Universität Wien FIND

Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, changes to courses and exams may be necessary at short notice (e.g. cancellation of on-site teaching and conversion to online exams). Register for courses/exams via u:space, find out about the current status on u:find and on the moodle learning platform.

Further information about on-site teaching can be found at https://studieren.univie.ac.at/en/info.

300306 UE Hands-on Immunolabelling for Light and Electron Microscopy (2019W)

techniques and preparations for biologists

5.00 ECTS (3.00 SWS), SPL 30 - Biologie
Continuous assessment of course work

Registration/Deregistration

Details

max. 6 participants
Language: English

Lecturers

Classes (iCal) - next class is marked with N

Compulsory attendance on Friday 25.10.2019 for Introduction talk.
Please note, this is a BLOCK practical course which extends continuously from Monday 08:45h on 04.11.2019 until Wednesday 16:00h on 13.11.2019. Each day begins in the Seminar Room 1 (1.025 EG UZA1) or in the Ultrastructure Research Laboratory (Electron Microscopy Laboratory). More details will be given at Introduction Lecture. In addition, approximately 2 weeks after the end of the course, there will be an evening arranged for Oral Exam on technical aspects of the course and Student presentations. Any questions, please contact Dr. Jacqueline Montanaro (jacqueline.montanaro@univie.ac.at).

Friday 25.10. 10:00 - 12:00 COSB Seminarraum, UZA 1, Biozentrum Althanstraße 14, 2.022 2.OG
Monday 04.11. 12:00 - 15:00 COSB Seminarraum, UZA 1, Biozentrum Althanstraße 14, 2.022 2.OG
Wednesday 06.11. 12:00 - 15:00 COSB Seminarraum, UZA 1, Biozentrum Althanstraße 14, 2.022 2.OG
Monday 25.11. 18:00 - 21:00 COSB Seminarraum, UZA 1, Biozentrum Althanstraße 14, 2.022 2.OG

Information

Aims, contents and method of the course

The goal of the course is to teach Masters and PhD students about different methods which can be used to prepare and perform immunolabelling at light (LM) and electron microscopy (EM) levels, and how to prepare semi-thin and ultrathin sections using an ultramicrotome. Advanced methods (Tokuyasu method) at the ultrastructural level will also be demonstrated. Immunolabelling and contrasting using negative staining, cryosections and acrylic sections will be evaluated and compared using the fluorescence and transmission electron microscopes. Finally, stereological methods that may be useful for quantification of immunogold labelling will be presented and discussed. Students participating in this course will gain a complete understanding of immunological methods for LM and EM and practical experience in how to prepare samples for electron microscopy.

Assessment and permitted materials

Participation: 40
Oral Exam: 30
Protocol or Poster: 30
Performance in each part must be positive

Minimum requirements and assessment criteria

as above

Examination topics

Knowledge of the theoretical background (lectures). Application of the technical aspects of immunolabeling for LM and TEM (from the practical part). Applications in examples. Analysis, interpretation and evaluation of results.

Reading list

Wird während des Praktikums bekannt gegeben

Association in the course directory

MZO W-1, MBO 7, MMB W-2, MGE III-2,

Last modified: Mo 21.09.2020 15:10

Universität Wien FIND

Bedingt durch die COVID-19-Pandemie können kurzfristige Änderungen bei Lehrveranstaltungen und Prüfungen (z.B. Absage von Vor-Ort-Lehre und Umstellung auf Online-Prüfungen) erforderlich sein. Melden Sie sich für Lehrveranstaltungen/Prüfungen über u:space an, informieren Sie sich über den aktuellen Stand auf u:find und auf der Lernplattform moodle.

Weitere Informationen zum Lehrbetrieb vor Ort finden Sie unter https://studieren.univie.ac.at/info.

300306 UE Hands-on Immunolabelling for Light and Electron Microscopy (2019W)

techniques and preparations for biologists

5.00 ECTS (3.00 SWS), SPL 30 - Biologie
Prüfungsimmanente Lehrveranstaltung

An/Abmeldung

Details

max. 6 Teilnehmer*innen
Sprache: Englisch

Lehrende

Termine (iCal) - nächster Termin ist mit N markiert

Anwesenheitspflicht am Freitag 25.10.2019 für den Einführungsvortrag um 10.00 Uhr im COSB SR. .
Bitte beachten Sie, dass es sich um ein Blockpraktikum handelt, das sich kontinuierlich von Montag 08:45 Uhr am 04.11.2019 bis Mittwoch 16:00 Uhr am 13.11.2019 erstreckt. Ultrastrukturforschungslabor (Elektronenmikroskopielabor). Weitere Details werden in der Einführungsvorlesung erläutert. Darüber hinaus wird ca. 2 Wochen nach Kursende ein Abend für die mündliche Prüfung über technische Aspekte des Kurses und Präsentationen der Schüler organisiert. Bei Fragen wenden Sie sich bitte an Kursleiterin, Dr. Jacqueline Montanaro (jacqueline.montanaro@univie.ac.at).

Freitag 25.10. 10:00 - 12:00 COSB Seminarraum, UZA 1, Biozentrum Althanstraße 14, 2.022 2.OG
Montag 04.11. 12:00 - 15:00 COSB Seminarraum, UZA 1, Biozentrum Althanstraße 14, 2.022 2.OG
Mittwoch 06.11. 12:00 - 15:00 COSB Seminarraum, UZA 1, Biozentrum Althanstraße 14, 2.022 2.OG
Montag 25.11. 18:00 - 21:00 COSB Seminarraum, UZA 1, Biozentrum Althanstraße 14, 2.022 2.OG

Information

Ziele, Inhalte und Methode der Lehrveranstaltung

Ziel des Kurses ist es, Master- und Doktoranden über verschiedene Methoden zu informieren, die zur Vorbereitung und Durchführung von Immunmarkierungen auf Licht- (LM) und Elektronenmikroskopie (EM) Ebene eingesetzt werden können, und wie man halbdünne und ultradünne Abschnitte mit einem Ultramikrotom herstellt. Fortgeschrittene Methoden (Tokuyasu-Method) auf der ultrastrukturellen Ebene werden ebenfalls demonstriert. Die Immunmarkierung und Kontrastierung mit Negativfärbung, Kryoschnitten und Acrylschnitten wird mit den Fluoreszenz- und Transmissionselektronenmikroskopen ausgewertet und verglichen. Schließlich werden stereologische Methoden vorgestellt und diskutiert, die für die Quantifizierung der Immunogoldmarkierung nützlich sein können. Die Teilnehmer dieses Kurses erhalten ein umfassendes Verständnis der immunologischen Methoden für LM und EM und praktische Erfahrungen bei der Vorbereitung von Proben für die Elektronenmikroskopie.

Art der Leistungskontrolle und erlaubte Hilfsmittel

Mitarbeit: 40
Mündliche Prüfung: 30
Protokoll oder Poster: 30
Jedes Teilleistung muss positiv sein

Mindestanforderungen und Beurteilungsmaßstab

as above

Prüfungsstoff

Kenntnis der theoretischen Grundlagen (Vorlesung). Anwendung der Präparations für Immunolabeling (aus dem praktischen Teil). Anwendungsmöglichkeiten in Beispielen. Auswertung, Interpretation und Evaluation der Ergebnisse.

Literatur

Wird während des Praktikums bekannt gegeben

Zuordnung im Vorlesungsverzeichnis

MZO W-1, MBO 7, MMB W-2, MGE III-2,

Letzte Änderung: Mo 21.09.2020 15:10