Universität Wien FIND

300182 PP Case studies on the ecology and biodiversity of tropical vertebrates (2019W)

in a lowland rainforest in Costa Rica

10.00 ECTS (6.00 SWS), SPL 30 - Biologie
Continuous assessment of course work

Registration/Deregistration

Details

max. 6 participants
Language: German

Lecturers

Classes (iCal) - next class is marked with N

The preliminary meeting will be on 1st October 2019 at 14:30 in the seminar room at Rennweg 14. Fieldwork will be conducted between 16th and 30th November 2019. Appointments for the subsequent data analysis will be made individually with the supervisor.

Tuesday 01.10. 14:30 - 16:30 Seminarraum (Fakultätszentrum für Biodiversität) Rennweg EG

Information

Aims, contents and method of the course

The field course will be conducted at the Tropical Research Station La Gamba, which is located in the lowlands of southern Costa Rica. The course will address a wide variety of different research topics ranging from behavioral ecology to community ecology of tropical vertebrates, mainly using birds as model organisms. Birds will be caught with mist nests in different habitats ranging from primary rainforests to differently disturbed secondary forests. In addition to species identification, the participants will be trained in how to handle caught birds and how to take various morphological measurements. Based on the collected data a variety of research aspects will be studied. The data analysis will be supervised individually in consultation with the supervisor.

The costs of the course will be approximately 650 Euros excluding the costs for flight tickets.

Assessment and permitted materials

(1) The results of all research projects have to be presented in a seminar (contribution to final mark: 1/3). (2) A written report (= Bachelor thesis) has to be submitted after the end of the course (contribution to final mark: 2/3).

Minimum requirements and assessment criteria

In addition to a total average grade of 4, the participation in all fieldwork days (maximum 1 day of absence possible) will be necessary for a successful completion of the course.

Examination topics

The results of the individual small research projects will be presented in form of a seminar talk (approx. 15 min.). The content and structure of the presentation will be used for the evaluation. Furthermore, the written scientific manuscript will be used for the evaluation. Particular attention will be paid on: (1) a clear development of the research questions / hypotheses in the introduction section, (2) a comprehensible description of the methodological approach, (3) a clear presentation of the results, (4) as well as the adequate discussion of these results, considering relevant literature.

Reading list

Richard Garrigues (2014): The Birds of Costa Rica: A Field Guide. 2nd edition. Zona Tropical Publications. Zona Tropical Publications.

Additional literature will be provided at the preliminary meeting.

Association in the course directory

BOE 13, BZO 13

Last modified: Fr 18.10.2019 13:08

Universität Wien FIND

300182 PP Fallstudien zur Ökologie und Biodiversität tropischer Wirbeltiere (2019W)

in einem Tieflandregenwald in Costa Rica

10.00 ECTS (6.00 SWS), SPL 30 - Biologie
Prüfungsimmanente Lehrveranstaltung

An/Abmeldung

Details

max. 6 Teilnehmer*innen
Sprache: Deutsch

Lehrende

Termine (iCal) - nächster Termin ist mit N markiert

Die Vorbesprechung zum Projektpraktikum ist am 1.10.2019 um 14:30 Uhr im Seminarraum am Rennweg 14. Die Freilandarbeiten werden zwischen dem 16. und 30. November 2019 an der Tropenstation La Gamba in Costa Rica stattfinden. Termine zur anschließenden Datenauswertung werden individuell mit dem Betreuer vereinbart.

Dienstag 01.10. 14:30 - 16:30 Seminarraum (Fakultätszentrum für Biodiversität) Rennweg EG

Information

Ziele, Inhalte und Methode der Lehrveranstaltung

Der Feldkurs findet an der Tropenstation La Gamba im Süden Costa Ricas statt. Im Rahmen des Kurses werden verschiedene Forschungsaspekte aus den Bereichen Verhaltensökologie und Community Ecology tropischer Wirbeltiere behandelt. Als Modellorganismen dienen hauptsächlich Vögel. Diese werden mittels von Netzfängen in unterschiedlichen Lebensräumen von Primärwäldern bis hin zu unterschiedlich stark gestörten Sekundärwäldern erfasst. Neben der Artbestimmung werden die TeilnehmerInnen in das Handling gefangener Vögel sowie in das Erheben verschiedenster morphologischer Maße eingewiesen. Basierend auf den erhobenen Daten werden unterschiedlichste Forschungsaspekte bearbeitet. Die Analyse der Daten erfolgt individuell in Absprache mit dem Betreuer.

Die Kosten des Kurses betragen in etwa 650 Euro exklusive Kosten für Flugticket.

Art der Leistungskontrolle und erlaubte Hilfsmittel

(1.) Die Ergebnisse aller Forschungsprojekte werden im Rahmen eines Seminarvortrages vorgestellt (Anteil an der Gesamtnote: 1/3). (2.) Am Ende der Lehrveranstaltung ist ein schriftlicher Bericht in Form eines wissenschaftlichen Manuskriptes (= Bachelorarbeit) abzugeben (Anteil an der Gesamtnote: 2/3).

Mindestanforderungen und Beurteilungsmaßstab

Neben einer insgesamt mindestens als ausreichend bewerteten Gesamtleitung ist die Teilnahme an allen Freilandtagen (max. 1 Fehltag möglich) für einen erfolgreichen Abschluss der Lehrveranstaltung notwendig.

Prüfungsstoff

Die Ergebnisse der einzelnen kleinen Forschungsprojekte werden in Form eines Seminarvortrags (ca. 15 min.) vorgestellt. Dabei werden Inhalt und Struktur des Vortrags für die Bewertung herangezogen. Weiterhin wird das erstellte wissenschaftliche Mansukript für die Bewertung herangezogen. Dabei wird ein besonderer Wert gelegt auf: (1.) eine klare Entwicklung der Forschungsfragen/Hypothesen in der Einleitung, (2.) eine nachvollziehbare Beschreibung der methodischen Herangehensweise, (3.) eine klare Darstellung der Ergebnisse, (4.) sowie die Diskussion dieser unter Einbeziehung relevanter Literatur.

Literatur

Richard Garrigues (2014): The Birds of Costa Rica: A Field Guide. 2nd edition. Zona Tropical Publications.

Weitere Literatur wird bei der Vorbesprechung vorgestellt.

Zuordnung im Vorlesungsverzeichnis

BOE 13, BZO 13

Letzte Änderung: Fr 18.10.2019 13:08