Universität Wien FIND

Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, changes to courses and exams may be necessary at short notice. Inform yourself about the current status on u:find and check your e-mails regularly.

Please read the information on https://studieren.univie.ac.at/en/info.

300365 PP Survey of bird communities in city parks (2021W)

10.00 ECTS (6.00 SWS), SPL 30 - Biologie
Continuous assessment of course work
ON-SITE

Registration/Deregistration

Note: The time of your registration within the registration period has no effect on the allocation of places (no first come, first served).

Details

max. 6 participants
Language: German

Lecturers

Classes (iCal) - next class is marked with N

The preliminary meeting will be on 1st October 2021 at 14:00-15:30 in the lecture hall at Rennweg 14. Fieldwork will be conducted on ca. 10 days between 7th and 21th January 2022. Appointments for the subsequent data analysis will be made individually with the supervisor.

Friday 01.10. 14:00 - 15:30 Hörsaal (Fakultätszentrum für Biodiversität) Rennweg EG

Information

Aims, contents and method of the course

In the framework of this field course birds will be surveyed in city parks to study how variables of urban greenspaces such as park area, park isolation, vegetation cover and human disturbance are affecting species richness, assemblage composition and the occurrence of individual species. Participants will learn how to conduct standardized bird surveys, will be trained in bird identification and will learn how to apply adequate statistical (especially multivariate) techniques for analyzing community data.

Assessment and permitted materials

(1) The results of all research projects have to be presented in a seminar (contribution to final mark: 1/3). (2) A written report (= Bachelor thesis) has to be submitted after the end of the course (contribution to final mark: 2/3).

Minimum requirements and assessment criteria

In addition to a total average grade of 4, the participation in all fieldwork days (maximum 1 day of absence possible) will be necessary for a successful completion of the course.

Examination topics

The results of the individual small research projects will be presented in form of a seminar talk (approx. 15 min.). The content and structure of the presentation will be used for the evaluation. Furthermore, the written scientific manuscript will be used for the evaluation. Particular attention will be paid on: (1) a clear development of the research questions / hypotheses in the introduction section, (2) a comprehensible description of the methodological approach, (3) a clear presentation of the results, (4) as well as the adequate discussion of these results, considering relevant literature.

Reading list

Will be provided at the preliminary meeting.

Association in the course directory

BOE 13, BZO 13

Last modified: Th 21.10.2021 20:09

Universität Wien FIND

Auf Grund der COVID-19 Pandemie kann es bei Lehrveranstaltungen und Prüfungen auch kurzfristig zu Änderungen kommen. Informieren Sie sich laufend in u:find und checken Sie regelmäßig Ihre E-Mails.

Lesen Sie bitte die Informationen auf https://studieren.univie.ac.at/info.

300365 PP Erfassung von Vogelgemeinschaften in Stadtparks (2021W)

10.00 ECTS (6.00 SWS), SPL 30 - Biologie
Prüfungsimmanente Lehrveranstaltung
VOR-ORT

An/Abmeldung

Hinweis: Ihr Anmeldezeitpunkt innerhalb der Frist hat keine Auswirkungen auf die Platzvergabe (kein "first come, first served").

Details

max. 6 Teilnehmer*innen
Sprache: Deutsch

Lehrende

Termine (iCal) - nächster Termin ist mit N markiert

Die Vorbesprechung zum Projektpraktikum findet am 1.10.2021 von 14:00-15:30 Uhr im Hörsaal am Rennweg 14 statt. Die Freilandarbeiten werden an ca. 10 Tagen zwischen dem 7. und 21. Januar 2022 stattfinden. Termine zur anschließenden Datenauswertung werden individuell mit dem Betreuer vereinbart.

Freitag 01.10. 14:00 - 15:30 Hörsaal (Fakultätszentrum für Biodiversität) Rennweg EG

Information

Ziele, Inhalte und Methode der Lehrveranstaltung

Im Rahmen dieses Projektpraktikums werden Vogelgemeinschaften in Stadtparks erfasst, um Effekte von Habitatsisolation, -fragmentierung, Vegetationsstruktur und menschlicher Störung auf Artenreichtum, Artenzusammensetzung und das Vorkommen einzelner Arten zu untersuchen. Neben der Erfassungsmethode und einer korrekten Bestimmung von Vogelarten im Freiland ist das Erlernen und Anwenden geeigneter statistischer (insbesondere multivariater) Verfahren zur Analyse der Daten ein wichtiges Ziel dieser Lehrveranstaltung.

Art der Leistungskontrolle und erlaubte Hilfsmittel

(1.) Die Ergebnisse aller Forschungsprojekte werden im Rahmen eines Seminarvortrages vorgestellt (Anteil an der Gesamtnote: 1/3). (2.) Am Ende der Lehrveranstaltung ist ein schriftlicher Bericht in Form eines wissenschaftlichen Manuskriptes (= Bachelorarbeit) abzugeben (Anteil an der Gesamtnote: 2/3).

Mindestanforderungen und Beurteilungsmaßstab

Neben einer insgesamt mindestens als ausreichend bewerteten Gesamtleitung ist die Teilnahme an allen Freilandtagen (max. 1 Fehltag möglich) für einen erfolgreichen Abschluss der Lehrveranstaltung notwendig.

Prüfungsstoff

Die Ergebnisse der einzelnen kleinen Forschungsprojekte werden in Form eines Seminarvortrags (ca. 15 min.) vorgestellt. Dabei werden Inhalt und Struktur des Vortrags für die Bewertung herangezogen. Weiterhin wird das erstellte wissenschaftliche Mansukript für die Bewertung herangezogen. Dabei wird ein besonderer Wert gelegt auf: (1.) eine klare Entwicklung der Forschungsfragen/Hypothesen in der Einleitung, (2.) eine nachvollziehbare Beschreibung der methodischen Herangehensweise, (3.) eine klare Darstellung der Ergebnisse, (4.) sowie die Diskussion dieser unter Einbeziehung relevanter Literatur.

Literatur

Wird bei der Vorbesprechung vorgestellt.

Zuordnung im Vorlesungsverzeichnis

BOE 13, BZO 13

Letzte Änderung: Do 21.10.2021 20:09