Universität Wien FIND

300561 PP Molecular Phylogenetics - from the root to the tips of the animal tree (2016W)

Methods and concepts of molecular phylogenetics: from DNA to interpreted phylogenies

10.00 ECTS (6.00 SWS), SPL 30 - Biologie
Continuous assessment of course work

Eigener Laptop (Windows) ist unbedingt anzuraten.

Details

max. 10 participants
Language: English

Lecturers

Classes

Die Vorbesprechung findet am 06.10.2016 um 11:00 im COSB Seminarraum, UZA 1, Biozentrum Althanstraße 14, 1090 Wien statt.

Eigener Laptop (Windows) ist unbedingt anzuraten.


Information

Aims, contents and method of the course

Students get hands-on experience in the workflow of DNA-based phylogenetic inference, starting with DNA extraction from animal tissue, on to PCR, sequencing, computer-based alignment and tree reconstruction, and the critical interpretation of the results. The lecture part covers the most important theoretical principles of molecular phylogenetics. Students apply their knowledge to mini-projects. The results are delivered in short oral presentations and written reports in the style of scientific publications.

Assessment and permitted materials

Performance is evaluated by the student´s committment during the course and the quality of the oral and written presentations.

Minimum requirements and assessment criteria

Students are familiar with molecular lab procedures, DNA extraction, PCR, cloning of PCR-products, and DNA sequencing. They have basic practical experience in using DNA databases, sequence alignment, and various methods of tree inference. Participants are able to appropriately present their results and to critically evaluate publications in this field.

Examination topics

Introductory lectures, coaching the workflow in the molecular lab, introduction to and usage of various software for sequence analysis (alignment, tree inference, graphical presentation of results), scientific writing and publication.

Reading list


Association in the course directory

BZO 12, BZO 13, B-BZO 12, B-BZO 13, MEV 2, MZO 2, MES5

Last modified: Fr 31.08.2018 08:56

Universität Wien FIND

300561 PP Molekulare Phylogenetik - von der DNA zum Stammbaum der Tiere (2016W)

Methoden, Konzepte und Interpretation molekularer Verwandtschaftsforschung

10.00 ECTS (6.00 SWS), SPL 30 - Biologie
Prüfungsimmanente Lehrveranstaltung

Eigener Laptop (Windows) ist unbedingt anzuraten.

Details

max. 10 Teilnehmer*innen
Sprache: Englisch

Lehrende

Termine

Die Vorbesprechung findet am 06.10.2016 um 11:00 im COSB Seminarraum, UZA 1, Biozentrum Althanstraße 14, 1090 Wien statt.

Eigener Laptop (Windows) ist unbedingt anzuraten.


Information

Ziele, Inhalte und Methode der Lehrveranstaltung

Dieser Kurs vermittelt die praktischen Arbeitsschritte der DNA-basierten Verwandschaftsforschung von DNA-Extraktion aus tierischen Geweben über PCR, DNA-Sequenzierung, Alignment und computergestützte Stammbaumrekonstruktion bis zur kritischen Interpretation der Ergebnisse sowie deren wichtigsten theoretischen Grundlagen. Diese Kenntnisse werden in Miniprojekten angewandt und umgesetzt. Die Ergebnisse werden in Kurzvorträgen und publikations-ähnlichen Abschlussarbeiten präsentiert.

Art der Leistungskontrolle und erlaubte Hilfsmittel

Als Leistungskontrolle dient die Mitarbeit während des Kurses sowie die Qualität des Kurzvortrags und der schriftlichen Abschlussarbeit.

Mindestanforderungen und Beurteilungsmaßstab

Die Studierenden sind vertraut mit der Arbeit im Molekularlabor, DNA-Extraktion, PCR, Cloning von PCR-Produkten und DNA-Sequenzierung. Sie haben grundlegende praktische Erfahrung im Umgang mit DNA-Datenbanken, Sequenzalinierung und verschiedenen Methoden der Stammbaumrekonstruktion. Studierende sind in der Lage, ihre Resultate korrekt zu präsentieren und auch publizierte Studien kritisch zu beurteilen.

Prüfungsstoff

Vorträge, Vermittlung der Arbeitsschritte im Molekularlabor, Einführung in die Verwendung verschiedener Software zur Sequenzanalyse (Alignment, Baumkonstruktion, grafische Darstellung von Ergebnissen), Anleitung zur wissenschaftlichen Publikation.

Literatur


Zuordnung im Vorlesungsverzeichnis

BZO 12, BZO 13, B-BZO 12, B-BZO 13, MEV 2, MZO 2, MES5

Letzte Änderung: Fr 31.08.2018 08:56