Universität Wien FIND

Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, changes to courses and exams may be necessary at short notice. Inform yourself about the current status on u:find and check your e-mails regularly.

Please read the information on https://studieren.univie.ac.at/en/info.

Warning! The directory is not yet complete and will be amended until the beginning of the term.

420009 SE Research Methods in Linguistics: Data collection-dataprocessing-data analysis (2017W)

Continuous assessment of course work

Registration/Deregistration

Note: The time of your registration within the registration period has no effect on the allocation of places (no first come, first served).

Details

max. 20 participants
Language: German

Lecturers

Classes (iCal) - next class is marked with N

Thursday 05.10. 17:00 - 20:00 Seminarraum ROM 4 (3B-EG-37) UniCampus Hof 8

Information

Aims, contents and method of the course

In this doctoral seminar the possibilities and limitations of various linguistic methods will be examined – so this course is about linguistic methodology, or rather different linguistic methodologies. We will discuss not only how such methodologies can be derived from linguistic theory and the conceptual background of a particular research project, but why they must be.
This seminar is strongly based on readings. We will read and (critically) discuss texts on linguistic methods and methodology, but will always try to relate them and the methods discussed there to our respective research projects. The participants’ doctoral projects will thereby be subject to methodological reflection.
Important aims of the seminar are the development or rather refinement of a general methodological awareness, the strengthening of participants’ competence in using methodological literature, the familiarization with and development of an openness towards numerous linguistic methods (that go beyond those used in one’s own research project) and generally the creation of a setting for doctoral students to intensively exchange their experiences in particular with regard to concrete methodological problems.

Assessment and permitted materials

This seminar basically consists of discussion sessions based on readings during which participants will assume various roles. Besides regular and active class participation in all discussion sessions, students must complete the following assignments:
(1.) Oral presentation of a methodological text (and written summary)
OR
(2.) Preparation and presentation of critical questions with regard to this methodological text

(3.) In addition, every doctoral student must at least once assume the role of an ‘expert’ in a methodological discussion session (ideally when the methods discussed relate to the student’s own project).

Minimum requirements and assessment criteria

This seminar is aimed at students who are advanced in their doctoral research and have already looked into different methodological approaches as well as students who are in the early stages of their doctoral research and therefore still searching for an appropriate methodology for their project.

Examination topics

Reading list

Main course text:
Robert J. Podesva & Devyani Sharma (eds.) 2013. Research Methods in Linguistics. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press.

For further consolidation, students may also wish to consult: Krug, Manfred und Julia Schlüter (eds.) 2013. Research Methods in Language Variation and Change. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press.

Additional texts will be made available during the semester.

Association in the course directory

Last modified: Mo 07.09.2020 15:47

Universität Wien FIND
Achtung! Das Lehrangebot ist noch nicht vollständig und wird bis Semesterbeginn laufend ergänzt.

420009 SE Linguistische Methodologie: Datenerhebung-Datenverarbeitung-Datenanalyse (2017W)

Prüfungsimmanente Lehrveranstaltung

Details

max. 20 Teilnehmer*innen
Sprache: Deutsch

Lehrende

Termine (iCal) - nächster Termin ist mit N markiert

Donnerstag 05.10. 17:00 - 20:00 Seminarraum ROM 4 (3B-EG-37) UniCampus Hof 8

Information

Ziele, Inhalte und Methode der Lehrveranstaltung

In diesem DoktorandInnenseminar sollen die Möglichkeiten und Grenzen verschiedener sprachwissenschaftlicher Methoden ausgeleuchtet werden – es geht also um eine linguistische Methodologie bzw. verschiedene linguistische Methodologien. Wir diskutieren dabei nicht nur, wie eine solche Methodologie aus sprachtheoretischen Überlegungen hergeleitet werden und auf den konzeptionellen Kontext des jeweiligen Forschungsprojekts bezogen werden kann, sondern auch, warum sie das muss.

Das Seminar ist stark lektüregestützt. Wir lesen und diskutieren gemeinsam (kritisch) linguistisch-method(olog)ische Texte, versuchen dabei aber auch immer, diese und die darin verhandelten Methoden auf unsere jeweils eigenen Forschungsprojekte zu beziehen. Auch die jeweiligen Doktoratsvorhaben der TeilnehmerInnen sollen somit einer methodologischen Reflexion unterzogen werden.

Wichtige Ziele des Seminars sind die Schaffung bzw. Schärfung eines generellen methodologischen Bewusstseins, die Stärkung der Sicherheit im Umgang mit methodologischer Literatur, die Erlangung einer Vertrautheit mit und Offenheit gegenüber einer Vielzahl sprachwissenschaftlicher Methoden (über die in den eigenen Forschungsprojekten verwendeten hinaus) sowie nicht zuletzt die Schaffung eines Rahmens, in dem ein intensiver Erfahrungsaustauschs mit anderen Doktorierenden, vor allem mit Blick auf konkrete methodologische Fragestellungen, stattfinden kann.

Art der Leistungskontrolle und erlaubte Hilfsmittel

Das Seminar besteht im wesentlichen aus lektüregestützten Diskussionssitzungen, in denen die Teilnehmenden jeweils verschiedene Rollen einnehmen sollen. Neben der regelmäßigen und aktiven Teilnahme an allen anderen Diskussionseinheiten müssen alle Studierenden für eine erfolgreiche Teilnahme in den Diskussionseinheiten folgenden Leistungen erbringen:
(1.) Mündliche Präsentation eines methodologischen Textes (mit schriftlicher Kurzfassung) ODER
(2.) Ausarbeitung und Vorstellung von kritischen Fragen zu diesem methodologischen Text

(3.) Zusätzlich muss jede/r DoktorandIn mindestens einmal die Rolle eines/r Experten/in einer methodologischen Diskussionseinheit übernehmen (optimaler Weise mit Bezug der verhandelten Methoden auf das eigene Projekt).

Mindestanforderungen und Beurteilungsmaßstab

Das Seminar richtet sich sowohl an Studierende, die in ihrer Arbeit weiter fortgeschritten sind und sich daher bereits ausführlich mit methodologischen Ansätzen befasst haben, als auch an solche, die sich noch in einem frühen Stadium ihres Doktorats und daher noch auf der methodologischen Suche befinden.

Prüfungsstoff

Literatur

Basislektüre:
Robert J. Podesva & Devyani Sharma (eds.) 2013. Research Methods in Linguistics. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press.

Zur möglichen weiteren Vertiefung: Krug, Manfred und Julia Schlüter (eds.) 2013. Research Methods in Language Variation and Change. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press.

Zusätzliche Literatur wird im Verlauf des Seminars bekanntgegeben.

Zuordnung im Vorlesungsverzeichnis

Letzte Änderung: Fr 31.08.2018 08:43