entscheidung, basierend auf den Vorgaben der Universität Wien, soll im März fallen.
Sollte es nicht möglich sein, den Freilandteil in Kroatien durchzuführen, wird das Praktikum im näheren Umkreis von Wien (entweder Tagesexkursionen oder Übernachtungen vor Ort, je nach Covid-Situation) stattfinden. Thema werden dann Trockenrasen als Habitatinseln in der Kulturlandschaft sein. Modelltaxa wären in diesem Fall Pflanzen, Vögel und Tagfalter.
KOSTEN: Wenn der Freiland-Teil des Kurses in Kroatien stattfinden wird, ist mit Kosten von 500 – 600 € zu rechnen. Kosten für die Variante im Umkreis von Wien werden vom genauen Programm abhängen, aber jedenfalls günstiger sein. Ca. 25% der Kosten können vermutlich aus Subventionen der Universität rückerstattet werden.

Art der Leistungskontrolle und erlaubte Hilfsmittel

Mitarbeit, mündliche Präsentation, schriftlicher Bericht (ca. 5-10 Seiten)

Mindestanforderungen und Beurteilungsmaßstab

Die Arbeit soll in Gruppen von je zwei Teilnehmern erfolgen. Erfolgreiche Teilnahme setzt aktive Beteiligung am Kurs sowie eine mündliche Präsentation und das Verfassen eines Papers durch jede Zweiergruppe voraus. Entsprechend den allgemeinen Richtlinien der Studienkonferenz Biologie werden die schriftliche Leistung (Paper) mit 60% und die Mitarbeit und die mündlichen Leistungsteile mit 40% in die Beurteilung eingehen.

Prüfungsstoff

Literatur

wird in der Vorbesprechung bekannt gegeben

Zuordnung im Vorlesungsverzeichnis

BOE 12, BBO 9, BZO 12, MBO 7, MEC-9

Letzte Änderung: Fr 14.05.2021 11:28