Universität Wien FIND

Get vaccinated to work and study safely together in autumn.

To enable a smooth and safe start into the semester for all members of the University of Vienna, you can get vaccinated without prior appointment on the Campus of the University of Vienna from Saturday, 18 September, until Monday, 20 September. More information: https://www.univie.ac.at/en/about-us/further-information/coronavirus/.

Warning! The directory is not yet complete and will be amended until the beginning of the term.

301580 SE Cell Biology Today: Current Topics, Methodology, and Project Design (2020W)

2.00 ECTS (1.00 SWS), SPL 30 - Biologie
Continuous assessment of course work

Registration/Deregistration

Note: The time of your registration within the registration period has no effect on the allocation of places (no first come, first served).

Details

max. 16 participants
Language: German, English

Lecturers

Classes

see german version


Information

Aims, contents and method of the course

Elaboration of interesting current topics in cell biology through discussion, a collection of state of the art methods in molecular cell biology and the choice and application of these methods to answer open questions; estimates of time and material requirements.

Assessment and permitted materials

Compulsory attendance; the evaluation is based on different performances: quality and completeness of the seminar presentation, active participation in the scientific discussion of the presentations, contributions in the project development, presentation of the elaborated project; each of the subgrades must have a positive evaluation.

Minimum requirements and assessment criteria

Recognition of important current and future topics and problems of cell biology and the ability to suggest state of the art experimental strategies to elucidate current open questions; experimental design and controls, recognition and avoidance of potential problems, combination of
experiments for comprehensive and doable projects with relevant and publishable outcome.

Examination topics

During the first 1-2 days the individual method topics are presented by the students. Days 3-4: The students are divided into groups of 2-4 persons. Each group receives a scientific question from the field of cell biology/molecular medicine. The students work out a concept and develop a research project to clarify the question.
Day 5: Presentation of the developed project.

Reading list

The literature required to prepare the presentations will be sent to the students via e-mail or made available via Moodle.

Association in the course directory

MMB III-2, MMB W-2, MMEI III

Last modified: Th 08.10.2020 14:50

Universität Wien FIND

Bedingt durch die COVID-19-Pandemie können kurzfristige Änderungen bei Lehrveranstaltungen und Prüfungen (z.B. Absage von Vor-Ort-Lehre und Umstellung auf Online-Prüfungen) erforderlich sein. Melden Sie sich für Lehrveranstaltungen/Prüfungen über u:space an, informieren Sie sich über den aktuellen Stand auf u:find und auf der Lernplattform moodle.

Weitere Informationen zum Lehrbetrieb vor Ort finden Sie unter https://studieren.univie.ac.at/info.

Achtung! Das Lehrangebot ist noch nicht vollständig und wird bis Semesterbeginn laufend ergänzt.

301580 SE Zellbiologie heute: aktuelle Fragen, Methoden, Projektplanung (2020W)

2.00 ECTS (1.00 SWS), SPL 30 - Biologie
Prüfungsimmanente Lehrveranstaltung

An/Abmeldung

Details

max. 16 Teilnehmer*innen
Sprache: Deutsch, Englisch

Lehrende

Termine

- hybride Lehre-
VERPFLICHTENDE Vorbesprechung am 1. Oktober um 10 Uhr im Seminarraum 4/BZB,6. Stock , Dr.Bohrgasse 9, 1030 Wien.
Termin und Ort für das Seminar wird in der Vorbesprechung mit den Studierenden zusammen festgelegt.


Information

Ziele, Inhalte und Methode der Lehrveranstaltung

Diskursive Erarbeitung interessanter aktueller zellbiologischer Fragen, eine Sammlung modernster Methoden der molekularen Zellbiologie und deren Auswahl und Anwendung zur Klärung offener Fragen; Abschätzung von Zeit- und Materialaufwand.

Art der Leistungskontrolle und erlaubte Hilfsmittel

Anwesenheitspflicht; die Bewertung beruht auf verschiedenen Leistungen: Qualität und Vollständigkeit der Seminarpräsentation, aktive Teilnahme an der wissenschaftlichen Diskussion der Präsentationen, Mitarbeit bei der Projektentwicklung, Präsentation des ausgearbeiteten Projekts; jede der Teilnoten muss eine positive Bewertung haben.

Mindestanforderungen und Beurteilungsmaßstab

Erkennen wichtiger aktueller und zukünftiger Themen und Probleme der Zellbiologie und die Fähigkeit, dem Stand der Technik entsprechende experimentelle Strategien zur Klärung aktueller offener Fragen vorzuschlagen; Versuchsplanung und -steuerung, Erkennen und Vermeiden potentieller Probleme, Kombination von Experimenten für umfassende und durchführbare Projekte mit relevanten und publizierbaren Ergebnissen.

Prüfungsstoff

An den ersten 1-2 Tagen werden die einzelnen Methodengruppen von den Studierenden präsentiert. Tage 3-4: Die Studierenden werden in Gruppen von 2-4 Personen eingeteilt. Jede Gruppe erhält eine wissenschaftliche Fragenstellung aus dem Bereich Zellbiologie/molekulare Medizin. Die Studierenden erarbeiten ein Konzept bzw. entwickeln ein Forschungsprojekt zur Klärung der Fragestellung.
Tag 5: Präsentation des entwickelten Projekts.

Literatur

Die zur Erarbeitung der Präsentationen erforderliche Literatur wird an die Studierenden per E-mail versendet bzw. via Moodle zur Verfügung gestellt.

Zuordnung im Vorlesungsverzeichnis

MMB III-2, MMB W-2, MMEI III

Letzte Änderung: Do 08.10.2020 14:50